We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Maddalena

Save Saved
You added Relais Maddalena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, India
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

It is a very nice, charming and cosy place situated in the midst of all touristy places, pantheon is next door and Piazza Navona and Trevi fountain about 2 minutes away... Its situated in the Maddalena square which has a number of nice restaurants. There are many artist who come and play so you can hear live music in your room! In case you do not want to, there are sound proof windows.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and towels smell fresh, the bathroom was spacious and excellent. Above all, Francesco, owner of the place is a true gentleman and very helpful. He provided a detailed map to us and chalked out certain routes such that we could cover all major sites. He owns a gelato shop just under the hotel and I have to admit it was the best gelato I had in Rome and Venice put together. I recommend strawberry flavor!

All in all, a wonderful place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Dear Gurgaon,
thank you for your comments and recommendation, It was very nice meeting you and getting to know a little bit of you while you were here with us, exchanging ideas and having nice conversations togetther. Besides that, having you as our guests for this special occasion of yours made us feel even more honoured. Please let me extend you our best wishes of a wonderful life also on behalf of all my staff. A big Ciao!
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
109
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annahilt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last weekend, and I am a bit surprised to see so many glowing reviews. The place is basically six very nice rooms in an old building, with an additional breakfast room. We were welcomed well enough and the rooms are big for European rooms, but smaller than US rooms. But it has a guest house feel about it, and no central hub or bar. The breakfast was fruit cereal tea and coffee. no hot food was offered. One morning we arrived and there was no fruit left out, no juice in the jugs and none of the six tables was cleared. But it is a very central location and Rome was great, maybe the owner was just away after our first check-in.

Room Tip: Use it if you value the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear DavidCAnnahilt ,
thank you very much for your recommendation on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience.
First, I am very sorry to learn about your mishap last Monday, please accept my apologies.
Regarding your comments on the food, I must point out that we actually offer a nice decent breakfast, in spite of the small room.
In fact, our standard buffet breakfast always includes all, or almost all of the following:
Hot beverages: tea, espresso, american coffee, decaffeinated coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, barley, milk
Cold beverages: Fruit juices, milk... water
A mixed selection of freshly sliced Italian hams, among which: prosciutto di parma, prosciutto cotto, prosciutto arrosto, tacchino, salame
A selection of Italian cheeses, among which: asiago, emmenthal (actually form Switzerland), caciottine di Urbino, Pienza, sarda, Marzolino, pecorino,
Hot baked croissants
A selection of bread that you can also toast and butter
Assortment of cereals, marmalades (including honey and nutella) and yogurths
An assortment of fresh fruit, depending on the season
A special cake: in this period we serve Easter cakes and we will strive to offer our guests Easter chocolate eggs in the next weeks.
All the above is served on a daily basis and you can take anything you want from the buffet.
We do not offer hot food, such as eggs and bacon, ... or lasagna, because we are not allowed by law at the present time.
It would be the case to remember that the typical Italian breakfast consists usually of an espresso or cappuccino and a croissant. We are not always lucky in such efforts.
Being our guests mostly foreigners we are trying to cope with many different cultures and have widened the choice of food.
I am aware that we can not always be lucky in our efforts to please.
Hoping that you enjoyied a pleasant stay and that you will consider us for yuor next trip to Rome, I send you my warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

A very very beautiful hotel with a great location in the midle of Rome. From our window we looked directly on the Pantheon. The hotel interior is very nice with a beautiful and warm atmosphere. Rooms are big and nicely decorated.
Breakfast - a buffet with good food and a friendly and warm staff. Around a lot of restaurants and shops. We do travel a lot in Europe, and with confidence we can join all other that clearly states that R. Maddalena deserves the highest rating. Thank you Francesco, thank yoy for the warm welcome, the nice talks we had and also for giving us the possibility of staying at your hotel.
We strongly recommend this hotel and be sure - we will come back to Rome and this hotel. We also intend to bring friend and other family members. To give you an idea of the location (walking) : 1 min to Pantheon, 15 min to Vatikan City, 20 min to Colloseum, 7 min to town hall and Trevi + a number of other beautiful buildings.
Me and my wife had a time we will never forget.

Tor and Fadumo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Will always remember you! :-)
Dear Tor and Fadumo, thank you for your comments, it was very nice meeting you!
I wish all the best to you and your Family!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is a little gem right in the middle of Rome. It is just one block back from the Pantheon so it is away from the chaos but so quiet (windows are sound-proofed) and close to everything. All of the sites are in walking distance. The room itself is big, immaculate and the beds are super comfortable. The bathroom is also large with a fantastic shower!! It really does look like the photographs. The owner Francesco was very kind and helpful. He also owns the ice-cream shop on the corner- I recommned the caramel meringue flavour. Would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thank you for your gentle comments and recommendation, I was pleased to meet you and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The Relais Maddalena is situated overlooking a nice little piazza (and a stunning church, be sure ti go inside; it's amazing!) mere minutes from popular sites like the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and countless shops and restaurants. This boutique hotel is nicely decorated, well appointed and spacious. The proprietor, as others have mentioned, is a helpful and friendly gentleman who was happy to speak with us at length about the surrounding area. Even though we are seasoned tourists and have been to Rome several times, the pearls of local knowledge he shared with us helped to make this trip truly memorable.

The Relais Maddalena is very nice and I was happy to give it high marks but be aware, the outdoor terraces of the restaurants immediately below are quite noisy until late in the evenings which is to be expected. It was, however, a bit of a surprise that they are also noisy early in the morning. Beginning at about 7 a.m., the small piazza fills with trucks and service vehicles to supply the restaurants and the restaurants begin resetting their tables and chairs for the coming day. This isn't huge if you are an early bird who likes to get the most out of you holiday but if you plan on sleeping until half ten, ear plugs would be handy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation and for your nice comments on Tripadvisor! I am happy to learn that you liked staying here with us and that you enjoyed your short visit to Rome. Your description of the noise from the piazza was fair, and I am very sorry to read that you were disturbed in the morning. All the windows on the piazza have good soundproof windows that most people find efficient against the street noise, but I am afraid this cannot be valid for everybody, and of course sleeping with the windows open will void their action.
Also, one major drawback if you sleep until half past ten is that... you will miss the breakfast! :-))

PS: thanks a lot for the pictures you posted, the first one you posted from the wardrobe's corner is terrific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

just back from 5 nights here - chose for location. asked for a particular room we saw on here and Francesco the owner emailed to say no problem. we were given a lovely fresh flowers gift as was for our wedding anniversary. we stayed in the George Sand room. breakfast was lovely, room huge and massive very comfortable bed. wonderful modern bathroom. cannot say enough how perfect the location was. 10/10 for everything although my husband would have liked a kettle in the room for a cup of tea at night. It is perfect mix of tradition and luxury in one. the owner and staff were wonderful and so helpful. loved every minute of it and could not fault this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear friends, thank you for your gracious comments and appreciation. Your opinion is important to help us improve our service and I will definitely start thinking about placinfg a kettle in each room soon. I hope to see you again soon!
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay and the Relais Maddalena had very few reviews so we were unsure. The pictures were lovely so we thought we'd take a chance. We were very happy with our decision! Francesco was working on getting a breakfast set up and it looks like he has that now but, you know what? Go get out in the city and get breakfast if you are not into what they have at the hotel... It's ROME! We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivulzio, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Hello there, and thank you very much for your review! Perhaps you have been here sometime last summer, because we started serving breakfast in September 2010. As you pointed out, back then I was setting up the service. Now we serve a buffet breakfast every morning from 8.00 to 10.00 (Saturdays and Sundays from 8.00 to 10.30). You 'd love to try it, so you are invited to come back!
Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Address: Piazza della Maddalena, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Maddalena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.