We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique & chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Boutique & chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is perfect if you plan to use your time in Rome exploring the many wonders of The Vatican. It's situated literally one street away from it and it's a really cool place. It's a boutique hotel/B&B so don't expect massive rooms. The rooms are chic, clean and modern. It's about 10mins walk from the nearest underground station (Ottaviano) and you'll have to pass hordes of tourists and ticket sellers to and from it.

The Vatican view has a roof terrace which has OK views of Rome and the reception team are really helpful in suggesting places to eat, best routes to take and taking care of the small details.

Overall a great place to stay but next time I'm gonna opt for somewhere closer to the central attractions. One bonus to staying at Vatican View if you don't mind being a little out of town is the noise level. The rooms have good sound blocking windows and shutters. Also, because it's out of town, the street noise level is minimal so it's quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Pack a travel Iron. Hotels in Room must have a designated ironing room. Vatican View does not and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Devin,

Thank you for the nice review.. it was so kind from you!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hotel for the beautiful and equipped rooms, for the wonderful terrace with the Vatican's view and for our funny and all the times available staff .. So, why do you don't come back to us? Ihih ;) Relais Vatican View is in the heart of the center city, it's far just few minutes from all the main tourist attractions.
Anyway, We will hope to see you again in the future.

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    91
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
250
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location -- very close to the Vatican Museum and St. Peters. There is a terrace on top that has a great view to see the surrounding area.

The hotel staff are very warm and helpful. The room was very clean and modern. My wife and I had a great stay here.

The hotel front desk closes at 10 pm, which is a slight inconvenience if you need to check in after that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Max,

Thank you for your nice review :) It was so kind from you.
We are so happy that you noted our best points during your stay.. We have a wonderful terrace where you can see the Vatican's Dome and Castel Sant'Angelo, beautiful rooms where you can find all that you need and a funny staff all the times available to answer to all your questions and make interesting check-in (also after 10:00pm).

We hope to see you again ;)

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our 5 week European holiday. The girl on the front desk was one of the most friendly and helpful front desk personal we came across. Great spot to stay for the Vatican and other sights are not too far away either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dears lovely Friends,

I thank you personally for the wonderful review focusing in particular on my availability and courtesy. I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Vatican View :) I hope to see you again in the future, keep in touch with the Hotel facebook page.

A big hug,

Alessandra.

Thank you again! :) :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ended our Honeymoon a few days ago at the Vatican View in Rome. And what a perfect end to our three month around the world Honeymoon. We loved our three night stay at the Vatican View and will definitely return to stay again. We found the reception staff so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were given a complimentary room upgrade which was a lovely way to end our honeymoon. The room we stayed in was so spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was amazing and so big, especially compared to other places we stayed in Europe on our trip. The kitchenette was very handy and we were able to prepare our breakfast each morning. We found the hotel extremely quiet and did not hear any street noise at night. The rooftop garden was a great touch with fantastic views of Rome and St Peters Basilica. We enjoyed having our 'Italian' meals of pizza and pasta on the rooftop overlooking the city each night after big days of sightseeing. The location of the hotel is great. It is literally seconds from St Peters square and the Vatican. It is so close to most of the big tourist attractions in Rome. We had no difficulties in walking to the Colosseum, Piazza Navono, Panthenon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Popolo etc. Even though we had a rental car, we preferred to walk and see the sights which is so easy from the Vatican View. There are great Italian restaurants extremely close to the hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better time at the Vatican View and hopefully we will be back again one day. Krystle and Guy Perrin, Australia.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Krystle & Guy,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

We are so happy to know that your stay was great.
It was a pleasure to make you an upgrade for your honeymoon.. the events are one of our best stroing points, so we try to do our best everytime. We gave you a deluxe room where, as you wrote, there is a big bathroom, a kitchenette and a little extra space for the bags. All this is accompanied by the fantastic terrace, open day and night, on the top floor..

We will wait for you next year to celebrate your first anniversary ;)

A big hug,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the Vatican leg of our Italy trip and I cannot say enough great things about this place. It is very clear that Fabio and his team take great pride in the work they do and made our stay in the Vatican area nothing short of being excellent.

PROS:
- Close to St.Peter's / Vatican: It is literally a 2 minute walk from St. Peter's basilica!
- Modern Decor: The room was very new and furnished with more modern furniture than the other hotels we've stayed at in Italy. The beds were super comfortable and the sound insulation of the windows were excellent as we did not hear any street noise.
- Great dining / souvenir shops: Both Borgo Pio and Via del Mascherino offer great dining options and souvenir shops.
- Facilities well maintained by exceptional staff --> The hotel was in excellent condition and Fabio's team were always very helpful.

CONS:
- Nothing, our stay was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Rc999,

Thank you for the nice review :) :) :)

We are so so so happy to know that your stay was wonderful thanks to the love that, everyday, we put in our job. It's very important for us that our lovely Friends see it.
We hope to see you soon! I promise you another beautiful room for your next trip ;)

Warm Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect! In one word that sums up our stay at Vatican View. Had a wonderful holiday in Rome with my family of four. Vatican View was the perfect place to return to after a tiring day out sightseeing. Love the roof top terrace, perfect place to relax with a glass of wine and see St. Peter's Basillica slowly light up as the sun sets. Fabio, Daniel and Alessandra were most hospitable and upgraded us to a
suite when we returned to Rome again after our Venice trip. This was great as we could all be together instead of being split into 2 rooms. They also helped to store our big luggage for us when we went to Venice since we were only bringing smaller ones. So many positives staying here, I simply loved the experience ! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Shusian,

Thank you, thank you and, another time, thank you :)))
Your review is very nice!
We are glad to know that your stay before and afer Venice was good. When we can, we make upgrades to the deluxe e suite rooms.. we want all our Friends happy :)
We hope to see you again in the future.

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My fiancée and I recently spent two weeks touring Italy. Our first stop was the Vatican View in Roma. Every other place we stayed was at least double the price, but nowhere else did we receive service that was even half as good! We genuinely felt welcomed and appreciated, and the location was spectacular. We'll be back! I wonder why they never posted our picture on their Facebook page though? ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I'm so sorry about the photo.. Today we will check and post it!
Anyway, we are very happy to know that your stay was one of the best of your trip :) :) :) Everyday we try to do our best to give you a fantastic stay in Rome.. it's very important for us.. Your review is the proof that we did it also this time!

We hope to see you again soon!!!

A big hug.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.