We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel next to Vatican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel next to Vatican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel at 10:50am, thinking that our room wouldn't be ready when it was (which helped a lot with the luggage). We were shown to our room which was lovely and clean, quite small but that didn't matter to us. From our window we could see St Peter's so the view was lovely. Although the hotel doesn't provide breakfast, they do bring some snacks every day while you are there which i found nice and something they didn't have to do. The hotel is literally a minutes walk from the Vatican, so if you want to be close to that, then this is perfect for you. To get to other attractions such as the Colosseum it will take about 20 minutes via metro, but that didn't bother us. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels, new food and drinks. The staff were all lovely and helped us locate attractions. The hotel is extremely good value for money. The only minor complaint was that the room was very hot, although it was easy to open the windows at night, it was quite noisy outside so we ended up closing the windows anyway. Very lovely hotel, when i come to Rome again, i will not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Eleni,

Thank you so much for the review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel.
The quality / price is one of the most important thing for us, so we strive to always satisfy our customers according to their needs. If we had known that your room was too hot, we made ​​sure to lower the heat slightly. Sorry .. We hope to see you again soon! I promise you a bigger and fresh room ;)
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    91
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
250
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice and clean rooms, although maybe a bit small. We enjoyed our stay, the only potential drawback being the location of the hotel which is a bit away from the center, but no more than a 20 minute walk to all the sights. Great location if you want to be close to the Vatican of course.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Nlls,

Thank you for the review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hotel for the quality and the price. We are a little sad about your words for the position that it's one of our best point! The Hotel is located to 30 second to walk from the Vatican Square, 5 minutes from Castel Sant'Angelo, 10/15 minutes from Navona Square and the others tourist sights.
Anyway, we hope to see you again :)
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel because we were looking for a hotel that is close in proximity to the Vatican for Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve. It was the perfect location for this need. The neighborhood has mostly touristy restaurants, which is to be expected. The staff was very kind during our stay. The room was spacious and we were excited that we had a corner room with plenty of windows. Our only negative about the room was that there was a slight smell of mold. We were able to rid this by opening the windows. The hotel is a little bit of a walk to the other sites of Rome, but my husband and I did venture into the other areas on foot - probably about a 20-30 minute walk to Campo Di Fiore. Overall, we had a great stay and would stay here again if we were attending other events at the Vatican.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Foodiek,

Thank you for the review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its location. One of our special is this, to be a 30 second to walk from Piazza San Pietro. In addition, from the terrace you can enjoy a wonderful view of the dome.
We apologize for the musty smell probably due to some loss in the room, the problem has already been resolved by our maintenance worker who is present every day in the hotel just to solve minor inconvenience that can happen in a building.
Come back soon to enjoy again with us!
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Modest building, modest reception,however - a very nice and helpful staff, excellent location, charming neighborhood, and the room was at least 3 stars, as promised. Although windows on two walls it was surprisingly quiet at night. The best: 100 meters walk to our prime aim, Piazza S Pietro and the Vatican!

Room Tip: Ask for "a big one".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Canasta67,

Thank you for the review.
We are happy to know that your stay was great, but, nex time, it will be wonderful!
We hope to see you again!

Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived at the Relais Vatican View during Thanksgiving week 2012 4 hours before normal check-in time and were greeted by the beautiful, friendly and knowledgable Alessandra who arranged for our luggage to be stored and brought to our room. She then answered all our questions on how to visit St Peters, the Vatican Museum and other historical sites. She booked our Vatican Museum tickets on-line and sold us vouchers for a hop-on hop-off double decker bus service with stops throughout Rome at various important locations including a St. Peters stop 5 minutes from the hotel . She also recommended some nearby restaurants. My advise to any future visitors is to follow her recommendations all of which exceeded expectations. As other reviewers have written the location could not be better being 5 minutes walk from St. Peter Basilica, 10 minutes walk to the vatican museum, and around the block from the hop-on hop off bus stops as well as only 15 minutes from the main Rome Termini Train station.
We stayed in the corner Room 201 which was spacious and featured a queen size bed, large flat screen TV and other modern furnishings in a beautifully restored historical building. The walls were flawless white with a ceiling having original oak ceiling joists. Windows to the street were double-pane glass, soundproof and spotlessly clean. The bathroom, also spotlessly clean was fitted entirely in ultra-modern stainless steel with a large rainfall shower head.
Alessandra and Daniel, front desk staff provided constant friendly outstanding service from first request of wine glasses which were delivered to the room with extra gifts of crackers, and chocolate bon-bons to the last taxi reservation we requested which arrived promptly at 6:00 AM the morning we left.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Brand,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
We are pleased to know that we were able to make your holiday perfect. Our rooms are like "favors", but the best part is you!
We hope to see you soon here at the hotel. It 'was great to meet you.
A big hug from me and Daniel.
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

In November 2012, we spent 5 days in this hotel. We usually stay in the business hotels, but because of the location and great reviews, we decided to try Relais Vatican View. We haven’t regretted our decision for a single second.

First of all, the location is truly great. 2 minute walk to Vatican, lot of great places to eat around, easy to walk to the central historical area, 5 minute walk to Metro.

We got a wonderful, huge room with probably the biggest bathroom I’ve ever see in the hotel. I know other hotels, which would build another room in there. Or two. Room was nicely furnisher (very original style), TV, equipped kitchen, walk in closet. Only objection here would be, that we couldn’t sleep with open window, street is bit noisy at the morning, and AC was bit confused. Room was properly cleaned every day.

The service in the restaurants or shops in Rome is definitely not the world-quality. Well, as Rome is touristic money machine, you can expect it. But the service at Relais Vatican View is on the completely opposite point of the scale. Very friendly, extremely helpful, always ready to offer a helping hand. The level of services easily exceeds services at many 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Rado,

Thank you SO MUCH for this wonderful review!
We are glad to read those words about us.. :) Every day we try to do our best just for you!
Come back soon at the Relais Vatican View!
Hugs from all of us.
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough...great location, comfort and value! Our room (101) was fantastic, beautifully appointed and spacious. The location is ideal for exploring Rome, near to the Vatican and near enough to the Metro for travel into the historic centre. The hotel manager Fabio was very accomodating and helpful, he provided a great service all in all. If we return to Rome we will not think twice about returing to the Vatican View...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Miss Penwah,

Thank you for this review!
All our rooms are very modern and beautiful.. we are happy to read that you enjoyed it :) Come back soon to discover another one!
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.