We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Termini Gold B&B

Save Saved
You added Termini Gold B&B to your Saves list
Termini Gold B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Termini Gold B&B
Via Principe Umberto 77, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great introduction to this amazing city. We booked a room for a couple nights in Rome and right out of the box I was impressed with Alberto. He emailed me to find out specifics of our trip so he could meet up with us upon arrival in the city. We took the train from the airport (FCO) followed the directions from the website to the B&B and met up with Alberto. We actually ended up staying at a different location which a bit further of a walk but that was ok with me. He took my suitcase for me and as we walked talked about the area a bit. Upon arriving at the building we would stay at he showed us in and to our rooms.Someone was there cleaning so he showed us our room with a bathroom inside and the kitchen area which is shared with the other bedroom off guests. Cute little 2 bedroom place, we each had our own bathrooms but shared the kitchen area. There is a stove for boiling water to make tea, an espresso machine, a fridge, washer and microwave oven. Breakfast was put in little boxes on our labeled shelf and each morning the table was set for bfast and tea/coffee. Room is adorable with bed, night sand, closet, desk area, shower then toiled and sink next to it. Small by Americans standards, but that's Europe for you. I found it normal sized for Europe and plenty of room for 2 people to move around in. Bed sits high enough for you to slide your suitcases under which helps. There is also a tv and wifi in the room. Alberto sat us down, made us an espresso, handled the payment then gave us a map and told us his recommendations for sights and food. Showed us where the metro station was and answered all of our questions. He was so kind and so helpful and this place was just so great! 10 minute walk to the Colosseum and maybe 3-5 minutes from the metro station, restaurants and a marker near by too. Quite little street made for good sleeping. A+ in my books and I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertoprop, Proprietario at Termini Gold B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Ashley,

thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your words really describe the place and will probably help the readers to choose/not to choose this B&B. I would like to help the readers more, saying that the room where you stayed is small, it is true, that’s why, in order to avoid complains, we sell it as “small double room with French bed” and that is what you bought. The price is compared to the type of accommodation: usually we sell the “small” double room with French bed and en-suite bathroom at the same price of the “standard” double room with shared bathroom, we think it’s fair. We have bigger rooms with en-suite bathroom, obviously with bigger prices.

Thanks again for all the nice things you wrote and for giving me the chance to explain one more time.

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

B&B Termini Gold was a very pleasant surprise. Alberto was wonderful in communication prior to our arrival and spent a lot of time explaining the rooms features, the facilities close by and sightseeing suggestions & tips. The room was very clean with a separate bathroom, where the water pressure was great. The room is on the 4th floor but there is a lift to take you up and down.
Breakfast is basic each day with bread, croissants, cereal, yogurt,orange juice and an espresso machine. We were free to use to fridge so we were able to buy fresh fruit etc.
The location is handy to everything & the area has a number of restaurants close by as well as a large supermarket and the Fassi Gelato Factory is a must ! This B&B is excellent value for central Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, US
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a wonderful b & b. Clean,spotless, actually! Alberto is a great host and went over all the instructions on how to use the keys, breakfast, and gave wonderful help with how to get to sites of Rome. We chose the room with a shared bathroom and this was not a problem at all. We hardly saw the other guests. Breakfast is basic, but more than enough and very tasty. The location is good. 10 minute walk from termini and 15 minute walk to coliseum. We walked to pantheon, Trevi fountain, piazza navona, in about 30minutes. Several restaurants nearby...I ate twice at a small pizza shop at end of road which never amounted to more than 10$ for 2 people and pizza was very good. There is good gelato nearby. Our room was plenty big and bed was very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again in Rome! Best value, good location, and clean!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from four nights staying in Alberto's wonderful little B&B.
Alberto met us on our arrival - the lift was a great bonus as it meant not having to haul our cases up the four floors - and showed us the room, kitchen, explained the keys (each room is given a full set for the apartment to allow you to come and go as you like) and gave us a map and useful information about the city of Rome.
We had a double room which was spacious and absolutely spotless! The room was furnished with a desk, wardrobe and safe also in the room was a hairdryer, free wi-fi, en suite shower room, air conditioning and a ceiling fan!
Breakfast was left out daily in the kitchen in little containers which you could help yourself to in the morning (or beforehand if you were peckish...). Each room gets its own shelf of goodies including croissants, biscuits, bread to toast and some Italian crispbreads. There is a fridge stocked with yogurts, butter, jam, fruit juice and milk, there is even plenty of space in the shared fridge for water etc. We don’t drink coffee but couldn’t help notice the extremely technical looking coffee machine – it looked like it would make the real deal - Alberto will give full instructions on arrival.

The apartment was one block from a supermarket, three from the metro and approx a 20 min walk to the Colosseum (a little longer on the way back as it is up small hill!) The area itself was relatively quiet and safe (although a little dark in bits due to the lovely tree lined streets) the only noise we experienced was on the night of our arrival when we could hear one of the neighbours singing Don't Cry for Me Argentina....other than his out of tune singing we had perfect sleep every night!

Sadly we never made it to the famous ice cream shop mentioned in previous reviews as it closes on a Monday - only means we will have to go back again soon :)

All in all we couldn't fault the hotel, Alberto or the location!

Note - if you are going for dinner in the area avoid the one on the corner nearest the hotel (the one where the waiters stand on the street corner handing out leaflets and generally pestering you). Instead go to the one right next door to it - il Tempio Minerva - it was so good we went two nights in a row! Both nights it was well after 11pm and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The food was excellent, the service laid back and the prices below what you would expect for food this good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I came to Rome for a quick solo trip and decided to stay at my first bed and breakfast. Upon my arrival Alberto spent an hour with me showing me around the property and explaining the map and public transport system in Rome. He was also gracious enough to give me his phone number just in case I got lost which thankfully because of his great explanations I didn't! The room I slept in was extremely clean, comfortable, and the room I stayed in was large!!! I ended up in a room that can hold up to 4 people, despite it being just me, which was fantastic. The property is located blocks from the metro line and is in a great neighborhood. Go and enjoy (and don't miss the original gelato place a few blocks away - Alberto will tell you about it), I know i'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent location, great rooms, very well connected to bus stand, railway station and above all ALBERTO is a gem of a person. The rooms though small has got lot of avenues to tuck in things. The best partis it is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good value. Delivered exactly as described on website when booking. Alberto is a very good host, giving good advice about the local area (and the birthday cake was very nice of him!) Good access to public transport in a quiet area of town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Termini Gold B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termini Gold B&B

Address: Via Principe Umberto 77, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Termini Gold B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termini Gold B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.