We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome Cavalieri....very expensive compared to other 5 star hotels but nice as a treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Save Saved
You added Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #93 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rome Cavalieri....very expensive compared to other 5 star hotels but nice as a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday weekend for 3 days in Rome. I have to say its not much From the outside but as you enter the grounds and see the decor and gallery of amazing pictures with very friendly and helpful staff it does make is stand out.

It's a fair bit of travelling from the airport. We didn't organise hotel transfer as it seemed to be more cheaper just to jump in a cab from the airport to the hotel and all the cabbies know where Rome Cavalieri is! We paid just under 50 euros. Hotel would have cost 90-100.

The hotel is situated about 15-20 mins from the city centre so it is not a local hotel. As you drive up towards the hotel you go up a steep hill away from everything. So be prepared to pay for taxis to get around or use the hotel shuttle service which they provide. The shuttle device only takes you to the barberini piazza and picks up from there too. So you can't hop on and hop off a you like en route.

We bought the Omnia Rome and Vatican passes which enables you to see most of the attractions for free and free public transport ie bus and metro. They were such good value so worth looking into if its your first time to Rome. As there is sooooo much to see and do!

We had to pay to use the gym and pool. A first compared to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in.

The main restaurant is very expensive but who Would want to eat in the hotel when you have the whole of Rome restaurants to choose from and their delicate menus.

Just a 5 min walk outside the hotel and down the hill there's a a lovely local restaurant Called Luciano's and the food was amazing as was the staff. It seemed to be very popular with the locals too. Would love to return here again!

The room was nice and spacious and clean. Our view unfortunately was the big antenna but that didn't bother us. We were hardly in the room and when we were it was just to get ready to go out again in the evenings.

For my birthday they arranged a beautiful bouquet of flowers with chocolates and wine delivered by the concierge staff on the morning of my birthday. Which was very sweet and made my morning :-)

The bar staff were always very attentive and very funny and did all they can to make our stay that bit more memorable. They recognised us from the first night so we always had a night cap before we went to bed. The live piano was amazing and very soothing too.

Overall our stay was pleasant and comfortable but comparable to other 5 star hotels I say it is on the expensive side a we do travel a lot. If you're a member of the Hilton Honours club then you tend to benefit from the hotel services more but if not then you pay way over the odds.

But overall a lovely short stay and very nice indeed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations. We are also glad that you have enjoyed your birthday surprise amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,131
    616
    243
    129
    71
See reviews for
637
1574
91
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic staff and superb recognition for Hilton Diamond members.
Amazing breakfast, huge selection of high quality food.
Private check in, room upgrade to a city view, complimentary drink and free breakfast.
Staff could not have been friendlier throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that you have enjoyed your HHonors Diamond benefits.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very far away for downtown, interiors are ok but nothing special, bad view from the windows, very expensive restaurant, not convenient to get to the airport neither the city center. Stay away from this hotel

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

As mentioned in previous reviews by our guests, rooms with a breathtaking view over the Eternal city could be easily reserved in advance and such feature distinguishes us from other properties in the city centre.

Our complimentary shuttle service provides our guests with easy access to the city centre and getting to the airport is also very easy either via taxi or limousine.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullach im Isartal, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I just stayed for business for a week. I must say: this hotel has ´class´. From the doormen to the concierge, the waiters, bellboys. Everyone was friendly, knowledgeable of the area, restaurants, do´s and dont´s. The rooms were very nice. Unfortunately mine was overlooking an antenna but nothing i couldn´t survive.
The Bar at the lobby ´wonderful. The personnel sooooo friendly and professional. After 2nd day they knew who I was, what I drank the day before. They always went the extra mile.
Congratulations WaldAsto

Room Tip: rooms with odd numbers: WONDERFUL VIEW OF ROME be careful with the A/C...sometimes is tricky
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Being Hilton Gold members we get great service and facilities at all hilton properties and have stayed at most Waldorf Astorias. We stayed for 5 nights in Rome at the Cavalieri and would not recommend it to anyone. Our money and wallet got stolen form our room and the property itself does not live up to the Waldorf name to be honest. Our initial impression was great, great reception, upgraded due to being gold members and were given free internet and access to the swimming pool (not sure why they make people pay for swimming pool access)

However upon seeing the rooms, it is very dated, the pictures we see on websites make it out to be something much better than it is. I can imagine this being a great hotel in the 70s and 80s however now it looks dated and with wallpaper peeling off in the rooms it needs updating.

On our first morning at the hotel, my wife had left her wallet on the bed by mistake and we found that it had been stolen when we returned to the room a couple of hours later. The hotel was not helpful at all, the duty manager simply said we have asked the housekeeping staff and they said they did not take your wallet, we can take you to the police station should you wish to file a case. Being our first time in Rome and the first day, we were shocked and speechless at what had happened, the duty manager said security would look into it and would get back to us. We stayed a further 4 days there and did not hear anything from the hotel. It was like they simply did not care, you do not expect items to get stolen from your room, yes it was a mistake to leave it on the bed but everyone makes mistakes. The fact that the hotel didnt really appear to take any action was even more distressing.

On the whole we found the staff veryt unhelpful and the so called shuttle service they run is also atrocious. You would think such a large hotel would have a good shuttle bus, it only hold 28 people and they do not let a single person more than that get on, citing insurance regulations. Now a hotel with say 2-330 rooms should cater for more than just 28 people at a time....

Room Tip: always get a room with a city view the other end just over looks an apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mr. N,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your room upgrade and all the HHonors Gold benefits provided.

We are sorry for the loss of Madame's wallet, but please rest assured that our staff's integrity cannot be faulted, as numerous valubles were returned to their owners when they were forgotten after checking out. It is normal procedure to escort our guests to the local authorities to file a report and block the credit cards to avoid any further damage.

We remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Old paintings, statues, antiques and art everywhere. Like staying in a modern museum.
The highest food and beverage costs I've ever seen. I had one beer from the bar, a Heniken, and it was a good cold beer, but only one bottle of beer, not a sixpack.... one beer..........$18.00 ! Actually that included the automatic 15% tip so I will get over it.....eventually.
Lets not even talk about breakfast.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a bad room but veiw from the back side is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had an enjoyable 3 nights stay in the Rome Cavalieri , thanks for everyone in the hotel giving their best to help and serve us.
Thanks for being diamond member, i i did receive comp room upgrade, comp welcome drinks and comp free access to the gym and pool. I really enjoyed the live music during the evening in the lounge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#33 Business Hotel in Rome
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#56 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.