We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, simple and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Paolo

Da Paolo
Via Santamaura, 1, 00192 Rome, Italy
06.39723889
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,333 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Good, simple and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

After 5h vatican tour one thing you need is chair, food, cold drink and Air conditioning. Pizza and icecream where nice and all in the good price. Service charge if 12% included with a bill

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    17
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were exhausted from the Vatican Museum and it was raining, so we decided to have lunch here because it was nearby the museum.

We chosed the menu of 13,99 euro which offered us a simple lasagna and for the second plate, a lame grilled fish with lame salad. When the bill came, we were shocked that it costed us almost 20€ each for the meal which wasn't worth it at all. With this price, we would had dined really well in Trastevere.

Ps: a can of drink costed 4€ here, be careful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant at the corner just opposite the exit of the Musei Vaticani is of average quality and its prices are quite high. For example, my bill for a plate of ravioli and a beer came close to 20 euros. The ravioli were not bad but nothing special. Would not recommend - sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent staff, great location, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a long morning in St Peters Sq and Vatican museum, we needed lunch - directly across the road from the vatican museum we found this place. Great pizzas and pasta, service was quick and staff were superb. I left my phone on the table and only reaslised 2 hours later it was missing. When we rang it - the restaurant manager answered it and had it kept safely for me! Couldn't have been more helpful! Thank you again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was pretty good, but sitting on a slant down the hill is a little awkward. Even more awkward is your food server standing there waiting for a service tip. Don't bother giving one - they're not that great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.