We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Greco Ippokrates

Ristorante Greco Ippokrates
Via Piave, 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
066 4824179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 8,267 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have to declare an interest here as we are friends with the owners.
This is a family run restaurant and one of the more friendly places to eat in Rome. As with most places in the City, be prepared for large portions! The food is very good, well presented and well cooked. It is best to book as, when we left, there was a queue of 8/10 people waiting for tables. Service is better than many other of Romes central area eateries

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    169
    254
    42
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. Very nice atmosphere. Staff was friendly and good at explaining us particulars about wine and traditional dishes. Quick service. Food was good and in moderate portions. I suggest to try their white wine Retsina and coffee. And being small restaurant filled at dinner time it wasn't that loud. I recommend make reservations for larger groups of ppl.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If we could give it 6 we would! The food was amazing and the service great. Sadly we only found this on our last night otherwise we would have gone more often. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Greek deliciousness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my father on a suggestion. We are from Salento, and we often visit Greece. We have high standards. And let me say, we were not disappointed at all. The owner and the cooks are Greek, and you can taste it. The environment is nice and cozy, maybe a little bit too Greek, but very clean. The gyros is better than most I have eaten in Greece. If you want to try Greek food, do not miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited with family including 3 children, real Greek food run by Greeks. Highly recommend on its own merits as well as a welcome break from Italian. Busy on a Thursday night so recommend you book. Bill cost euro 120 and we all could not eat another thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Greco Ippokrates also viewed

 
Rome, Lazio
Rome, Lazio
 

Been to Ristorante Greco Ippokrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Greco Ippokrates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.