We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot beat this location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You cannot beat this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent two weeks in Italy but only had three days to spend in Rome (with two of those days being travel days!) I needed a place close to the Vatican since I did not want to waste time in transit. Vatican View was the choice and it really made my Vatican trip truly excellent.

Regarding room size, yes, they are small. However, this is Europe and in a city... most rooms are small. We also had a king sized bed which took up the bulk of the space. However, we had THREE suite cases and a bag of dirty laundry we had to re-pack for our flight home to America (we clearly bought a lot of stuff) and we were able to successfully do so here. We spent most of our time out and about in Rome so it was not an issue for us. I was just happy to have a king size bed!

The rooftop provides a beautiful view of Saint Peter's dome. It appears they are doing work on the rooftop because everything looked brand new with a small section cornered off. I loved being up there and looking over the rooftops of Rome. It was so peaceful. We had a glass of wine up there before headed to dinner on our last night (we brought our own wine).

As I mentioned, the location cannot be beat. You are literally a one minute walk to St. Peter's Square. This was critical as I was the first in line to see the cathedral and made my way through without any lines or tourists clogging up the church. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the museum and about 15 minutes to the Castle. We were able to do so much since we only had to walk places versus taking a taxi.

There is no large sign for this hotel so we literally drove around in a circle for thirty minutes. None of the locals knew of the name of the hotel (or so they claimed). Study how this hotel looks! We arrived late, about 9pm and the reception staff (David?) was so helpful. He took up all of our stuff (and there was a lot) and also set up vatican tickets for the museum for us (a fast pass).

No buffet breakfast is provided but there are a few snacks in the room. Plenty of cafes in Rome to keep you occupied. There's also a carpark around the corner open on regular days (not holidays) at 0700 and closes at 0100. For two nights we paid almost Euro 40. Not bad for Rome.

If your main goal is to see the Vatican (and that area), you will be very happy with this hotel. The rooms are modern, clean, and I simply just adored this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Hawaiiansiren ,

Thank you for your beautiful and detailed review .

As you well written, our Hotel has an amazing location! We are just thirty seconds walk from San Pietro square. On Wednesdays and Sundays is easy to hear the Pope's audience and, for the museum tickets, we can book it from the website to make you skip the line .
Our rooms, standard and deluxe, are all modern and equipped. In our panoramic terrace you will find sofas and tables where you can enjoy a glass of wine, relaxing ,looking at the basilica of St. Peter or Castel Sant' Angelo .
For breakfast and parking, we recommend you to ask to our staff. A small breakfast kit is always available in our rooms, if prefer something different, we know some good and non-touristy bars. In addition, we have a discounted parking two blocks ahead where you will get a discount.

A warm hug and come back soon!

Alessandra.

Ps: If you made our Facebook photo, don't forget to see it on the official page "vatican view rome"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    91
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
250
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Even though I had made a mistake booking, they helped us fix the reservation. They suggested good places to eat, showed us about the room and roof terrace. They are the perfect location for the Vatican and Rome tourist attractions. Very much enjoyed our stay. Very pleasant, very clean, very restful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are quiet and have great room access (there is a small elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear KatieS,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy to know that your stay was good thanks to our rooms and our location, just few second walk from the St. Peter Square.
As I said many times and I like to repeat, the happiness of our clients is the most important thing for us. We love our job and we love to meet Friends from all the world everyday. When there is a problem, in this case a mistake during the reservation, we are available to resolve through the best way. It was a pleasure to help you :)

Come back again at the Vatican View Hotel.. maybe during the holidays.. we have many surprises to all our lovely Friends.

Hugs,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Big and beautiful modern room with great combination of an old wooden sealing are proof of great italian style. You can choose some wine in the room and have a nice drink on the terrasse before going out. Outstanding kindness of the reception staff, thanks to Fabio, Daniele and Alessandra who have been very helpful with recommendations. Coffee machine in the room. Really close to Vatican, which is helpful when you choose an early visit in the museum to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Gialloglob,

Thank you for the review :)

It's very nice to read all your wonderful words about us. The hotel is new (it's opened just from three years) and all the rooms are modern. We left something from the original structure, the wooden beams, and we remade the rest. The result is a design and charme Hotel in the heart of Rome. We have also a panoramic terrace where, as you already wrote, you can drink a glass of Italian wine (there are three bottles in each room with the price of just Euro 10,00).
It was a big pleasure to help you with all the advises about Rome.. :)

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

6 of us began our tour of Italy in Rome at the Vatican View for 6 nights. We were met at the airport and driven directly to the hotel; which as others have noted, doesn't look like a hotel from the outside. The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly and the rooms, while small, are newly remodeled, modern, and very clean. The room had a small kitchenette outside the door that had a refrigerator, microwave, sink and dishes and glasses. There is wine in the room that is reasonably priced (10Euro) and replaced as used. We discovered the rooftop terrace and that become our evening ritual. Wine, cheese and salumi from the local shops and wonderful views. We met several other guests during our week which added to the enjoyment. Daniel and Allesandra could not have been kinder and more helpful, as well as friendly and fun. They arranged for an evening tour around the city to see the lights, recommended other sights and answered every question we had (and there were many) with a smile. They also arranged for our ride to the airport. The location is fantastic. Directly outside the Vatican City wall, with a lovely view from the roof of the Basilica. Near the Metro stops and near very nice restaurants; not the touristy ones in the neighborhood. A small bar downstairs was perfect for a cup of coffee and croissant as we began our day. (Only downfall is no breakfast on site; but there is a coffee maker and small biscuits provided in the rooms).

Room Tip: There are bigger rooms with couches, which would provide a bit more comfort. The noise level was ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear WineDivaSeattle,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

We are very pleased to know that your stay at the Vatican View was nice .

The Hotel is special and unique, we always try to feel to our Friends as if you were living in the really beautiful Rome. The standard rooms are about the size of a regular room and they are equipped with everything. The deluxe rooms instead are bigger and we recommend it to celebrate important occasions or if you are staying for several days (so more luggage).
In any case, we are always happy to answer to all your questions or concerns, which is why I advise to everyone to send us an e-mail before making a reservation. If we know what are you looking for, we can advise you the best room for you and your needs.
Each member of our staff has something special .. but, surely, me and Daniel are very funny when we joke between us.. many times we saw the Friends laugh a lot .. no fiction, just pure truth :) We are funny and I hate Daniel! Ihih I'm joking of course.

Come back soon for another great holiday together ! Next time I'll try to give you the largest rooms at an affordable price .

Thanks again for everything :) It was great to meet you.

hugs and kisses,

Alessandra .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Thanks to all at Vatican View for making our stay in Rome so enjoyable. Stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. When we arrived we were informed that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra charge. The staff were so helpful and could not help us enough with any queries we had about local attractions, restaurant recommendations, tours etc. Location is great as its just beside St.Peters square and there are lots of restaurants and shops within the area. We'll definitely recommend it to any family/friends travelling to Rome! Thanks again everybody at Vatican View!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear JackieE,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are pleased to know that you started pleasantly the honeymoon also thanks to us.
All the staff of the Vatican View cares about its customers, their happiness and their special events. Honeymoon, anniversaries or birthdays, we are always ready to pamper you in every way possible. In this case we have chosen to give you a beautiful deluxe room at the same cost of the standard.
The hotel also enjoys a fantastic panoramic terrace with sofas and tables where you can spend a romantic evening drinking a glass of a good italian wine and looking at the chapel of the Vatican illuminated. But, as you wrote it well, our Hotel is also a good structure for families .. many gifts for children, especially during the holidays.

We hope to see you soon!

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Strange from the moment we arrived! It is really a hotel or not?
Office next door to a set of rooms. Desk clerk warned us that we were booked in a small room. Showed us a refrigerator in the hall outside our room - told us bottled water would be replaced daily. It never was but we found extra water in the closet and helped ourselves.
Found it really weird when we were told to call 9 on our phone after 10PM as the office would be closed. I have never stayed at a hotel where no one was in the building at night. It was uncomfortable since we do not speak Italian but we were reassured another hotel would answer the phone.
Shower very small - no way to avoid water on the floor. Slippery floor , diificult getting out of shower. Some mold on side walls
Then maid forgot to replace toilet paper. Called front desk. Finally, just gave up waiting and searched the closet out in the hall and found some. Later we were told the maid was late coming it!
Roof top terrace was a hike up steep stairs, floor tiles broken in places.
I would not return here on future visits as sheets were not changed the entire 3 night stay.
Breakfast tray teabags never replaced.
This is not a hotel just rooms someone decided to rent without much service to the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
GDear JRD823 ,

Thank you for your review.

We are truly sorry that your stay wasn't pleasant .

The Vatican View is not famous only for its location (a few steps from San Pietro square), but also for its modern, new and design rooms.. To ensure everything even after three years of opening and to maintaining the beauty and modernity of the Hotel, unfortunately we had extraordinary works.
Furthermore, the Vatican View is distinguish from other hotels due to its uniqueness. Indeed, we have a modern reception where our kind and always available multilingual staff provide you a service 24 hours on 24, two types of rooms (standard and deluxe), equipped with everything, where you can relax after a day of sightseeing in Rome, and, finally, a fantastic rooftop terrace, equipped with sofas and tables, overlooking the dome of St. Peter's and Castel Sant'Angelo .
We are truly sorry also for the inconvenience that have been caused by our cleaning staff, this is the first time who someone report us something about it, but I guarantee to you and to all our future guests that it was also the last time.
I invite you to stay again at the Vatican View Hotel where we will do our best to make wonderful your next holiday. The happiness of our customers is the first thing for us! It's not an usal phrase, we are very keen to all our guests.

Kind Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place is not actually a hotel! Its a building of rooms that have been refurbished, It is very modern and stylish but its like renting a room or something. The elevator doesnt go to the bottom floor, there are 7 sprial steps to drag your luggae up. Again the rooms are beautiful but the rooms are tiny, very tiny; paris style. It is literally right next to vatican and st peters basilica. Once you have seen the vatican, sistine chael, etc; the novelty of this place wears off. it surrounded by tourist trinket shops and marginal tourist cafes. As mentioned in other reviews, the day time hotel clerk is strange, appears friendly but always working little angles. The Hotel de Consul , four blocks north and two blocks off the square looks nice and normal. We wouldnt stay there again, definitely not.

Room Tip: the standard rooms are extremely small, modern and very clean but tiny; paris style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Theperfectplace1 ,

Thank you for the review.

Relais Vatican View is a new Hotel opened about three years now, modern, clean, cheerful and different from others due to various aspects .
We offers two different types of double room. The standard: normal size ( larger than a room in Paris ) , modern , equipped, soundproof, private bathroom with shower , wooden beams , safe, breakfast kit and water. And then there is the deluxe room: larger than the standard , modern , equipped, soundproof, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, wooden beams, safe, breakfast kit and water. Both rooms offer a pleasant feeling of well-being when you return from a long day of sightseeing in Rome .. Also, we have a fantastic panoramic terrace, open day and night, available for all our customers who want to enjoy the view of the Vatican and Castel Sant' Angelo sitting in the sofas with a glass of wine ( four bottles of your choice in each room).
Vatican View Hotel enjoys a beautiful location, just 10 seconds walk from the Vatican, two minutes from Castel Sant' Angelo, 10/ 15 minutes from Popolo square, along the famous Cola di Rienzo street, Spanish steps, and, crossing the tiber, 10 minutes to Navona Square, Pantheon and Campo de Fiori.
We are sorry to read that you will not sleep at Vatican View next time.. The happiness and well-being of our customers are the most important things for us, for this reason I invite you to come back soon in our Hotel where we will do our best to get you an unforgettable holiday.

Keep in touch with us through our official website or through our Facebook page.

A big hello from all the staff!

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.