We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price at all!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolis Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
manila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the price at all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 5nights.

1 star is given because all the staff were friendly ---- expect one guy who just made our stay awful. The rudest we've encountered in Italy! Christiano the receptionist! He slammed the phone on us 3x in the middle of a phone conversation. Awfully rude! 1st night we wanted to upgrade our room because it was just WAY too small. He said all the beds in the ENTIRE hotel are all same double size ---and this is standard in Italy as he emphasized rudely & hung up. Only to find out the next day by the lovely lady Flora that there are indeed king size beds in the hotel but they're just fully-booked. 2nd night we asked a few questions and he slammed the phone on us once again.

Location: not convenient if you want to have access to Spanish Steps the shopping area or the restaurant areas or the coliseum. Closest attraction would be the Vatican 20mins away by foot. We took a cab most days.

Food: we had dinner at the restau but the food was not good at all. Price as well same as if you would eat outside in a decent Italian restau but Breakfast was okay.

Room: standard rooms were SOOOOO tiny, and the toilets you could barely move around.

Cancelled our last night & moved to a very decent new hotel in Termini Station area who's service is excellent so far!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    185
    53
    14
    18
See reviews for
65
203
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Metropolis for 2 nights on a trip to Rome we were gifted by a company I have done business with. They paid for it all and we probably wouldn't have paid 150 Euros a night to stay there and that was perhaps slightly pricey but overall it was a very good hotel.

The room was very nice and modern and perfectly clean, only complaint was that it was on the small side but we pretty much only slept there and it was big enough for the short time we were there. What I really liked was how dark the room was on a night which made it very easy to drift in to a deep sleep and the first night I has the best nights sleep I have had for a long time!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the free wifi worked but only seemed to allow one connection at a time so we couldn't both check emails on our phones at the same time. Breakfast was good and there was a decent selection available.

The only complaint really was the limited selection on the room service menu. After a long day doing 6 hours worth of tours around the Vatican and the Colosseum in near 30C temperatures we were looking forward to relaxing in our room and ordering room service. However, we only had a few dishes to choose from and nothing caught our eye.

We therefore decided to go down to the restaurant where there would be a greater selection. However, as they had a big coach party in the restaurant was full. In the end it worked out for the best as we found a good restaurant just around the corner.

The location of the hotel is fairly good. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Metro and trams run right outside of it. It is also within walking distance of the Vatican (about a 10-15 min walk). It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet but still near enough so you are not isolated.

Overall a good hotel that we would happily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed in the hotel 11th - 14th May 2012 - Great hotel, history and modern amenities in perfect harmony. Close to Lepanto metro, but everything in Rome can be walked to/from. Nice to return to this quieter area after a day of tourists! Breakfast perfect for us, buffet with a bit of everything. Self Service coffee available, but in case they don't offer it, the staff can make you a cappucino or coffee (what we know as espresso) if requested. Two minor issues, lack of storage space in twin bedroom and the frosed glass wall of the bathroom means that anyone using the bathroom in the night, switching the light on, means that the other guest is disturbed. That said, we slept so soundly, not a big issue. We found the staff to be helpful, friendly and courteous, one man on the desk can seem surly, but persevere, he is really very helpful, just doesn't show on his face. Lastly, if that charming and gracious young man who met two mad englishwomen in the lift on 13th and 14th May 2012 reads this, we are so sorry for our giggles - I wish I could have composed myself enough to speak to you and explain that we really are ok! Anna

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Since it was a new hotel, I liked the cleanliness and fresh elements used at the hotel. My room was a bit small but I enjoyed the bathroom and balcony much. The breakfast was Ok with different type of omlet, meat and fruit. I liked the room service most; it was accurate and on time. The lobby could have been bigger but I liked the hospitable atmosphere. For the price of the hotel for one night, it was reasonable to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose with big room and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Good hotel on a quiet street. Very close to metro station Lepando (3 minutes) and near to Vatican City (12 minutes). Away from ordes of tourists but close to many monuments either on feet or by metro. Modern decorated room, small (even the triple) for a family with a child, but clean. Adequate breakfast, with a variety of sweets, snaks, coffees and juices (not natural). Polite staff, but not so helpful as I wanted. Lack of maps and helpful information and brochures in the front desk and in the room. There wasn't late check out and that was a burden for us, as our flight was scheduled for 20.00'. Anyway, 240 Euros per night, (B/B) even for this 4star hotel, is a high price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Metropolis Hotel in Rome.

it's about 18 months old, so everything is still new and fresh. We were very comfortable in the hotel. It has a great bed, and a clean, modern bathroom.

The free wifi was very temperamental, and gave lots of hassles, but we managed to get through from time to time. That was the only negative of our stay.

The hotel breakfast was pretty good. A wide variey from yoghurt and fruit to eggs and bacon. We enjoyed having something different to the usual European breakfast of pastries / cold meat / cheese only.

It's a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station, Lepanto, which makes it convenient for getting around, and about 20 mins walk from the Vatican (although you can catch the underground to a slightly closer stop).

Getting there from the Termini station took us about 45 minutes in total, once we had walked through the termini station from where the trains are. That was a little unexpected, but very manageable. If you're not up for walking with your bags, then better to take a taxi.

I would recommend this hotel.

One word of caution: be very very careful when choosing where to eat. Get a recommendation from someone. We didn't have one nice meal in Italy. Most restaurants are tourist traps, poor quality, very expensive and generally awful. We also managed to get food poisoning from a pizza at one of those "self service" joints. Stay well clear of them!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in did not look like the one in the photo. It was stylish and clean, but very sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Metropolis for our honeymoon and we were unimpressed. The internet did not work in our work (which is how we usually choose our restaurants) and the staff was unapologetic and not very helpful.

The hotel is also not located near any of the main points of interest in Rome nor does it have any good restaurants in the vicinity. We ended up eating at the hotel's restaurant one night, after a long day of walking--the food was good (all the food we had in Italy was) but not particularly amazing. We would have preferred to be closer to the main sites for what we paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Hotel

Address: Via delle Milizie, 26, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropolis, pearl of the hospitality in Rome’s city center, stands out for its original and modern design, complemented by an elegant and familiar atmosphere, which makes pleasant your stay in the Eternal CityA few minutes walking distance from Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica, Hotel Metropolis is ideally located to quickly get the main attractions of the city, without renouncing to the tranquility of the location.Very close to Lepanto subway station, the hotel is well connected with the city area of interest, the most important monuments, museums, shopping streets and the main railway station, Termini.The hotel offers comfortable rooms of several categories to meet the liking and needs of a varied and dynamic clientele. Each room is equipped with bathroom, with shower or bathtub, hairdryer, safe-box, courtesy kit.Among other amenities, Hotel Metropolis is completed by the presence of an inside Bar and Restaurant, where you can delight your taste with creative cocktails and Italian dishes of the finest quality and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Metropolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.