We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Rome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Duello

Al Duello
Vicolo della Vaccarella, 11, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
066873348
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Al Duello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Best in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A great venue with a fabulous ambience is just the start your experienence at Al Duello. The service from an all-female waitstaff (on our visit) was delightful. After a review of the menu, our hostess, gave us the specials for the evening. My wife and I quickly adjusted our selections to accommodate. Zucchini flowers wrapped in bacon, and a mussel soup with fresh tomatoes (both specials) started our meal... to say that both of these starters were excellent does the chef an injustice. That high standard carried through to the pasta with fresh tomatoes and basil, and the sea bass wrapped around grilled zucchini and mushroom. A house white, a flaky pastry with strawberries and cream, and cafe finished our best meal in Italy... and one of the best we've ever had. When in Rome, make a reservation, and go, PLEASE go, to Al Duella!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    186
    46
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate there last pm for our final Italy meal..service, food etc was the best we've had on our trip in Italy...we were also in Florence)..a little expensive but worth it..great meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“A pleasant evening, good food and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

the restaurant is located in the heart of Rome, in a very charming, and the staff friendly and welcoming, and the food tastes great. We tasted a good peppered mussels, gnocchi with orange and sea bass, filet, and two bottles of shiraz wonderful. In the end, we left satisfied and smiling, must see!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“No rating would be high enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the problems with TripAdvisor is that "sideshows" can spoil the main event and distort the "position" of a business. If you take out all the Gelateria, Sandwich bars, Yoghourt bars (seriously, folks!) &c. that are placed HIGHER than this restaurant then the true position, for this restaurant, would be 15 (not 30) out of....who knows? 2,000 geniune restaurants. This small, charming restaurant is tucked away and you'll even find taxi drivers reaching for their maps before taking you. Martina and Simione own and run this venture, she rushes from table to table ensuring all her guests understand the menu of local recipes and knows the wine list well enough, too, to guide you to the right accompaniment. Simione has the easy job (!), preparing food with a rich variety of flavours and presenting it in a stylish and inviting way...and he does this EXTREMELY well. For my wife and I, the winners were the clams with ginger and basil, the vegetables wrapped in seabass and the "Migli fiogle"(sp?) dessert made by Martina, doubling up as pastry chef! A local Lazio wine accompanied the meal perfectly but as a previous reviewer commented, it's Martina who completes the experience; charming, effervescent, enthusiastic about what they do here. Soon Mattheus will arrive and we wish dear Martina well with managing him as well as this fabulous little restaurant. Check out the last time this place received a bad review; OK! now BOOK! It's not cheap (nor expensive, for what you get) but you will leave saying "for once I've had a proper meal in Rome; a proper, enjoyable, unrushed dining experience" - and give thanks that TA was created so that YOU could be made aware of little gems such as this. M & S, we wish you well with little M and much more success with Al Duello, the jewel in Rome's jaded crown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Wish we weren't leaving Rome so we could return to Al Duello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We happened on Al Duello by chance....looking for a small, intimate restaurant to end our 2 day Rome adventure. From the moment we entered, we knew we had found the right place. The food was fabulous, from the stuffed zucchini blossoms to the pastas to the desserts and the bill was less then expected. The staff were very friendly, multilingual, and worked hard to please their patrons. Overall, a superb dining experience. Wish we weren't leaving tomorrow because we would return again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Duello also viewed

 

Been to Al Duello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Duello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.