We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that sucker is huge!!! And the plaza is packed with people!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi)

Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi)
Piazza Di Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #39 of 727 attractions in Rome
Type: Fountains, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: People-watching, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Certainly the most famous and photographed fountain in Rome, legend has it that whoever throws a coin into the pond will return to Rome.
Charleston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“that sucker is huge!!! And the plaza is packed with people!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we visited Rome in October. Walking to the Trevi, one can hear the noise of the rushing water. Sad for us, the auditory experience was the best part of the Trevi. There were SO many people packed into the plaza that we could not get close enough to see it. Finally we retreated to the church across the way and climbed the steps - looking over the heads of the crowd we could see the fountain. WHOA!!! That sucker is huge!!! Very impressive, too bad we weren't close enough to make a wish... we walked there several times but it was always so crowded we never got any closer...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,579
    3,898
    1,254
    262
    191
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful but crowded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I can't imagine what this is like at the height of summer! It was rammed full of people, but we managed to chuck in our coins securing our return visit! Busy day and night but I don't think any trip to Rome would be complete without a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go see it but be careful of the annoying sellers ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is a must see especially at night. A few tips dont let the poloroid sellers con you into buying a picture and dont let them take a picture of you because then you will be stuck buying their picture. I thinn the police should ban those people as it makes the experince of seeing the fountain stressful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
powys
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

You cant miss this! It is sooo beautiful. It was much bigger than we expected too,a fabulous fountain,I think it's my favourite site in Rome.We went twice,once mid-morning,& again at dusk,the visit at dusk was really lovely.And its free!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Toss a coin over your shoulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recommend visiting the Trevi Fountain at night time, it ups the romance this way. Legend has it if you toss a coin over your shoulder you will one day return to Rome. This fountain was constructed by artists Salvi, Bracci, and Pannini back in 1762.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi) also viewed

 

Been to Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi) to your Saves list