We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet street, busy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria al 19

Trattoria al 19
Via del Boschetto, 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 4826096
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,424 of 8,316 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quiet street, busy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Artorius on this street and went to 4 restaurants on the block. This was one of the best. We walked in without a reservation at 9:00 on a Sunday night but they seate us quickly. The service was a little slow but there seemed to be only one wautress and she was run off her feet, but we weren't in a rush. The menu was a little different. We shared an appetizer plate of rolled eggplant, what looked like a tamale and smoked salmon rolled around buffalo cheese which was very good. My husband had the spagghetti and I had the carbonara which were both excellent. The house wine was good as well. Of the 4 restaurants we went too on the block this was one of the most reasonable and the food was great. There were lots of locals. I would certainly return but I would reserve and go a little earlier next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    16
    13
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretentious, not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a pretentious restaurant, which does not deliver. Service is good but the quality of the food is just average. And it's also way over priced: nine euro for a plate of grilled vegetables is really too much. We had visited the restaurant about five months ago and we noticed a marked decline in quality and an increase in price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate here on our first evening in Rome and it was a wonderful start to the holiday. The facade is open and welcoming, and the waitress was great - very friendly. There were many things we would have liked to order, but loved the choices that we made. The food was fresh, delicious and was served very quickly. The ambiance was great, a good mix of tourists and locals. This wasn't fine dining, but was excellent Roman specialties. The wine that the waitress recommended was delicious and great value. If this was our local neighbourhood restaurant. we'd definitely be regulars.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meat dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

A cosy restaurant in a quiet street! We dined here the first evening in Rome and it was a place we will come back to! The meat dishes were perfect! Cosy atmosphere and nice waiter!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience, slow and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just arrived in Monti area, I went with a friend to 19 Al thinking the cute façade would represent a nice culinary experience in Rome. How wrong! We waited almost 45min (!) for a plate of passable meat (for me) and almost raw veal that my friend who was not able to finish. The side dish (artichoke…and I mean one piece) was outrageously charged 6,00Euro. The comic part arrived when we had to wait for the owner to pay the bill as he was outside…in another restaurant…guess we will do the same next time…we will pick another one!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trattoria al 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria al 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.