We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but crowded!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain
Piazza Di Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$288*
and up
Rome Super Saver: 2-Day Experience Including...
Ranked #104 of 688 Attractions in Rome
Type: Fountains, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: People-watching, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Certainly the most famous and photographed fountain in Rome, legend has it that whoever throws a coin into the pond will return to Rome.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful but crowded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I can't imagine what this is like at the height of summer! It was rammed full of people, but we managed to chuck in our coins securing our return visit! Busy day and night but I don't think any trip to Rome would be complete without a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,442
    4,335
    1,730
    660
    523
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go see it but be careful of the annoying sellers ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is a must see especially at night. A few tips dont let the poloroid sellers con you into buying a picture and dont let them take a picture of you because then you will be stuck buying their picture. I thinn the police should ban those people as it makes the experince of seeing the fountain stressful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
powys
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

You cant miss this! It is sooo beautiful. It was much bigger than we expected too,a fabulous fountain,I think it's my favourite site in Rome.We went twice,once mid-morning,& again at dusk,the visit at dusk was really lovely.And its free!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Toss a coin over your shoulder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recommend visiting the Trevi Fountain at night time, it ups the romance this way. Legend has it if you toss a coin over your shoulder you will one day return to Rome. This fountain was constructed by artists Salvi, Bracci, and Pannini back in 1762.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Fountain is beautiful and everyone seemed to be in the best of spirits just sitting and looking at the beauty before them and you felt so at peace there! Very memorable...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevi Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Trevi Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevi Fountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.