We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa di Sara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Sara B&B

Save Saved
You added Casa di Sara B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa di Sara B&B
di Tor Millina 19 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€99 (EUR)
Ranked #962 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Casa di Sara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were at this hotel in late April 2013. We lived in the tower on the second floor. No elevator, stairs are steep. The room is huge, but the hot water is 3 minutes. Antonio is very friendly and nice girl at the Reception (sorry do not know her name) is very kindly helped pick up our things. 50 meters from Piazza Navona close all the disadvantages. Recommended to all! Lovers in Rome! A couple of Russia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    52
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
82
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife, 23 yr old daughter and I arrived Friday night and were placed in a triple room facing the street in building #35. We knew we were in trouble when we came back from dinner and there was a mob of people partying outside in the street corner near our B & B. Despite windows closed and ear plugs, we were all awake at 2:50a (yes, I know the exact times). By 3:30a the people left but then the street cleaner came by and each time there was the sound of the truck and bottles being discarded. I counted 6 passes of the truck.

In the morning we were jet lagged, exhausted and frustrated. Antonio moved us to a triple room in the tower (#19) on the 2nd floor (3rd level). The room had plenty of space and was quiet enough for us to leave the windows open at night. Other than the occasional sea gull which came by before sun rise, there wasn’t much noise to deal with.

When we travel to Europe we look for a places to stay that are located in the heart of things, have some character and allow us to get out and walk. Casa Di Sara was perfect in those respects. I’ll trade having to carry luggage up stairs and a small shower for the lower prices than some boring 3 star hotel would charge.

And as far as being able to get out and walk, this area is great! We had so much fun exploring the streets around Piazza Navona, just getting lost, taking photos and sampling some of the bars and restaurants. Thanks Antonio for changing our room and making for a great vacation. We hope to be back!

Finds of the week: Our first night we met a man from Tucson who had just retired to the area and recommended a restaurant just north of Piazza Navona called Resteranti Lagana. Awesome food, all locals and super friendly owners (see my review, we ate there three times). Next a very small place called Bagettateria Del Fico that is easy to miss and just around the corner from Casa Di Sara. It is more of a sandwich and appetizer place with 150 beers. Could be the best sandwich and appetizer I ever had (also see my review). Third was Rome’s Pittsburg Steeler bar located a couple of doors from the B & B. Good place to kick back and talk with some other tourists.

Room Tip: inside tower much quieter than outside at #35 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrival at Casa di Sara was strange but the rest of the stay was good. The reception was in a different building nearby (no 35) and the manager, Antonio, was not to be found for a while - he was taking a break in a nearby bar (the waiters in the nearby restaurants helped us to find him. Once signed in we were shown to our apartment which was freshly painted and had all we needed (although a couple of extra blankets would have been good). Rome is noisy and this apartment overlooked a busy and narrow street - the sounds ascend into your room, and the Romans go to bed late. We kept the windows closed at night. Breakfast was included but this was at a nearby bar - coffee and a pastry/croisssant, which is OK if you like that sort of thing. Antonio was keen to help (once we'd found him again) and sorted out a taxi for our return to Fiumincino airport (45 Euros) on Easter Monday. If we stayed there again, I would use the kitchenette for making our own breakfast. Excellent location for everything and good fun on the Piazza Navona in the evenings.

Room Tip: This apartment overlooked the street. Take ear plugs in summer?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in at Casa di Sara for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. The tower is situated very close to Piazza Navona and is ideally positioned for walking to all of the main attractions in the city. It's only a 10 minute walk to the Pantheon or 25 to the Vatican for example. In fact we didn't take a taxi for the whole trip and walked to Trastevere, the ghetto and the villa Borghese.

Antonio was both friendly and very helpful. We'd forgotten the chargers for our phones and he couldn't have been more helpful in sorting a charger out of us extremely quickly. He was also very helpful in making sure we could store our bag somewhere after we'd checked out even though it was Easter Sunday.

The room is of a reasonable size with a small shower-room/toilet. It was all spotlessly clean. We had no concerns with noise from the outside world. We've stayed at a hotel in Rome before for a similar price and in nowhere near as good location and the standard at Casa di Sara was much better.

Included in the price was a breakfast of a cappuccino and a croissant. We used the cafe near to Antonio's reception as the coffee was fantastic.

We'd be happy to stay here again and hopefully one day we shall.

A couple of restaurant recommends: Capricci Siciliani about a 10 minute walk away and La Taverna degli Amici in the Ghetto were both very good and can both be found on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in early September. Antonio and Simone were very helpful hosts with plenty of recommendations and insight regarding the immediate area. The location is fantastic. We walked everywhere. The only cabs we took during our stay were to and from the airport. The one to the airport was arranged by Simone and we would recommend as it was cheaper than finding one on your own and the driver was great and friendly. We did not stay in the tower but at the apartment up the street. It was very nice. Lots of room with a good size bed, bathroom and shower. The room was well looked after daily as far as cleaning and fresh towels/linen etc. Lots of room to spread your stuff out. The air conditioner worked well. The small fridge was handy. WiFi was good in our room.
We would highly recommend a restaurant just up and around the corner called Da Francesco. We had dinner there 3 times. It was very good and very well priced, try the lamb and the cacio e pepe.
Again, this place is very well located as far as to visiting the important sites and attractions. Also for dining etc. There are several markets and general stores in the area where you can easily pick up snacks, beer/wine or what ever you may need. We felt very at home and comfortable in this B+B and its location.

Our one small complaint was that there was work being done on the exterior of the building we were in. It happened to be on the side that our room was on, so we did not have a window to look out. Scaffolding was set up and it was covered in a semi transparent wrap. Work started weekdays a 8am sharp. Simone was nice enough to give us a discount as we did not know about this prior to our arrival. This was in September 2012. It may no longer be an issue but may be worth asking about. (Again, we were not in the tower building but in another up the block)
If we return to Rome, we would not hesitate to stay here again and we would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bree, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have had a romantic stay in Casa di Sara. The guesthouse has a very good location, right in the city center of Rome, alongside the Piazza Navona. It was only a 10-minute walk to the Trevi fontain and the Pantheon, 20 minutes walking to the Forum Romanum and about 30 minutes to the Vatican. The owner is very friendly and the rooms are very nice. Breakfast is not available, but there are enough places where you can order breakfast. There is also a supermarket (Carrefour) nearby. I would really recommend the guesthouse, especially for its location. Take into account that there are some bars nearby which can cause a little bit of nighly noise. But with a good pair of earplugs you will sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Casa di Sara is in an excellent location, just a short 1 1/2 blocks to Piazza Navona and easy walking distance to many locations, including the Vatican and the Pantheon. There are many restaurant options and a small grocery diagonally across the street where we bought fresh fruit and such to have in our rooms. The building is obviously old which is cool and the rooms are very clean and functional, with new bathrooms which are quite nice. We had 5 rooms, with several overlooking the side-street - those rooms were very noisy from the bands playing at the bar across the way. The music ended each night by around 10:30 pm so did not continue late into the night but it was overwhelming in the room until then. The rooms come with vouchers for breakfast in one of two places nearby, one basically next door and the other on Piazza Navona - we preferred the latter as it includes juice and there was always ample room to sit and have breakfast. The taxi arranged through the hotel to take us to the airport was a problem though as it wasn't large enough to accommodate all of us, several of us walked with luggage to the taxi stand at the top of Piazza Navona to take our own taxi. The one arranged by the hotel dropped our friends at the wrong terminal, we had traded texts about where travelers bound for North America must check in but their driver shrugged and dumped them at the wrong place anyway. It was a big hassle as we had to cab between the terminals to manage the luggage onto the shuttle bus between terminals. All in all, Casa di Sara was fine for the convenience and the price money and if you are comfortable with a basic pensione.

Room Tip: The room at the front corner has sound-proof doors in front of the two sets of windows, so you canno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa di Sara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Sara B&B

Address: di Tor Millina 19 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #962 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed right in the ancient Tor Millina, a medieval tower built in XIII century just a few meters away piazza Navona, one of the most breathtaking views the eternal city can offer, you will enjoy the opportunity to feel at home in the most exclusive and fascinating area of the city where history, magic, religion, luxury and glamor meet all together to give you an unforgettable time in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa di Sara B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Sara Bed And Breakfast
Casa Di Sara Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Sara B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.