We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access Italy - Made our vacation PERFECT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Access Italy Tours

Access Italy Tours
Viale Vaticano, 00187 Rome, Italy
+12122172080
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$205*
and up
Ranked #156 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Access Italy provides Private and Small Group (maximum of 12) tours throughout Italy. "O Magazine" and "Extra", among others, have featured Access Italy as the best way to tour Italy. Professionalism and tradition kept Access Italy in business for the past 30 years.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Access Italy - Made our vacation PERFECT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were in Italy for 18 days. Access Italy planned ALL of our tours in Rome, the Amalfi Coast, Florence and Venice. They made the trip for my husband and I PERFECT!! They have the absolute best tour guides and drivers. It is well worth the expense to have them do your tours!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Best There Is....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The only way to see the Vatican! I've done the general tour and can say this tour is worth every penny. Though somewhat pricey, there early morning Vatican tour was definitely worth it.

Our guide was very knowledgable and always focused on making sure we got the most from our tour. I highly recommend Access Italy and will definitely hire them again for Italy!

Booking was very easy. They were very communicative. Really a great company.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Access Italy - what a great way way to plan a private tailor made holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Milica from Access Italy did such an amazing job of arranging our travel itinerary to Italy. We simply told her where we would like to go and what we would like to do and she put it all together for us. From Rome, Positano, Florence, Tuscany and Venice, with private tours arranged and prepaid for the two of us with excellent English speaking guides, private transfers when we needed and 1st class train tickets all booked and paid for before we even got there. It was stress free traveling experience. I also want to thank Valentina for her brilliant work. When we were going to miss our train due to traffic in Naples, she simply changed the ticket to the next train in an hour time, so we didn't lose our money. For accommodation, we simply gave an indication of budget and Milica provided a couple of options per location, which we checked out on trip adviser of course, and made our choice. Milica made the bookings directly with all the hotels, but we paid at check out each time. What a fabulous way to travel privately (not in a big tour group) and thoroughly recommend Access Italy to everybody looking for the perfect tailor made holiday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Tour Company in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We first used Access Italy in 2007 when my husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were there for 3 weeks and started our trip in Positano and ended our stay in Venice. Access Italy was there all the way...from airport pickup, city transport, tours, etc. Each destination we toured was explained with such tremendous enthusiasm and knowledge, that we felt we were living in the time period in which each city was built. In September 2012, we revisited Rome with friends and decided to visit the Vatican again. Once again, Access Italy was our choice of tour companies. We had Angelo as our guide and were totally mesmerized by our experience. His knowledge and wit made our tour with him the highlight of our trip. I feel so incredibly blessed to have happened upon his company back in 2007. I continue to tell family and friends that if they truly want to see Italy, they have to see it through the eyes of the very talented and knowledgeable guides at Access Italy. When we return, we will once again be calling upon Angelo and his incredible team to take us around. Thank you for everything! Even though it has been almost a year since we last used Access Italy, I think of our tours constantly. Until we meet again....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is the way to tour Italy off Royal Caribbean Liberty of the Seas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were celebrating our Mom's 85th Birthday aboard Royal Caribbean's Liberty of the Seas voyage departing from Barcelona and travelling to France and Italy. Mom is completely with it...but has trouble walking....so we rented a wheelchair in NJ before departure and told Laura of Access Italy ...this is what she has to deal with, 9 of us in total, plus a wheelchair. Well kudos to her and her team....our three tours (La Spezia to Florence), (Civitavecchia to Rome), and (Naples to Capri) were picture perfect...and we have a lot of pictures to prove it. The vehicles were organized to accommodate all of us (and the wheelchair) very comfortably. The La Spezia and Civitavecchia ports are not close to Florence and Rome, so timing is everything....to get as much in in a 9-10 hour day as possible, considering about 3-4 of them you will spend travelling to and from the port. That being said...we had a great walking tour of Florence with Sophia (including a 1.5 private tour in the Uffizi gallery with Michael, who was clearly an art history expert, and taught us so much in so little time). Then some free time to walk around, a stop at my all-time favorite Gelateria Vivoli (Via dell’Isola delle Stinche 7r) and finally a visit to Piazza Michelangelo...for the breathtaking view of the beautiful Firenze, and back to the port. I am going to leave Rome for last. In Naples we met our driver who took us to the Marina to catch our private 32 ft. boat which took us on a pleasant ride along the Amalfi Coast, and finally ending up in Capri, for a couple hours of R & R, shopping, etc. Now about Rome....definitely our favorite of the three. Honestly, having traveled many places in the world during the past 35+ years and having seen many of them with private tour guides, I have come to the conclusion that it is your tour guide, and not necessarily what you are visiting that will make for a memorable experience. Well this is the case with Access Italy. They sure know how to pick them. And our Rome tour was far and away the best one I have ever been on, absolutely because of our team....Luciano (the driver) and Martina (our tour escort), and Maria Gratzia (Grace) our private tour guide in the Vatican. From the time we boarded our bus at the port and was greeted by the lovely and sweet Martina until we boarded it again for the trip back to Civitavecchia, when Luciano presented my Mom with a beautiful rose...we new nothing could be better...and I guarantee it! First we took a quick driving tour around ancient Rome (Coliseum, Roman Forum etc), then stopping within walking distance of the Trevi Fountain (threw the coins in - right hand over left shoulder), we will definitely be coming back to Rome to see Luciano and Martina! Then to the Spanish Steps, shopping of course....at Gucci and Fendi...and finally lunch and back on the bus to see the Vatican. I have been there several times...but none of my previous visits to the Vatican Museum, the Sistene Chapel, and St. Peters Basillica...could possibly be as inspiring and informative as the tour given by Grace. Finally, we met up with Martina again....and she guided us to a Gelateria (Old Bridge), nearby the Vatican and where our bus was going to pick us up for the trek back to Civatavecchia. Martina claims the gelato there is better than in Florence....but what does she know....she's was born in Rome! Honestly, don't tell here this, but it might have been just about as good! We did not want that day to end.....we offered to smuggle Martina onto the ship with us...but she refused. Anyway, good think we will be going back to Rome...thanks to the Trevi Fountain. And we will definitely book tours with Access Italy again! You can contact Laura Ariemma at (USA TOLL FREE: 888-499-5513, or write to her at laura@accessitaly.it). Tell here Howard and Keith sent you to her!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Access Italy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Access Italy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Access Italy Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.