We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althea Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Althea Inn to your Saves list
Althea Inn
Via dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy (Testaccio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 2,815 Rome B&B and Inns
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My sister and I had given our mother a trip to Rome for her 80th birthday. Looking for a place with a more personal touch than a hotel I stumbled across the Althea Inn.

I wrote to the owner Alessandro and was surprised how fast and accurately he answered my e-mails. When I asked if the shower would be easily accessible for an elderly lady he even came back to me with the exact measurements. He also arranged an airport pick up for us on very short notice and still at a very reasonable price. Upon arrival he waited for us outside the building and welcomed us with pastries and a bottle of wine.
This very personal service did not change during our entire stay. After our first day of sightseeing we came back to find fruit platters in every room. The next day we were awaited by pastries and a bottle of wine accompanied by a note from Alessandro wishing us fun watching the soccer match we had talked about earlier.

Also the breakfast service was great! Upon arrival Alessandro asked what we would like to have for breakfast. Every morning we were treated to bread, croissants, fresh fruit and cappuccinos that we enjoyed on our terrace.

The place itself is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotless. Each room has a private terrace with lots of flowers where you can have breakfast or enjoy a glass of wine in the evening.
There is a small hallway that Alessandro calls the lobby. There you have a cellphone where you can reach him if you need to. Each room can be accessed from the lobby. As a party of five we had booked all rooms which was a real plus because we could move around the entire place and leave the doors open. But I would also go there again if I wanted one room only.

We very much liked the area around the Althea Inn. There are two metro stations within walking distance, a supermarket just around the corner and next door there is a small Café serving great cappuccino. It is not located on the very center of Rome but still we felt like being within the city.

The Althea Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast with a five star service and I can fully recommend it to anyone visiting Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
189
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've read the numerous reviews written since my husband and I spent 3 nights at the Althea Inn in late October. Everything was so special, and Alessandro was a one-of-a-kind innkeeper. He took such good care of us...in a number of ways that made a wonderful difference to us. I wish I could add to the superlatives written on these pages, but I think it's all been said. STAY THERE -- you will not regret it for a minute..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Althea Inn is a beautiful place to base your stay in Rome. About a 10 minute walk from Ostiense train station which we did with all of our luggage. A quiet street with several nice restaurants nearby (the Gelatto and Chinese food restaurants around the corner are great). The front entrance is very unassuming, we walked by it the first time. Once inside you will be pleasantly surprised. The room is spacious, nicely decorated and has a beautiful patio. No view from the patio but well surrounded by flowers and plants. Tiled floors, modern bathroom and a comfortable bed help make the stay very enjoyable. The mini-bar has a nice selection of beer, wine and non-alcoholic drinks at reasonable prices and on occasion some great pastries from Alessandro. Breakfast was amazing: pastries, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, and a cheese/sliced meat breakfast sandwich. It was a tasty and filling meal to give a great start to the day.
Alessandro is very helpful with planning and advice. He booked the Borghese Gallery and suggested sights, walking tours and helped with transportation. He is a true gentleman: polite, friendly and made himself available to our schedule and needs. He brought an early breakfast so we could get to the sights first thing in the morning and helped with getting our lost luggage delivered. Service like this you will not receive at any hotel. Thanks Alessandro from making our stay in Rome memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Reading other reviews we were expecting the best and were not disappointed. Alessandro was informative and helpful with directions, local restaurants etc. Although damp, cool weather meant we were not able to use the balcony until our last morning it was relaxing to look out of our bedroom onto greenery. The minibar is good value. The breakfasts were great, and to have them served in the room was a new experience for us. Alessandro clearly noticed we had a good appetite, as our breakfast tray seemed to be piled higher and higher as the days went on!
We love to walk and found many sights were within walking distance but Alessandro also explained the bus routes, and the train and metro stations were nearby and easy to use. We found Althea Inn to be in a safe area with a well stocked supermarket, a friendly enoteca, several cosy restaurants and bars all within a five minute walk. Our favourite was "Da Enzo" which was good value, friendly and cosy with a varied menu (turn right out of B&B, right again on Via Ostiense and you will come across it)
Alessandro really looked after us without being intrusive. No wonder the reviews are so fantastic. Alessandro - you deserve the five star rating!

Room Tip: if you explain at time of booking what is important to you, Alessandro will give you the most suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan, Mugla, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Althea Inn has to be rated up there with the very best. It may be small with just a few rooms, but from the moment you step through the door of the 5th floor lobby you are surrounded by class and good taste. The rooms are a delight and reflect the character and flair of owner Alessandro; each has its own terrace decked out with comfortable furniture and made intimate by the screening of plants. The beds are a 'dream' - so comfortable.
Each guest is presented with a glass of 'bubbly' and cakes or chocolate!
Breakfast is a superb mix of fresh fruit, croissants, wholemeal bread and a choice of meats and cheeses, coffee or tea and fruit juice.
Alessandro is a charming and reliable host who ensures you get up to catch your flight, arranges luxury cars at affordable prices, communicates and confirms with you and fits in a regular game of football!
Just a five minute walk from Rome's Ostiense railway station, with convenient buses, the location is hard to beat. On top of all this, there is a superb pizzaria, 'Novecento', just 100 mts from the door.
There is no doubt that whenever I'm in Rome this will be my base.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are very grateful for the hospitality we received from Alessandro at the Althea Inn for our 4 nights in Rome. If you are looking for an "authentic Roman experience," this is the place for you. You get to live like a local for a few days which is a lot of fun and adds to the experience that much more.

We chose this B & B for three reasons: 1. The highly-rated reviews, thanks to all my Trip Advisor family which I rely on heavily when planning all our trips. 2. We enjoy the Bed & Breakfast experience, especially when we want to fully embrace the culture of a new place. 3. It was a convenient location next to both the regional train (to and from the airport and to the port of our ship) and the metro (to get around the city.) If you enjoy Bed & Breakfasts, like embracing the culture of a city, and enjoy the convenience and affordability of public transportation, this is the place for you.

The Althea Inn is located on the 5th floor of a building. If you follow Alessandro's directions from the train, you will be fine. If you have trouble navigating your way around, you may want to look it up closely on Google maps before you go so you can get your bearings. Sometimes the street names aren't easy to read or clearly posted.

The rooms are small, as they often are in any city, but comfortable and clean. The outdoor patio was a nice place to eat breakfast and drink cappuccino, or enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. Alessandro's breakfasts were made with care, were quite enjoyable, and always were the perfect amount to fuel us for the day! There is a "lift" (elevator) to the 5th floor (also not always a common convenience in many cities) so you don't need to trek up the stairs after a day of walking around the city. With the amount of food we ate on our trip, we probably should have taken the stairs EVERY time! Additionally, there is wi-fi available to you. That was an added bonus.

Since part of a our trip would be on a cruise, we needed a location where we could easily take the train. Being close to the Ostiense train station was a huge help. You can get a train directly from the airport there and from there to all sorts of other locations. We were also a 5 minute walk from the metro, which proved helpful after hoofing around the city all day and looking for a quick way back! Not to mention, there is SO much within walking distance of your front door. You are in a great neighborhood filled with quaint restaurants and bars. There is also a small marketplace (Conrad) around the corner should you need anything - food, drinks, or toiletries.

Alessandro is a very gracious and kind host. He answered any questions we had and offered some suggestions as far as visiting and dining. We want to thank him for helping to make our trip that much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Thanks to all of the other reviews on Trip Advisor, we booked a room at this fabulous b&b. The room is large, so clean, and the terrace is private, romantic, and absolutely lovely (even in November). Alessandro is a wonderful host, helping with our every need. We forgot a converter to charge our electronics and Alessandro let us borrow his. I forgot to print tickets to the Vatican museum and he ran home to print them out for me. Our stay here would have been absolutely wonderful even without this great help, but this just made it perfect.

We had Alessandro arrange transport for us from the airport and I am so glad we did; we never would have found the b&b otherwise especially after 20 hours of travel.

We will definitely stay here on any future trips to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Althea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Inn

Address: Via dei Conciatori 9, 00154 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 2,815 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Eternal City, a delightful penthouse, an oasis of comfort and hospitality, set within walking distance from the Colosseum, Circus Maximus, and many other tourist attractions.A cosy place, with elegantly furnished rooms with a large terrace where to take the breakfast or just sip a drink after getting back from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Althea Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althea Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.