We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatican View

Save Saved
You added Vatican View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vatican View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbeatable value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

In November 2012, we spent 5 days in this hotel. We usually stay in the business hotels, but because of the location and great reviews, we decided to try Relais Vatican View. We haven’t regretted our decision for a single second.

First of all, the location is truly great. 2 minute walk to Vatican, lot of great places to eat around, easy to walk to the central historical area, 5 minute walk to Metro.

We got a wonderful, huge room with probably the biggest bathroom I’ve ever see in the hotel. I know other hotels, which would build another room in there. Or two. Room was nicely furnisher (very original style), TV, equipped kitchen, walk in closet. Only objection here would be, that we couldn’t sleep with open window, street is bit noisy at the morning, and AC was bit confused. Room was properly cleaned every day.

The service in the restaurants or shops in Rome is definitely not the world-quality. Well, as Rome is touristic money machine, you can expect it. But the service at Relais Vatican View is on the completely opposite point of the scale. Very friendly, extremely helpful, always ready to offer a helping hand. The level of services easily exceeds services at many 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Rado,

Thank you SO MUCH for this wonderful review!
We are glad to read those words about us.. :) Every day we try to do our best just for you!
Come back soon at the Relais Vatican View!
Hugs from all of us.
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    88
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
96
224
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough...great location, comfort and value! Our room (101) was fantastic, beautifully appointed and spacious. The location is ideal for exploring Rome, near to the Vatican and near enough to the Metro for travel into the historic centre. The hotel manager Fabio was very accomodating and helpful, he provided a great service all in all. If we return to Rome we will not think twice about returing to the Vatican View...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Miss Penwah,

Thank you for this review!
All our rooms are very modern and beautiful.. we are happy to read that you enjoyed it :) Come back soon to discover another one!
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found this hotel on trip advisor and decided to book it based on the great reviews. When I got there I was so pleased! This hotel is right next to the Vatican and is also a short walk away from the hop on/hop off bus stop!

When I got there we were greeted by Ms. Alessandra which is amazi and such a great help. We did a pre-checkout as our flight was at 9am and had to leave the hotel at 6:45 am.

We went out sightseeing and they took all our bags upstairs for us which was a nice touch. There is an elevator too which is good.

There is free wifi that works very well which is amazing and super important.

The room we had was amazing!!! It was a large room on the second floor with a couch, three windows that looked onto the street and little alley. The decor is chic and modern which I love. The hotel is VERY CLEAN which is so important for me. The bathroom was amazing there is a rainfall shower head which makes you never want to leave the shower after a long day of sightseeing.

Overall I had an amazing experience for my short stay and next time I will come to Rome. This hotel is great I highly recommend you staying there!

Thanks and until next time!

Monica

Room Tip: We got a corner room on the second floor...amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Monica,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review.
I am happy to know that, even if only for a day, we have left good memories to you.
Hope to see you soon.
A big hug.
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Firstly, it should be pointed out that the rooms do not have balconies, only the suite has a small balcony. That said, everything about this small, and unpretentious hotel is wonderful. It is not as I expected, but after an initial surprise that the "lobby" was actually the shop next door, our experience of the welcome, the rooms, and the service we received, was wonderful. Fabio is so warm, charming, enthusiastic, and unflappable! Nothing is impossible (except a balcony!), and he took all stress out of our early arrival, and made us feel we were coming to stay with family. We were a group of family and friends, and though the standard rooms are small, they are comfortable, and v.clean. The superior rooms are spacious and well equipped; the newly fitted bathrooms/showers are excellent. This is an unusual hotel,possibly a converted townhouse, with narrow spiral stairs, small lift, and no breakfast room, but there are several cafes, and pasticcerias in the immediate vicinity, and tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The roof terrace is glorious and the location is perfect, as near as it is possible to be, to St Peter's, without actually being under the colonnade, and so accessible to all public transport. The restaurants nearby are fantastic, as is the shopping. Finally, Fabio, Alessandra ( the diva of cupcakes), Daniel, and Cosimo, made our 5 day stay a complete joy. Thank you so much. We will be back. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Paula.
What a beautiful description / review! Thank you very much!
Every day we try to do our best to make it memorable, or as you say a joy, your holidays .. we are pleased to know that we succeeded with you!
Come back soon and I will prepare other cupcakes just for you ;)
A big hug from all of us.
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrivered on Sunday to be told that we had been given a upgrade to a superior room.great start to our holiday then Fabio showed us to our room which was amazing..Big Shower room.On Wednesday got knock on room door and was presented with a lovely Cupcake from the staff.The hotel is a great location not far from the metro and the Vatican.Would recommend hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tottyabird,

Thank you for the review! It's a pleasure to read it! :)
Come back soon to try another room and others cupcakes!!!
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in November 2012. Nice hotel with in excellent location - St. Peter cathedral is 1 min walk, and 10 mins to shopping street on Via Cola di Rienzo, with small open markets.

Staff was very friendly. There is no breakfast served. But there are many coffees and restaurant around. We particularly went to Cantiani (gelateria and snack shop) for a coffer with baby panini, and croissant

Be ready to relatively small room, but location paid out. There green terrace on top of the hotel with outstanding view on Vatican district and St. Peter's Cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Alexey,

Thank you for the review.
Relais Vatican View is a little but special Hotel. We try to fill some of the gaps with our fantastic structure and engaging our sympathy! We are pleased to know that he has noticed and appreciated everything;)
Come back soon!
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a visit to Italy. Our two nights in Rome at the Vatican View Hotel was a highlight. The rooms are newly renovated and well done. With your stay you can enjoy the opportunity to sit on the rooftop balcony with a couple of bottles of wine and eat a nice meal from the street below while the sun sets over St Peter's Basilica. Look around the rooftops of Rome. Then cross the street and you are in St Peter's Square without the crowd.

The staff was extremely helpful. We arrived around noon and did not expect to check in, they promptly stored our luggage handed us a map and directed us to an itinerary for our 3 days in Rome. They stored our luggage for the last day and helped make us feel a part if their community.

I highly recommend and will definitely return. Advice: it is a 2 block walk to metro-we bought a 3 day metro pass there and then the Roma Pass which includes a 3 day pass for use if metro available outside the colloseum which was redundant. We had a 2 room suite which shared a hallway with a kitchenette and was perfect for two couples or a family of four.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaticanview, Receptionist at Vatican View, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lunchboxed,

Thanks for the review.
We are pleased to know that you liked our suite consists of two rooms with kitchen and bathrooms. Next time you'll try our suite with private access to the terrace.
Regards,
Alessandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vatican View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican View

Address: Via del Mascherino, 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vatican View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome right next to the most famous basilica in the world St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums you will find this exclusive hotel which offers a modern ambiance, is refined and elegant and in total harmony is cradled by its prestigious location. Ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in this spiritual atmosphere coming from one of the most talked about squares in the world: St. Peter's square. Perfect for shopaholics: a few metres away is the famous Via Cola di Rienzo shopping district where all the important brands can be found. A short distance away is the characteristic Borgo Pio neighbourhood, a small village lost inside the metropolis, where you can taste traditional roman cuisine. From here you can also easily reach the famous Castel Sant'Angelo fortress. Guest rooms are furnished to every particular detail. From some rooms you can admire the colonnade that surrounds the piazza, take in the majesty of St. Peter's cupola and also listen to the pope while he gives his sunday blessing. St. Peter's basilica is the largest church in the world and the centre of the roman catholic faith. Its immense square always gives off an amazing aura at every religious event. A visit to the nearby Vatican Museums, Castel Sant'Angelo and the characteristic roads surrounding this area will provide your trip with the complete satisfaction you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vatican View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatican View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.