We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good service and well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria al 19

Trattoria al 19
Via del Boschetto, 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 4826096
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,268 of 8,403 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Nice food, good service and well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here on our first night in Rome. We had a simple but lovely buffalo mozzarella with tomatoes for a starter followed by a couple of pasta dishes. Both were typical roman pasta dishes and recommended by the helpful waiter. Again very simple but very good! Wine was good, order a local dry white and were not disappointed. My husband had pears honey and goats cheese for dessert and was blown away by it. Simple, basic food done nicely! The bill was very good. We came away happy customers and will return before we leave.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    17
    15
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

As an Italian American, I have had a lot of good italian food at home and in restaurants in NYC but this place had some of the best pasta dishes I have ever tasted. The Bucatini all'Amatriciana was the best I have ever had and the guanicale in it was pure bliss. The pasta cacio e pepe was enough reason for me to want to go back to Rome, exceptional. They use fresh pasta for both dish. Out of 7 nights we ate there 4 times because the food was just wonderful. So disappointed the Tuesday night that they were closed. The pastiera dessert a speciality of Naples was almost as good as my own recipe. Do yourself a favor if your in Rome stop there for some of the best pasta you are ever likely to taste.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very lovely local trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very nice local trattoria, food was nicely prepared they were trying some new menu ideas and really interested in feedback. They also own the little trattoria next door so often went back and forth to get coffee. Wine list is extensive but bit pricey was offered a new wine item , chianti which was quite drinkable. Would go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An odd experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

This place looks lovely and the food is OK, though I wouldn't say it was outstanding. We went on a Sunday evening, so that may have been the problem. There weren't many people in and as the tables for two are very close to their neighbours we chose one near the door. There weren't many customers going in and out but the staff went in and out all the time! Sometimes, they just went outside to smoke and also there must be some sort of storage area nearby as people came in with food every so often. We felt the wine list was expensive and we weren't very thrilled with the one we chose.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Trattoria, outstanding food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I had dinner at Trattoria al 19 last week and it was one of the best meals we had in Rome. Their menu is not traditional Roman-- it's heavily Mediterranean, big on fish and seafood-- so this is not the place if you're looking for carbonara, saltimbocca, etc. But my girlfriend and I both got amazing pasta dishes (mine with mussels, which were divine) and the menu has enough variety to please anybody. The swordfish carpaccio was excellent and our pepper involtini were wonderful. We finished things off with the chocolate almond torta, which was delicious. Our server, Giuseppe, was very friendly, helpful, and passionate about the menu. He also recommended two outstanding digestifs for us. All in all, I recommend this to anybody looking for a great meal in Rome.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria al 19 also viewed

 
Frascati, Province of Rome
 

Been to Trattoria al 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria al 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.