We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria Rasella

Hostaria Rasella
Via Rasella 34/35, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 481 8836
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,233 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $36 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Classic Roman Hostaria , roman kitchen, fresh fish and superior meet with good prices
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place has amazing food and the service is awesome!!
We wanted to try new things but not too far from our normal. This place had authentic Italian food that was not westernized yet totally delicious!!! The waitress was so friendly and helped us to understand the menu. Worth the night out!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    52
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ran across Hostaria Rasella while on our way to another restaurant that had been recommended to us. After looking in the window of Hostaria Rasella and seeing the white tablecloths and pleasant decor we decided it was the place we wanted for a quiet relaxing dinner. It did not disappoint us. The staff greeted us immediately and took good care of us throughout dinner. The food was beyond expectations - especially the Sea Bass which was prepared as I've never had it before in a bit of light broth. Not only was the food excellent but so was the wine. It was not busy the night we were there but were told it was sporadic - some nights they are full and others are quiet. I would recommend this restaurant be added to the itinerary of all who travel to Rome. The price is reasonable and the food is delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill nc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One Can Do 100-Times Better Nearby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate there on May 2, 2013 and I was not at all impressed, My first take on a place comes from the response to a request for "tap water"- this was our only "we don't do that" in 9 days of eating in Rome. My wife loved the pasta dish but the asparagus with egg entree was pathetic. 12 Euros for a dozen asparagus with a fried egg. I suppose the place is ok, but for the same money at the nearby Fellini Restaurant the food is about 100 times better, the atmosphere is much more attractive, the service is on a higher level and one has a true culinary experience. They also serve free tap water!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in Rome and were heading for the trevi fountain. We stepped into Hostaria Rasella at 12.30 (which is very early for Rome) and we were made to feel welcome. Tasty house white wine by the glass. We enjoyed the anti-pasti and the pasta dishes. Restaurant had filled nicely by 2.00pm when we left. Would certainly go there again. Prices were reasonable for this touristy location.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We go to Rome every year and always go to the Hosteria Rasella. There is no attitude, no crowds, Just great food. The servers are always pleasant and no one rushes or ignores you. I love this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria Rasella also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Rasella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria Rasella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.