We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Otello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Otello to your Saves list
Locanda Otello
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 13, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #870 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Within 100 metres of the central transport hub of Rome. You can't get any more convenient than that

However, the Locanda is easy to miss, even when you've looked it up on Google street view. The entranceway is actually shared by 4 other micro hotels on the same building. The Locando is situated on the 4th piano (floor). Take the 3 person lift (seriously) if you have luggage or just need a rest from the heat. Turn right out of the elevator, you'll see the sign on the door.

The Hotel appears to be a family affair and the family live at the rear. We never saw them apart from a smile and a greeting in passing. Their fluffy black cat is always to be found on the registration desk and is very affectionate.

The rooms and toilet/shower areas are spotlessly clean. The family must have shares in a bleach company. The rooms have their own hand basin and soap dispensers. The shower and toilet facilities are shared, meaning you don't have your own private setup. The shower cubicles are small but manageable. The rooms are not air conditioned but good airflow is achieved with the electric fan provided.

Our room fronted the street and was a good size. Good circulation of air was achieved with the shutters open and, although the temperature was 28 degrees C outside, the hotel room never seemed oppressive.

There is a secondary set of aluminium shutters installed which will block out the street noise but in doing so you loose some of the atmosphere of Rome, including the random bell ringing one morning from a church somewhere nearby.

Good for a couple of nights for the adult traveller at a good rate at an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is 50m from Roma termini and the metro. Our room was spacious, clean and the two shared bathrooms ( which were right outside our door) were more than adequate between 5 or so rooms. The bed was comfortable and sheets very clean.

Although the owners didn't speak English, they were friendly and accommodating.

The free wifi was fast and reliable.

For what we payed (given this is a one star hotel) we had a great stay. Would recommend to others.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Rome's Locando Otello hotel, a very basic, budget, family-owned hotel a short block's walk from Station Termini. It was easy to locate and perfect for our needs, meeting all our expectations as a clean, quiet, simple room to nap after our overnight flight, store our luggage while we headed out for the rest of the day and into the night to explore Rome on foot and, when tired, by public transportation, and then to get a good night's sleep before leaving the following morning by train to meet our cruise ship in Civitavecchia.

The sweet little grandmother who checked us in was not fluent in English, but she charged us exactly what we expected (a price that allowed us to have plenty left for souvenirs and great memories from our day in the city), and her English-speaking helper directed us down one flight to our room. We booked directly through their website (I googled it online), and were able to save a few euros by doing so.

All in all, it was a very positive experience and we will definitely repeat our stay there the next time we are in Rome. (Of course, our rating was based on our expectations - we didn't expect a 4-star hotel, but we definitely didn't pay for one either since we weren't in the room long enough to justify that kind of expense~!! :)

Room Tip: Location is very important in Rome, and this hotel was in a great location an easy 3-minute walk fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The strongest point are very nice location - 10 steps from Termini station, cafe, bar, liquor store, metro and so on. No one did disturb me. Fast and permanent Wi-Fi connection, fridge and it`s clean always really! There`s only 1 drawback - the owner doesn`t know English( But anyway, I am very happy that i stayed there!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel its 30 meters from Termini i had a doble room for me And i paid single.
A good place to stay if your travel its short

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

A few steps from Roma Termini train station which is in the centre of the City, so we can visit everything by foot. The room are good only for sleeping. During the night some dubious guys were on the street but there wasn't any problem

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The best thing about this place was how close it was to the Termini, less than a minutes walk. lots of restaurants and attractions in walking distance.
Place itself is nothing fancy, the whole place had a musty smell about it. Small bed rooms, small bathrooms.

If you just want a place to sleep and if you're not too fussy, this is the place for you. It is economical, well located and easy to travel to and from. We only stayed here 2 nights, so it was OK, wouldn't recommend it you need to stay longer than 2 nights!
It was run by the cutest little couple, they were really really old and the husband seemed to be doing most of the cleaning, they are wonderful, but do not speak much English.

There seemed to be a much better looking Hotel on the 2nd floor of the same building, cant remember the name though...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Otello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Otello

Address: Via Marghera 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #870 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Otello 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Otello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Otello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.