We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara

Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara
Largo dei Librari, 88, Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
06.6864018
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,449 of 8,545 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Tisvildeleje, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

One evening when I didn’t feel like eating a lot, I stood in line outside Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara and six minutes later was shown to my table. I ordered only one filetto di baccalá, puntarelle condite, water and white wine and I was in heaven. I noticed that there were a lot of tourists form other parts of Italy who clearly were enjoying the food. So much so, that many of them kept on ordering more and more baccalá. Impressive!

Next time I’m in Rome, I’ll be waiting in line again for another baccalá fix, that’s for sure. And puntarelle, too. And next time, I’ll go when I’m hungry!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    157
    64
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Fried Fish!...and try the punterelle.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

There is really only one item on the menu here, the fried fish fillet. but it's very good. You're guaranteed to get it hot because the place is full from opening time on. The fish doesn't sit for long.

There's almost always a lineup. It's a small space, crowded, and the service is fast because they want to get you in and out quickly. Don't expect a long leisurely meal.

If you're there at the right time of year, winter and spring, the Punterelle alla Romana is a great side dish. It's a salad of bitter greens, a kind of chicory, with an anchovy dressing.

We tried the house wine once and wouldn't again. Beer is a much better choice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fish without the Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I admit, my husband is mad for fish and chips. When we go to London he will have that every single night.
In Rome, this small place near the Campo, is famous for it's rendition of deep fried Bacala.
The fish is great, the service is sometimes abrupt, the side dishes are okay.
My husband loves the anchovies, bread and butter, like that fried fish isn't enough fish for him. And I do like the Puntarella in season.
But somehow..for me..I need those fries so the experience is just missing something for me.
That's entirely subjective though (and really ..how much fried stuff do I need?)

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivebridge, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gourmet comfort food - deep fried fillet of cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara is next to the Campo Di Fioro piazza; opens at 6pm. the menu is simple, but the food is delicious.
we sat down to eat, but the locals would walk in, go straight to the kitchen and ask the chef for a fillet to go (Una filetti di baccala porta via, per favore!). Let me tell you - once you try the fillet, the cravings for more are guaranteed! it is a generous size fillet, crispy on the outside and moist, juicy on the inside, perfectly seasoned as well - no need for vinegar there.
add to that perfect bread, arugula salad and you are set! their marinated mushroom medley was great - just a tad sweet and sour, not too salty.
as in all Italian restaurants, sitting down to eat is more expensive. So, if you want the experience without the added cost, just ask for a filet to go. but sitting outside, in the tiny piazza in front of the restaurant and the curch of Santa Barbara is fun too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Filettaro a Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.