We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places in Rome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Borghese

Villa Borghese
Piazzale Flaminio, 00155 Rome, Italy (Parioli)
+39 06 22582330
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Villa Borghese like an insider
Skip the Line
$53*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens...
Ranked #28 of 1,440 things to do in Rome
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Famous villa constructed at the beginning of the 17th century for Cardinal Scipione Caffarelli Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V, which is surrounded by one of the largest and most beautiful public parks in Rome.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A walk at Villa Borghese is certainly a must for everyone! The park is huge and if you feel like running or riding a bicycle in Rome, this is the place to be! We rent 2 bicycles and we had the chance to ride them throughout the park and take great pictures. It was a refreshing experience! I would also suggest this place to travellers that dont like crowded places, because most of the tourists just skip it and anyway it is so huge that it can never be crowded. You will see people working out or playing music. I would suggest you to combine this visit with your visit in Galleria Borghese.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,843
    771
    167
    39
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have searched on here to find this wonderful little lake and now I have! In the Villa Borghese, there is a beautiful lake/pond and what was so great about this was that there were little row boats you could get on and row right up to this temple.

And it didn't just have little amusements like rowing, there was also various art galleries, places to eat, just a generally great place to be!

It was really a pleasant break from all the other hectic tourists sites in an around Rome. Do go here if you have time, it really is a must and won't be regretted.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I LOVED IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was very very nice. Very unique, very relaxing and also romantic..U will find alot of couples making out there , There is also many lakes with fountains and every inch of it is unique.. and also its clean, not as i expected which was good. I Really want to go there one more time

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lot to do in this big, beautiful park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We entered from the south east corner of the park and enjoyed the area around Piazza d Sienna (including a nice playground I did not think was so great but the kids LOVED). we rowed a boat in the pond (3 euro per person for 20 minutes) and that was short and sweet. Made our way out via Piazza de Popolo just in time for the sun to set! It was gorgeous, St Peters etc. If you can even visit for an hour, it's worth popping in. Of course, you could spend all day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful park in Roma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This park was amazingly beautiful and vast. It was located very close to the Spanish Steps overlooking the city of Roma. We rented bikes in the park and explored the different areas of the park. Highly recommend to get away from the daily touring and relax in the beautiful surroundings!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Borghese also viewed

 

Been to Villa Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Borghese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.