We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Save Saved
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights in this hotel and have to say it was absolutely amazing. The staff are wonderful, the location is amazing and it is decorated beautifully. The roof top terrace is another added bonus and was amazing to sit up there have some wine and just enjoy the views. We intend to go back to Rome and we won't even bother looking at other hotels! It was a home from home and deserves recognition for this!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear L M


Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're flattered!
It 'been a real pleasure to meet you and spend some time with you.
You have described our structure to better .. we are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and also that you find our hotel like a "home from home"!!!!
Come back soon ..

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    83
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
89
215
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent place, clean and modern and very, very close to St. Peter's Square.
Friendly and helpful staff. Don't miss the roof terrace, with the beautiful view of the Basilica!
If we ever go back to Rome we will choose this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear M A

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy that your stay was good.

Vatican View is a particular and special Hotel where you always find clean, modern and design rooms, a panoramic terrace, open day and night, with an amazing view of St.Peter Square and Castel Sant'Angelo and, at the end, a funny and polite staff who will make all possible to give you a wonderful holiday :)

We hope to see you again in the future.. don't forget to check all the special offers on our official website.

Regards

Daniel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I decided to take our 7-month old daughter to Italy to attend midnight mass at the Vatican for Christmas Eve so we wanted a convenient hotel. We could not have asked for a better staff. We were literally steps away from the Vatican wall and it took less than 5 minutes to get into St. Peter's Square from our room. Fabio and the entire staff were very warm and helpful throughout our stay and had a crib set up in our room upon our arrival. The hotel is conveniently located near several restaurants and near one of the main streets leading into downtown Rome lined with high-end stores. The room was immaculate and we would definitely stay here again. The only warning I would give is if someone is handicapped, the elevator was actually up half a flight of stairs and the bathroom was small which would make maneuvering around challenging.

Room Tip: The standard room might be tough for handicapped guests due to the narrow stairs and small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Joe

Thank you for the beautiful review.

We are glad to know that your holiday with us was very good.
Relais Vatican View is a special Hotel where you will always find modern and clean rooms, a panoramic terrace and a funny and polite staff. Everything you like, it's available just here with us.
For this reason you must come back for your next holiday ;) ;) ;) Don't forget to check our special offers on our official website.

Warm Regards,

Daniel, Receptionist, Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am a frequent traveler and this was, without a doubt, the best hotel I have ever stayed in in my whole life (30 years). First of all, the service is excellent. We were welcomed by a receptionist with a big smile, who provided very useful information and made us feel at home. They were there for us whenever we needed help. The hotel is small but recently refurbished, comfortable and beautifully decorated, not to mention the location. The hotel is almost inside the Vatican and relatively close to train station. I recommend this option of accommodation, wholeheartedly, for location ,service and professionalism. Congratulations to Relais Vatican View Hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear lovely Alisson,

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

When I read "The best Hotel I have ever stayed in my life", my heart is filled with happiness!
Relais Vatican View is a beautiful Hotel where you will always find modern, disegn and clean rooms, a wonferful and panoramic terrace and an helpfull staff! All these things you can find also in other Hotels.. The peculiarity and the uniqueness of the Vatican View Hotel is the special service that we offer to all our customers ... so much love!!! :) :) :) We love this job! And we love you! It is precisely the reviews like your to grow this love! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this! It's important!

You must come back ;)

A big big big hug,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The staff was so friendly, and they had the best recommendations on restaurants in the area. I'd stay there again anytime! With the Basilica across the street and a few blocks from the Sistine Chapel, the location is second to none! Walking distance to so much.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you for the nice review :)

We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay thanks to our amazing location (just few seconds from St.Peter Church) and our friendly and crazy staff!
We always prefer to advice you restaurants where we normaly go with our friends and family. We want that you eat the real roman/italian food! So, it was a big pleasure to share it with you :)

We hope that you will come back at the Relais Vatican View soon!

Hugs,

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our first stop on a month long tour of Italy and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. Fabio welcomed us with a warmth and generosity that made us feel immediately at home. We were privileged to be given what must have been the best room in the hotel because it had it's own top floor balcony and direct access to the roof from where the dome of St Peter's could be seen. Just a few minutes walk took us to the Cathedral where we were lucky enough to receive the Pope's New Year blessing, Urbus et Orbi. First impressions are the strongest and our first impression of Italy will always be a positive one thanks to the kindness of the wonderful staff at this delightful hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available go for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Robert and family,

Thank you, thank you and again thank you :) :) :)

We're so happy to know that you enjoyed our Hotel! We have many kind of rooms.. all beautiful and each with its own peculiarities. Your room was the suite 413 (from 2 to 4 people) that it's the only one with balcony and private access to the terrace. For the other rooms, there is another access.. don't worry future clients ;) ihih. In this suite there is one double bed and one sofa double bed, so it's the best one if you have little children.
It was a big pleasure to meet you.. come back soon next here!

Hugs,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been traveling to Rome quite a lot since 5 years - I have been to many hotels in the city - but this is the best of the bests !!! Location exactly in the center of the world :-)) , very good quality of the rooms, and of course the crew - not the just clerks - Angels !!! - " anything you want - you got it" - impossible they do immediatelly - for miracles you have to wait a second ;-)
To be serious - I strongly recomend it.

Peter - Poland

Room Tip: they have any type of room you may need
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Piotr

Thank you for the nice and funny review.
We ain't angels but we do miracles!!! :D :D :D, kidding.
You have been many times in our Deluxe Double Room.
Relais Vatican View is a little but charming Hotel. As you wrote, from outiside you think is a normal building but, when you get in, you can feel on your skin the magic atmosphere that surround us.. A particulary stair, modern and luxury design, beautiful rooms, bathrooms with big (and in few rooms walk-in) showers, the panoramic terrace and a family staff!
What is the cherry on the cake? Absolutely our wonderful clients like you!!

A big hug from all of us.

Daniel - Receptionist - Relais Vatican View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.