We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vatican gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vatican gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staying at the Vatican View is a bit like having your own private home in the Vatican. Location cannot be bettered; as Fabio, our charming and genial receptionist commented, 'You can hear the Pope snore!' Well, we couldn't put that to the test (!) but the basilica was literally a 2 minute walk away and an elevator ride in the hotel takes you to superb rooftop views of St Peter's Dome. The location means it is possible to have toured St Peter's before local cafes even open for breakfast. A private entrance door from the street takes you to beautiful rooms - elegantly decorated in soft greys, whites and taupes with beamed ceilings and window shutters that open onto classical Roman terracotta facades. Our bathroom was equipped with a superb shower. And Fabio and Alessandra simply could not have done more to see all our needs were met. In the
evening, the location again wins out if you ever wondered what it would be like to eveasdrop on local clerical gossip, as Vatican clergy frequent a number of local restaurants. Links to other parts of Rome are not bad, with buses a five minute walk away and the subway/tube perhaps ten. We simply can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are so glad to know that your stay was nice thanks our Hotel and our staff.
Everyday Relais Vatican View try to feel at home all our clients during their holidays through many right elements like the fantastic location, the modern rooms and the funny staff.
We hope to see you again soon!

Regards from all of us.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    91
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
250
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were so touched by unexpected birthday congratulation to my husband. The bottle of good red wine as a gift to him was a special emotional bonus.We we happy to use our private small kitchen just outside the room. The location is so good to have quiet night walks in the St.Peters square and around St.Angelo.And during daytime it is the best neighborhood to have great shopping (Cola di Rienzo street), restaurants( Osteria Venerina - great pizzas) and great coffee experiences(Cantiani) far from the tourist crowds. Vatican View is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tanya,

Thank you for the beautiful review... we are so happy about it.
Our location is really wonderful, but our best points are all the events like birthdays, anniversary, wedding, etc etc.. Come back for your next celebration, we will make a special thing.. just for you!!

Kind Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Relais Vatican for a weekend getaway. The location is perfect, the hotel is minutes away from the Vatican, and a 10 minute walk from the metro. The room we stayed in was on the second floor, it was clean with modern furnishings and fittings. The bathroom was spacious and equipped with modern fittings including a great shower. The free wifi was a big plus and the connection speed was good. The service was excellent, Fabio was very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202, lovely room, no view of the Vatican if that is what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for the nice review.
We are so happy to know that your stay was beautiful.
Relais Vatican View is a little but glamour Hotel.. Often we liken to a cave .. Outside it looks like a simple gray frame, but once you go inside, you can realize how it is special and magical thanks to its beautiful and modern rooms.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location as we could see st Peters square out our window, awesome roof terrace! Extremely helpful friendly staff whom went out of there way to help us. Amazing bathroom, very modern decor and kitchen facility was a bonus! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value for money with all the luxury's!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear lovely Josie and Gill,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
We are happy to know that your stay was good thanks our Hotel, our location and our staff. Everyday we try to do our best to make your holidays special.
We hope to see you again soon. We miss you :)

A big hug,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We selected the Relais Vatican View for a recent three night February stay in Rome as our main objective was to visit St. Peters, the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museum. What a location -- only a short walk to St. Peter's Square and a few blocks to the Vatican Museum.

Upon arrival Alessandra efficiently checked us in and helped with the luggage. Alessandra then went out of her way to make sure we knew where to find the best restaurants, shopping items we were looking for and of course the best gelato. In addition, she provided us with a bottle of wine that was excellent. What service!

During our stay Daniel helped with small details and directions to different sights. We found that the hotel is also only a 15 minute walk to the Piazza Navona and a few blocks more to the Pantheon. While he was very specific about bus and metro routes, we found the hotel to be within walking distance of all we were planning for the city.

Upon check out we rented a car for touring small villages outside of Rome. Fabio was a great help. We checked out, followed his directions to the rental company and returned to the area to walk through St. Peter's Basilica one more time and pick up our luggage. Fabio warned us that parking would be impossible but we lucked out and found a parking spot within two blocks of our destination. Fabio helped us with our luggage and made sure we knew the best routes out of the city.

The hotel was nice and very clean. Rooms, while small by American standards, were well organized and allowed for two people to move about without running into one another. But what sets the Vatican View apart from other hotels is the service. You will not find a more friendly and helpful staff. THANK YOU ALLESANDRA, DANIEL and FABIO for an EXCELLENT stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear JMT,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
We are really pleased to know that our hotel and our staff have been to your liking.
As you well described, Me, Daniel, and Fabio try to give, in a different but uniform way, a 360 ° full-service . To make this possible and perfect, we use your sympathy and affection that you transmit to us from the moment that you arrive to theend.
We hope to riavervi soon here at the hotel.

A big hug from all of us.

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staff : The staff is extremely friendly, they are more than happy to help out.

Room: The room and the bathroom was gorgeous! The room was very spacious and has a fridge (they give you a bottled water and another bottle of sparkling water everyday). They provide you with coffee and tea packets as well as cookies in the room which they replenish every morning. Definitely stop by at the rooftop deck - it looks gorgeous up there especially at night.

Location: If the main place you want to visit is St. Peter's Basilica and The Vatican this hotel's location is perfect! This place is about 2 blocks to St. Peter's, we were shocked on how close it was. There are a lot of restaurants close by as well! If you want to go to The Colosseum, Roman Forum, etc. then you have to take a cab/taxi (5 to 7 Euros one way) or a shuttle tour ride (Just be smart about the tour ride and make sure you are using it for a quick hop on and hop off tour. If you are the lingering/walking type, just take a cab going to the other main tourist place and it will save you so much money rather than buying a shuttle trip)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Bianca,

Thank you for this itimezed review, it's fantastic!
We are so happy to know that your stay was good. Everytime we try to give our best to all our guests with many little things like a soft and nice breakfast :)
Come back next year to discover all the news.

Best Regards,

Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Vatican view in December. We found the hotel to be very clean and modern! We had a great view of the street, but it was not that loud. It is a Short walk to the Vatican, and about a 10 minute walk to the metro. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Alexis,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are very happy to know that your stay with us was good :)
The most important thing for us is to make wonderful your holidays.. for this reason we make particulary attention to all the points like clean, confort, design, etc etc.
We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.