We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location for Rome - traditional, luxury, comfort - 10/10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Maddalena

Save Saved
You added Relais Maddalena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 2,676 Rome B&B and Inns
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“perfect location for Rome - traditional, luxury, comfort - 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

just back from 5 nights here - chose for location. asked for a particular room we saw on here and Francesco the owner emailed to say no problem. we were given a lovely fresh flowers gift as was for our wedding anniversary. we stayed in the George Sand room. breakfast was lovely, room huge and massive very comfortable bed. wonderful modern bathroom. cannot say enough how perfect the location was. 10/10 for everything although my husband would have liked a kettle in the room for a cup of tea at night. It is perfect mix of tradition and luxury in one. the owner and staff were wonderful and so helpful. loved every minute of it and could not fault this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear friends, thank you for your gracious comments and appreciation. Your opinion is important to help us improve our service and I will definitely start thinking about placinfg a kettle in each room soon. I hope to see you again soon!
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
109
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay and the Relais Maddalena had very few reviews so we were unsure. The pictures were lovely so we thought we'd take a chance. We were very happy with our decision! Francesco was working on getting a breakfast set up and it looks like he has that now but, you know what? Go get out in the city and get breakfast if you are not into what they have at the hotel... It's ROME! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Hello there, and thank you very much for your review! Perhaps you have been here sometime last summer, because we started serving breakfast in September 2010. As you pointed out, back then I was setting up the service. Now we serve a buffet breakfast every morning from 8.00 to 10.00 (Saturdays and Sundays from 8.00 to 10.30). You 'd love to try it, so you are invited to come back!
Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishinev
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

A beautiful hotel in a great location. Located in the heart of the historic part of Rome near the Pantheon in the old building. The hotel interior is a perfect blend of old style and modern comfort. Rooms are decorated with great taste, thought all the details for the convenience of guests. Toiletries, shaving kits, slippers, even a sponge for shoes, great beds and bedding. Breakfast - a buffet with a large range. Also been granted online high quality. Good windows provide a restful sleep. The view from the windows of a marvelous, the historic little square and basilica. Around a lot of restaurants and shops. We travel a lot around Europe, and with confidence can tell, that R. Maddalena deserves the highest rating. Bravo Francesco! Atypical for Europe, spacious rooms and a large comfortable bathroom with beautiful fixtures. Usually remembers seen the city and attractions, not the hotel, but P. Maddalena, we remember with pleasure, because we were there so nice and comfortable! Many thanks to Francesco, he is a true professional in his business.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
Dear, I remember your stay here with great pleasure and I am grateful for your kind appreciation. Hopefully you will both come visit us again soon! Sincerely, Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This new,small 6 room hotel is on a small piazza just north of the Pantheon. The location couldn't be better and the owner, Francesco, couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. Lovely modern rooms with all the amenities. Very quiet....which can be hard to find in the old part of the city! We really loved it and also suggest you try the gelato place, San Crispino, just outside the door!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinadiBelgiojoso, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments, and thank you again for choosing Relais Maddalena for your stay in Rome. My Best Wishes!
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Tirso
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is the perfect hotel to visit rome! Very central near the pantheon in a piazza full of restaurants. The hotel has 6 rooms and 4 persons working on it! Of course if you like big hotels don´t stay here! This hotel is lije to be at home but in ROME! We even have to walk with the key of the building! very friendly staff, Francesco the owener was supperb! the rooms are big and so are the bathrooms. Very clean and well decorated.
If you want to come to rome and walk all the time this is the better place to stay every main attraction are 20 min on foot maximum!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinadiBelgiojoso, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Dear Hugo, thank you for your kind comment, it was a real pleasure to have you here and I am pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy at best a trip that was so carefully thought out. I hope to see you again soon. Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I am completing a two-week stay in Roma, where I have taken language classes. As a woman traveling solo, I could not have been happier with my stay at Relais Maddalena. The rooms are modernized, immaculately clean, I had good internet speed, and the windows seem to be sound-proofed-- noise was not a problem.The location is fantastic, just steps from the the Pantheon and a short walk to the Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona. There is a taxi zone adjacent to the Pantheon, so it is extremely easy to obtain a cab when necessary. As a female solo traveler, I felt completely safe during my stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinadiBelgiojoso, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your comments and appreciation, they encourage us to keep up! Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Relais Maddalena is simple awesome. The location is perfect; you can walk everywhere. We didn't use public transportation once. The rooms are big, with some rustic furniture but still very modern. The beds are comfortable and the windows are totally sound proof. There is also a little square close by: Piazza Capelle. It's a block out. The restaurants (Casa Copelle, Hosteria da Mario) and bar in this square are the best we had in Italy. I highly recommand this hotel. I wasn't sure when I booked it since there is not a lot of reviews on it yet but don't hesitate, you'll be happy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinadiBelgiojoso, Direttore at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your graceful comments, perhaps one day there will be the chance for you to spend a longer vacation in Rome, and then we will be glad to assist you in the full planning. Ciao! Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 2,676 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Maddalena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.