We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Santa Maria Inn
Via Rattazzi 2c, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,253 of 2,885 Rome B&B and Inns
Vladivostok
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It is a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

It is a good place to stay, I enjoyed my beeing there even if pictures provided by hotel can be a bit misleading - at least this is how I found it after check in, the staff is very friendly and helping, the location is not that bad, someone mentioned it is not a very safety one, I can say that is not true, it might look like that but in reality it is a safe place. The antico cafe where you have breakfast from hotel is easy to find, just around the corner to the right from the hotel entrance, you can enjoy a wonderful view and bells of Santa Maria maggiore having breakfast there. The only negative thing about hotel is that it is noisy like some people have mentioned already, that is true, you can hear people talking in other rooms and cars or yelling people in the night. I happened to be there when Italy lost football championship so I heard yelling and disappointed people within entire night. However I can recommend this hotel to the people. Free wifi is not super fast but more than enough to check email and browse Internet, room service is ok too.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

the santamaria inn was wonderfull, in an excellnt area, city attractions very easy to get to from here, collaseum just down the road and the termini station is a short walk, great if ur getting a bus to/from the airport Campiano. the hotel is on the third floor of a lovely appartment building (dont wory there is a lift) and is very secure, lovely modern rooms, with balcony door, only a few rooms in hotel so it was generaly quite. very clean rooms and private bathroom. sky channles available in a range of languages. staff were amazing very good english and very accomodating. breakfast was in a beautifull caffe just down the road outside the santa maria maggiore, just coffe and a pastry, but if ur fussy about breakfast there is a small fridge in the room so its possible to buy some milk and cereal in the nearby grocery store. some beautifull resturants around the area with food at very reasonable prices. overall i would be happy to recomend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Room and bathroom were very clean and convienient to everything. Loved the floor to ceiling french doors that openned up so we could get fresh air, see the neighborhood, and hear the sounds of Rome. We live in the country now but I grew up in Boston so I loved all the neighborhood "noise". The staff were so nice and polite. Was a great place for a couple of nights but if you are looking for luxury, this is not it. It is very nice but you have to go up the block for breakfast. Not bad for us at all but if you prefer in-house dining or room service, this is not for you. It is also in a multi-dwelling building so if you like a "hotel" feeling, this is not for you either. But if you like the feeling that you are staying with family in an apartment/condo, this is it. The neighborhhod seems to be mostly an Asian area with shops/markets and is closed up for the evening so it's quiet. TV has a lot of stations but nothing in English. Didn't really matter since we were tired from walking all day around Rome and to the Vatican and back. Close to the Metro but we choose to walk. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

While basic, this hotel is pretty much all you need in Rome. The location is good, particularly if you are arriving or leaving by train, and the main sights (Colosseum, Forum etc) are only a 15-20 minute walk away. Although the station isn't far away, it didn't feel at all unsafe or unpleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but clean and had everything we needed. There was no air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open, and there was a fair bit of noise from the street. But this isn't the kind of hotel where you spend a lot of time in your room - it's the place to stay if you want a good, reasonably priced base to explore Rome, and a clean room and comfortable bed at the end of the day. We also loved the included breakfast at the cafe nearby - it added another 'Italian' experience to our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A short walk from Termini Station; the guest house is a fantastic base in the heart of Rome.
The room was clean and had everthing we needed to make our short stay very pleasant.
The Service we recieved from Teresa was second to none. It was extremely comforting to know we were being "looked after" by Teresa.
If you're booking book room 302, it has 3 windows and is the largest room (apparantly).

I wil most definately be going back to stay here when i visit Rome again.

Room Tip: room 302 is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

very nice service. simple room with small table, comfortable bed, big wardrobe and clean bathroom. good equipment (tv, hair dryer, electric kettle, fridge, glasses, towels etc.) very delicious breakfast in illy bar in the corner of the next street. not so expensive. only negative thing was the noise from the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

B&B is few minutes away from metro and within walking distance from Termini station. Room is basic, but comfortable enough. Staff is great, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is is served in cafe across the street, croissant and cappuccino.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: Via Rattazzi 2c, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,253 of 2,885 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nice guesthouse in the center of Rome near Termini station but not so close to be noisy or dangerous.comfortable almost like a hotel, but cheaper.fully equipoeed and recently restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.