We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park, nice views, bike rentals...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Borghese

Villa Borghese
Piazzale Flaminio, 00155 Rome, Italy
+39 06 22582330
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$60*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens...
Ranked #26 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous villa constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V, which is surrounded by one of the largest and most beautiful public parks in Rome.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Katonah, NY
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Lovely park, nice views, bike rentals...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came here on our first day in Rome. It was lovely to take in the views and find a shady place to cool off. You can rent a number of different wheeled contraptions here. My son and I hired mountain bikes and rode all over for an hour, the prices for all vehicles seemed quite reasonable. Be aware that roads go through the park and you ideally want to cross over to other parts of the park to have a nice ride. I think the section of park closest to the Villa is the nicest. I was amused to see a replica Globe theater in another part of the park, but I guess some of Shakespeare's plays were set in Italy so why not.
Plenty of places to get a cold drink, and there is a very cool water clock in a lovely fountain. Excellent place to take a break.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,684
    699
    153
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful green space for the kids to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You can rent an electric bike for 4 persons to tour the vast, hilly park-- 12 E/hr. (cash only, you need to give them your ID.) My kids had the best time viewing all the gardens, statues, fountains and the bike was very fun to ride because the "electric assistance" would kick in when you stopped pedaling so it was pretty jerky which added to the surprise of maneuvering. (It was like an amusement park ride for them.) A couple of playgrounds too with a little shade. We saw the segways too but you need to be tall to maneuver them. Bring a ball, a book, or bubbles to blow! Picnics are also ideal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Visit if you have time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This villa is huge and stretches back for miles. I recommend entering from the Piazza del Popolo and climbing the stairs towards the back of the piazza. This brings you up to a spectacular view if it is all you have time for. Otherwise roam around the villa on your own. A tour is not necessary. There are many museums which I didn't go in but if you have the time I heard they were nice. A beautiful place to bring your lunch to and sit and relax.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiato, Greece
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A place were you can enjoy a walk or a ride away from the city's heat. There are some cafes and restaurants inside and also some playgrounds for children. On the west side, you can have a nice view of the city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Considering the price you pay for the tickets, I don't think the tour it worth the price.
Also, the English was not that well spoken so that added to my frustration of the tour. They don't seem to care about the tourists' interests either. Theirs is a set agenda so no questions asked and no added explanations are given. So, I would not recommend spending your money of this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.