We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a 5 star experience that will make your experience excellent in all regards.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walks of Italy

Walks of Italy
Via Santa Maria dell'Anima 48/A, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 2026486916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 889 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walks of Italy offers one-of-a-kind experiences! As featured in Rick Steves' guidebooks. Day trips, activities & guided tours in Italy's greatest destinations. Our tours are truly small group (maximum 12) or private, giving you the maximum choice and flexibility for all budgets. Discounts offered for seniors, students & children, so bring the whole family! Unlike other companies, Walks of Italy secures exclusive access to sites aross Italy, unlocking hidden gems like the private suburban baths in Pompeii, Doge's Secret Passages in Venice, a private Renaissance palace in Florence, the Colosseum's underground & top tier in Rome, and even VIP access to the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City—just to name a few! All our guides are hand-picked, English-fluent passionate experts in their local regions. Our company is committed to the principles of sustainability in travel, providing carbon offsets for transfers, patronizing local artisans and farmers, and bringing you off the beaten path away from tourist crowds whenever possible. Walk with us, and fill your vacation with unforgettable experiences that will last a lifetime!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a 5 star experience that will make your experience excellent in all regards.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

In Rome, we did the Coliseum/Forum and Pristine Sistine Chapel tours and they were fantastic! Our guides depth/breadth of knowledge was amazing. In the early morning, we truly had both venues to ourselves with about only 50 other people in the area which was an absolute privilege. We came home telling all our friends and colleagues that if they know of anyone traveling to Italy, booking with Walks of Italy is a must, we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    71
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The Best Walking Tours of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I took the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's tour. Our guide was excellent in every respect. The lines for the museum were about 3 blocks long. Our guide took us to the front of the security line, we passed through, entered the museum, out guide picked up our "whisper ears" and we were on our way. James, our guide, was professional, courteous and most knowledgeable.

We took the evening walking tour of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc. Once again, our guide, Joseph, was excellent and most accommodating to our small group.

Lastly, we took the extended Colosseum tour including the Forum, Palatine Hill, etc. Being able to view the Colosseum basement area and top deck was quite worthwhile. Again, our guide, Tyson, did an excellent job.

We look forward to using Walking Tours of Italy on future visits to other parts of Italy. You will not be disappointed in the least when you use Walking Tours of Italy. They are a first rate tour group.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We did three tours with Walks of Italy and they were all outstanding. Very knowledgable guides who made Rome come to life. Highly Recommend!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“underground colisseum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Fabulous and Exciting!! The Guide was very interesting and knowledgable about the Colisseum and Palentine HIll. It was like a very cool history class.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Experts you need to enhance your experience of Roman ruins and the Vatican.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We took the Pristine Sistine and the Premium Colosseum tours. Both tours were exceptional and provided knowledge and expertise that we would have never known without these tours. It really opened our eyes to the art and history we saw and provided a glimpse into the past by hearing what it was like "back then". We really appreciated having the earpieces for the Vatican tour otherwise it would have been very difficult to hear with the large crowds we experienced, even in October.

Both tours had 12 total people which was small compared to many of the other groups we saw walking around. They are what they saw they are though...WALKS of Italy. Be prepared to spend about 3 hours straight walking without many breaks.

We highly recommend Walks of Italy for any tour you are considering while you are in Italy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walksofitaly, Guest Relations Manager at Walks of Italy, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear days32110,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visits with us to the Vatican and the Colosseum. You mentioned that these visits "really opened our eyes to the art and history .. and provided a glimpse into the past.." How wonderful to hear! Your guides will be so pleased that they played a part in making your visit memorable. We hope that you will be visiting Italy again very soon and we would be very happy to be a part of your future travels!

Very Best Regards,

Walks of Italy Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walks of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Walks of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walks of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.