We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempted to fly back to Roma to eat here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria St. Ana

Osteria St. Ana
Via della Penna, 68/69 | Zona Piazza Del Popolo, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
0039 063610291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #799 of 8,267 restaurants in Rome
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Description: Ancient Roman restaurant, Roman cuisine, fresh fish, suitable for romantic dinners. outdoor tables, wifi. pianobar. Antico ristorante romano, cucina romana, pesce fresco, adatto per cene romantiche.Tavoli all'aperto, wifi, pianobar.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tempted to fly back to Roma to eat here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our experience at this restaurant was wonderful. Our hotel, the Dei Mellini, recommended it & we (4 of us) all had great meals. My Lasagna di carne con funghi e crema di tartufo (Meat lasagna with mushrooms & truffle sauce) was fabulous - I keep thinking about it even days later! One in our group had the gnocchi & one had the bucatini, and they were also delicious. We enjoyed the house prosecco with our dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    128
    82
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local flavor and neighborhood feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A new Italian friend took me to this restaurant close to Piazza de Popolo and I was very pleased with the experience. We arrived a bit earlier than then the local crowd and the place soon filled to capacity giving it the excitement and true ambience of a local restaurant enjoyed by Roman residents (though certainly there were more than a few out-of-towners). The owner and staff were quite kind, service outstanding, and I certainly enjoyed the local cuisine - including the fried artichoke starter. We ate Italian style with a first and second plate, followed by a recommended desert and digestivo. I was very pleased.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A fine dining Ristorante well worthy of any special occasion or celebration consideration for a Roma experience. Seek it out – not an average tourist type of Ristorante. Friendly helpful staff and wonderful conversation experience with the owner. Focus on children was a quality not seen at many dining locations. Quality / excellent food and wine selection. You get what you pay for – well worth return visits. The atmospheric is romantic and not rushed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After all the excellent reviews, our expectations were perhaps too high. The food was alright but not special. The atmosphere was not very special for useither. Friendly staff th

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small entrance and only one or two small tables outside.....once you enter the " back room" wow, full of ambience and character !

Food was excellent, wine goof value - we had had a couple of let downs eating out in Rome - this restored our faith in Italian food and culture .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria St. Ana also viewed

 

Been to Osteria St. Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria St. Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.