We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would NEVER be back here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Sara B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa di Sara B&B to your Saves list
Casa di Sara B&B
di Tor Millina 19 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,123 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Would NEVER be back here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from my trip to Italy and I'm eager to post a review. But before I do it, let me start by telling you that the absolute only reason why I booked Casa di Sara was for the wonderful reviews I read on tripadvisor. Now I wonder WHO writes here!

This place is like 1/2 start hotel and not at all nice like described. First of all, the entrance of the building was in absolute darkness the entire time of our stay (5 days) and there was light only when you were approaching the stairs. I read that the owners/managers were helpful but not at all in our case. We only met a young guy called Joe (or something like that) that met us at check-in when we paid and that was it (he didn't even show up at check out!). We didn't have enough toilet paper nor towels in the room. The wifi only worked when I was glued to the room door, otherwise it didn't work. The tv volume was going up or down by itself. To take a shower, we had to wait 30 minutes for hot water! And when it did, water will stop running for a few minutes and then again. Oh, and the bed-covers smelled so bad that we used our own jackets to cover us at night (they were not even folded in the closet but like someone threw them in there). The only positive thing about this place was the location (and that it had AC). But now that I know Rome and how close is everything, I would go to a different neighborhood and book a decent hotel. This place was EXPENSIVE for the quality of the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    53
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
83
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent 5 days in Rome and while there we stayed at the Casa Di Sara B&B. A simply great location for a B&B and the Tower provided a very spacious room. Looking out the window hearing and experiencing the days and nights of Rome was great. The B&B is roughly 50 steps from the Piazza Novona. FANTASTIC Location and a short walk to many great sights, including Spanish Steps, Trevi, and Pantheon. Unfortuneatley the extreme lack of service to our room was a huge disappointment. We were there for 4 nights and not once was our room cleaned, nor were the waste baskets emptied. We needed to always request things via leaving a note on the desk, because no one was there. The person we dealt with (Joel) was nice enough, but understood little if any English. There are two main doors to access to get to the rooms. We were assured they were always locked. Our first night there, someone was "pounding" on my door at MIDNIGHT demanding access to the room. I stood my ground but did not open the door and he eventually left. But that didn't create a warm, safe feeling for us the rest of the nights. Not sure how he got in, and Joel while surprised to hear about this the next day did little to take away the (lack of) security concern we had. For the price, those rooms should be cleaned daily! While a great location, I doubt I'll return to Casa Di Sara.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinkero, Direttore at Casa di Sara B&B, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Google Translation
salve,
in merito alla recensione riportata non capisco come i signori avendo avuto tutti questi problemi abbiano avuto il coraggio di lasciare una generosa mancia..
Innanzitutto come specificato non offriamo un servizio con presenza di personale alla reception H24.
Ma nonostante questo ai signori è stato lasciato il mio numero personale di telefono (joel) sul quale sono stato contattato circa delle informazioni sul centro storico,quindi un servizio telefonico attivo.
Quando i signori la mattina andavano a fare colazione mi trovavano sempre alla reception pronto a rifare e pulire la loro camera quindi non capisco questa presunta esistenza di bigliettini.
Guardando le altre recensioni nessun altro ha mai posto lo stesso problema di rifacimento delle stanze e quindi non capisco perchè proprio a loro è stato negato tale servizio.
Per quanto riguarda la sicurezza della struttura non siamo a conoscienza dell accaduto della notte rappresentata dal cliente il quale dice di aver posto il problema a me personalmente,senza offesa,ma forse è stato il frutto dell immaginazione dato da una serata "brava"data dalle bottiglie di vino vuote trovate nel cestino.
Comunque mi dispiace che l esperienza del cliente non sia stata a dir suo "delle migliori",bensi lasciamo libero sfogo di espressione,ma manteniamo la nostra posizione di replica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

where to begin will all the problems at this place? i set a time to meet someone outside the apt to get the key, (most improtant when travelling without local phone) he was half hour late (it was only 9.30 pm and we were in the rain.) the fellow at the desk was incredibly unhelpful. there weren't 4 towels first night (we were 4..at least one per person would be minimal reasonable), the rooms were dirty, the fridge disgusting!, he could only give us 1 key (for 4 people, 6 nights!) and the most important, there was no wi fi in our rooms the whole time!!! travelling with 3 older teenage girls, this was a major hassle. we had to go outside to the smelly dirty steps early morn and late at night to get reception. the fellow at the desk would just laugh. hot water for shower sporadic. i chose this place because of the wifi and location..it was expensive and not at all worthwhile! terrible value for not-a-cheap-place! i don't know how it ever got a decent review. i would suggest never get the family room. (meeting all the other tenants on the steps, they seemed more satisfied..and wifi wasn't their concern). staff was unfriendly, couldn't be reached or found. luckily the area is swarming with other b and b's..that's where i'm going next time. never to casa di sara. false information.

Room Tip: Don't go near the family room! no, don't go near this place. no correlation between reality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The manager of this property was very helpful advising how best to arrive from Roma Termini. I was assisted with my luggage up two flights of stairs.
My room was adequately sized and clean. The only negative was that it was a little dimly lit. This was overcome however by turning on both bedside lamps as well as the main light. The bathroom however was adequately lit. The room is extremely close to Piazza Navona which is a great location to all attractions. I walked everywhere from here, to the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Vatican City, a pleasant stroll along the Tiber river, Campo Fiori, and much more. There are restaurants a plenty right outside your front door and it can be noisy at night, although I found that by closing the windows the noise was eliminated.. Breakfast is at a cafe a few doors down, although the voucher only entitles you to,a coffee and croissant. Don't make the mistake I made and ask for orange juice in lieu of coffee, as you won't get a croissant. OJ is deemed to be dearer than coffee.
After connecting the the Internet the first time, I found I automatically reconnected upon returning to the room which was convenient.
Note though that there is no Reception.
I enjoyed my stay at Casa di Sara B&B.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or room service so disregard the "terrible" rating,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Check-in is up the road in Locanda Navona with friendly staff. The rooms are at the top of the building and no lift but I think for the price and location it is worth it. It was one of the few reasonable places with family rooms with separate beds for our teenage children, Unfortunately the fridge was not working in our room and we had to change rooms the next day to get the fridge! The staff sorted this out the evening we arrived and the room we moved to overlooked the thoroughfare from Piazza Navona. The air-conditioning worked very well, the shutters and secondary glazing kept the noise out and my children loved the free wi-fi. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location for walking around Rome. 10 euro taxi ride to Termini. Apartment was clean and accommodated family of 5 with children ranging from 5 to 13. Antonio and staff very friendly and helpful. Not much in way of cooking utensils but then there was a number of fantastic restaurants and pizza bars just outside door of B&B. Complimentary coffee and Italian pastry at Sali and Tabacchi was great and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Casa di Sara! Antonio was standing right outside when we walked up and directed us to the check in. The location cannot get any better. We walked everywhere! All of Rome's major sights are easily accessible on foot from Casa di Sara. We would set out for the day, and we were able to come right back to the room if we needed anything. Antonio suggested Ponte e Parione right around the corner for dinner. It was so incredible that we ate there every night!!! The street that the B&B is on is also very exciting and lively at night. Lots of fun restaurants and bars where locals and tourists are enjoying after-dinner drinks. If anyone ever asks my opinion for where to stay in Roma, I will only suggest Casa di Sara!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa di Sara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Sara B&B

Address: di Tor Millina 19 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,123 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed right in the ancient Tor Millina, a medieval tower built in XIII century just a few meters away piazza Navona, one of the most breathtaking views the eternal city can offer, you will enjoy the opportunity to feel at home in the most exclusive and fascinating area of the city where history, magic, religion, luxury and glamor meet all together to give you an unforgettable time in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa di Sara B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Sara Hotel Rome
Casa Di Sara Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Sara B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.