We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meatballs but pasta was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clemente Alla Maddalena

Clemente Alla Maddalena
Piazza Della Maddalena 4, Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,869 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great meatballs but pasta was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Quaint little place with great meatballs and very accommodating staff. But the pasta was not that great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    62
    33
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I would definately come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

People treat you very well and bring you anything you want, even if it is not on their menu. And, what is the best, everything is delicious. They made us a salad the way we wanted to eat and everything was delicious. The pasta is incredible too. And the piazza is very charming. Srongly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was OK, but we are not going to miss it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The restaurant is right accross the beautiful facade of La Maddalena but unless you sit outside this is irrelevent. The general ambiance is casual chic and cozy. Our dinner started with a very tasty plate of veal cheeks cooked to perfection. Yet other dishes we ordered were quite plain, almost tasteless, with no special touch: Lamb shank, grilled fettucini, spagetti with fish eggs and gnocci.
Presentation of plates are much nicer compared to other restaurants: Dishes are nicely set on various tasteful white porcelain. The service is typical Italian style - don't expect much of it.
Finally the bill: 5 entrees, 2 desserts, 1 bottle of wine, 1 bottle of sparkling water, no coffee: 250 euros.
It was OK but we are not going to miss it...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a four-course lunch here and every dish that we had was fantastic! The service was excellent and location was ideal for people-watching. I will definitely return here if I am ever in Rome again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

we didn't listen to the negative reviews, instead taking the recommendation fron our hotel's concierge. We had a superlative meal with outstanding food and attentive yet unobtrusive service.

Let's start by saying that NO restaurant is cheap in Rome, at least by American standards, but we believe that pn vacation a great meal is (or should be) worth every penny. Our was by far.

We had the 5-course tasting menu and it was fabulous. Even though dessert is not included, with a bottle of wine, sparkling water, and coffee the quality of the food and service was absolutely worth the price.

I won't detail our food, as I'm sure the menu changes. Suffice it to say that the food was hot, delicious, and well presented; perfect in every way.

Clemente Alla Maddelena was one of the best meals we enjoyed in Rome. Don't listen to the naysayers and decide fir yourself. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clemente Alla Maddalena also viewed

 

Been to Clemente Alla Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemente Alla Maddalena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.