We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Maddalena to your Saves list
Relais Maddalena
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 3,081 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon, India
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

It is a very nice, charming and cosy place situated in the midst of all touristy places, pantheon is next door and Piazza Navona and Trevi fountain about 2 minutes away... Its situated in the Maddalena square which has a number of nice restaurants. There are many artist who come and play so you can hear live music in your room! In case you do not want to, there are sound proof windows.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and towels smell fresh, the bathroom was spacious and excellent. Above all, Francesco, owner of the place is a true gentleman and very helpful. He provided a detailed map to us and chalked out certain routes such that we could cover all major sites. He owns a gelato shop just under the hotel and I have to admit it was the best gelato I had in Rome and Venice put together. I recommend strawberry flavor!

All in all, a wonderful place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    28
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
125
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annahilt
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last weekend, and I am a bit surprised to see so many glowing reviews. The place is basically six very nice rooms in an old building, with an additional breakfast room. We were welcomed well enough and the rooms are big for European rooms, but smaller than US rooms. But it has a guest house feel about it, and no central hub or bar. The breakfast was fruit cereal tea and coffee. no hot food was offered. One morning we arrived and there was no fruit left out, no juice in the jugs and none of the six tables was cleared. But it is a very central location and Rome was great, maybe the owner was just away after our first check-in.

Room Tip: Use it if you value the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

A very very beautiful hotel with a great location in the midle of Rome. From our window we looked directly on the Pantheon. The hotel interior is very nice with a beautiful and warm atmosphere. Rooms are big and nicely decorated.
Breakfast - a buffet with good food and a friendly and warm staff. Around a lot of restaurants and shops. We do travel a lot in Europe, and with confidence we can join all other that clearly states that R. Maddalena deserves the highest rating. Thank you Francesco, thank yoy for the warm welcome, the nice talks we had and also for giving us the possibility of staying at your hotel.
We strongly recommend this hotel and be sure - we will come back to Rome and this hotel. We also intend to bring friend and other family members. To give you an idea of the location (walking) : 1 min to Pantheon, 15 min to Vatikan City, 20 min to Colloseum, 7 min to town hall and Trevi + a number of other beautiful buildings.
Me and my wife had a time we will never forget.

Tor and Fadumo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is a little gem right in the middle of Rome. It is just one block back from the Pantheon so it is away from the chaos but so quiet (windows are sound-proofed) and close to everything. All of the sites are in walking distance. The room itself is big, immaculate and the beds are super comfortable. The bathroom is also large with a fantastic shower!! It really does look like the photographs. The owner Francesco was very kind and helpful. He also owns the ice-cream shop on the corner- I recommned the caramel meringue flavour. Would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The Relais Maddalena is situated overlooking a nice little piazza (and a stunning church, be sure ti go inside; it's amazing!) mere minutes from popular sites like the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and countless shops and restaurants. This boutique hotel is nicely decorated, well appointed and spacious. The proprietor, as others have mentioned, is a helpful and friendly gentleman who was happy to speak with us at length about the surrounding area. Even though we are seasoned tourists and have been to Rome several times, the pearls of local knowledge he shared with us helped to make this trip truly memorable.

The Relais Maddalena is very nice and I was happy to give it high marks but be aware, the outdoor terraces of the restaurants immediately below are quite noisy until late in the evenings which is to be expected. It was, however, a bit of a surprise that they are also noisy early in the morning. Beginning at about 7 a.m., the small piazza fills with trucks and service vehicles to supply the restaurants and the restaurants begin resetting their tables and chairs for the coming day. This isn't huge if you are an early bird who likes to get the most out of you holiday but if you plan on sleeping until half ten, ear plugs would be handy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

just back from 5 nights here - chose for location. asked for a particular room we saw on here and Francesco the owner emailed to say no problem. we were given a lovely fresh flowers gift as was for our wedding anniversary. we stayed in the George Sand room. breakfast was lovely, room huge and massive very comfortable bed. wonderful modern bathroom. cannot say enough how perfect the location was. 10/10 for everything although my husband would have liked a kettle in the room for a cup of tea at night. It is perfect mix of tradition and luxury in one. the owner and staff were wonderful and so helpful. loved every minute of it and could not fault this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay and the Relais Maddalena had very few reviews so we were unsure. The pictures were lovely so we thought we'd take a chance. We were very happy with our decision! Francesco was working on getting a breakfast set up and it looks like he has that now but, you know what? Go get out in the city and get breakfast if you are not into what they have at the hotel... It's ROME! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 3,081 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Maddalena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.