We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, the Terrace...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althea Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Althea Inn
Save
You added Althea Inn to your Saves list
Via dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy (Testaccio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 3,096 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Ah, the Terrace...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a retreat to have every time we came back to our room, and to start and end each day. Rome can be very busy, and this terrace was a lovely, quiet, flower-and-sun filled sanctuary. I'm pretty sure it made the cappuccini and the wine taste that much better - and they were pretty darn good to start!

The rooms are very nicely decorated, with soothing colors. The beds are comfy, as are the blankets and pillows, and the atmosphere is very quiet. No need for earplugs here. Everything is really clean, and the bathroom setup works well.Breakfast was served to our room at the time of our choosing, between 8-10. And though I cannot guarantee the weather, on every one of our 4 mornings we would open the deck shutters to full sunlight and the sight of gorgeous petunias in the flowerboxes - Always a very positive beginning.

The hotel is in a fine location, just a few minutes walk from the metro station (turn left when you exit), and in a very quiet neighborhood. It is on a very nondescript street, but there is no need to be put off by that - and the quiet was a fair tradeoff for us. Plus there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby, and a full-service grocery store (Conad) right on the corner...maybe a minute away. The store and restos made picking up supplies extremely easy, and the metro made it very easy to get around, at least on days we didn't feel like just walking to our destination. Two other big pluses for us were that Pizzeria Remo and the new Testaccio Market are right there "in the 'hood", a couple of minutes away. Both are terrific.

The Althea is on the 5th floor, with a small elevator you can use to reach it. The help of our excellent host Alessandro made handling all the day-to-day details almost effortless - even during our last morning's metro strike. If we make it back to Rome, we will definitely stay here again. As a room tip though, I would suggest that - as we did - couples stay in either of the 2 corner rooms. While all 3 rooms and terraces are excellent, the middle one seemed to be a bit smaller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
208
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Prahova, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amazing place. I am trevelling around the world and i can say that the services provided by the owner are purely above the majority of 5 starts hotels : breakfast in bed, the room and the terrace is so nice, and above this the transportation from here is perfect : direct train from Fiumicino airport, metro to entire city near, 10 minutes walk to Colloseum and the Roman Forum. I will reccomend it to my family and friends.
Thank you Alessandro !

Room Tip: All rooms are the same !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I booked our stay in the Althea Inn on the strength of the many positive reviews. We were not disappointed! Alessandro is an attentive host and he has created a comfortable oasis in easy reach of the sights and centre of Rome. We have no hesitation in giving a positive recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a great place to stay for many reasons. Alessandro, the proprietor, is attentive and very helpful. He provided directions to local spots of interest as well as practical information about when it was best to visit. He made our dinner reservations for us at a local neighborhood restaurant. We experienced some trouble with our banks and he went out of his way to help us communicate with them. His breakfasts are delicious!
The room was very clean and comfortable. I felt safe walking around the neighborhood, even at night. The Metro stop for PYRAMIDE station is within 5 minute walking distance for travel along the B line and makes a connection with the A line at TERMINI station. The OSTIENSE train station, an easy connection to the airport, was also very close. We took the train (about 30 minutes) to and from the Fiumicino airport.
I would recommend this B&B to family and friends and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and really couldn't fault it in any way. We had a corner room which I would really recommend - it was perfect for breakfast and for lazing in the sun on after a day of sight seeing. The breakfast is lovely - fresh and filling, the perfect set up for the day and served in the sun on the terrace it really couldn't be better.
The location was one thing I wasn't sure about before travelling as it is out of the centre but this wasn't a problem at all. In fact we liked having somewhere peaceful to retire to after the busy centre - it's close to some lovely local restaurants and only two stops into colosseo - it's also easy to get to from the airport - just jump on the metropolitan line which is 8 euros each and takes you to within a five minute walk.
Overall we just couldn't fault it in any way

Room Tip: ask for a corner - I think the terraces are bigger and the get the sun more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at althea inn for 7 nights at the end of March 2013. We enjoyed our stay very much. Alessandro, the owner, is the perfect host. He made us feel very comfortable, he served a wonderful breakfast, and we could approach him with every issue concerning our visit, such as good restaurants or the best way to get to different sites.

The B&B is located in a regular building so we felt like local "Romans" and not just tourists. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. There is a lot of space. Each room has a terrace which is an ideal place for breakfast if the weather is nice. The rooms are very clean and the towels are changed. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. It is very close to the metro, a 5 minutes' walk, and it is only 2 stops from the colleseum,

I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We traveled all over Europe and this was the best place we stayed at during our entire trip. It is located in a normal apartment building in an assuming neighborhood, but Alessandro has transformed the rooms into something magnificent.

The PROS:

- Your own personal patio.
- Very close to Metro B (Pyramide Stop).
- Easy walking distance to Trastevere, the Colloseum, and Baths of Caracalla,
- A huge, filling breakfast in the morning. Alessandro brings it to your room at an agreed upon time. He was SO accommodating. We don't drink tea or coffee, so he brought us amazing hot chocolate instead.
- A refrigerator in the room. Stocked with drinks, including bottled water.
- Fantastic and free WI-FI.
- Alessandro was like our own personal "trip assistant." He recommended restaurants, made reservations on short notice for us at the Borghese Gallery, and helped us find attractions.
- We were able to leave our luggage here for the remainder of the day until our train left that evening, even after we checked out.
- Felt very private and quiet.
- Close to a grocery store and laundromat.
- Most comfortable bed, EVER.
- Very clean, daily maid service.

The CONS:

NONE!! This place was amazing!

I know, all your friends are probably suggesting you stay in the touristy areas like Piazza Navona or near the Spanish Steps. Mine did too. Ignore them and stay at the Althea Inn. It was like finding a hidden gem. The neighborhood might seem a little rough at first, but believe me, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Althea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn

Address: Via dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 3,096 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althea Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.