We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mediocre compared to what Rome has to offer...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Il Dolce Sorriso

Gelateria Il Dolce Sorriso
Via Arenula 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 328 0309229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 8,713 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very mediocre compared to what Rome has to offer...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

After reading so many positive reviews on TA I was dissapointed - yes the service is extremely nice, they let you try the tastes and even speak other languages, but the icecream itself is rather average - and in place like Rome, with gelaterias like Giolitti or del Teatro, the bar is set high.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    135
    54
    24
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
“The best ice cream in rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Amazing place, a place friendly and gives everyone a warm, recommend everyone to go there and do not give up chocolate ice cream in a cup.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
“The best in rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We entered the store and got a great treatment and a big smile. Since we couldn't choose he gave us little examples of his favorite tastes. We choose Nutella and yogurt and it was simply fantastic! Keep up the good work, we are definitely coming back next time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Happy mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

One of the best gelato experiences I've ever had. Made better by the generosity and friendliness of the gentleman serving us, who insisted we try flavor after flavor. My cone was chocolate dipped and then melted white chocolate was drizzled inside of it, then 3 scoops of gelato!! Very happy mouth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They put chocolate IN the cone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great gelateria. Very, very friendly staff, they offer you tastes of several different flavors even if you don't ask (not always a given in Italy). My favorite part that I have not seen elsewhere is they have a melted chocolate machine with both white and dark chocolate, and you can have them put one in the bottom of your cone before they add the gelato--don't forget to ask for it! Best flavor by far is Pane e Nutella. They also sell pastries and fancy cakes, if you need one. Great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gelateria Il Dolce Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Il Dolce Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.