We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma de Roma

Save Saved
You added Alma de Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alma de Roma
Via Gaeta, Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #465 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great location. Room was small but comfortable, was cleaned daily.
Owners and the staff are very helpful and speak fluent English.
Breakfast was ok.
Make sure to spend time on their terrace.
No wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Alma de Roma is a small B&B at 5min distance from Roma Termini (the main train station), in a nice area. It occupies the top floor of an apartment building.

Our room was nicely furnished and had air conditioning (which is very good in Rome in summertime). The ceiling was fairly low at one side of the room and I bumped my head into it a few times. The bathroom was nice and fairly large. (A minor issue: there was only one glass in it, instead of two.)

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was on a nice outside patio on the roof.As in some other places in Italy, the breakfast consisted of pastries and jam/butter. Being from North Europe, we would have preferred to have some non-sweet choices (salami/ham/etc.) as well. Staff, however, served us very nicely and kept checking if we wanted more coffee/juice/etc.

There was no TV in the room (which we did not really need) and no Wifi. Since the hotel description said that there was no Wifi, we knew that in advance and were not disappointed. But Wifi would have been good for us, if it was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Alma de Roma is in a great location from Roma Termini train station and very near a metro station. To walk into central Rome takes about 30mins but this is why it is such good value. The rooms are of a good size, clean and well looked after. There is a great sun terrace where a good breakfast is served every morning. I would recommend emailing or calling ahead to say when you are going to arrive or there might not be anyone in to meet you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was our first trip to Rome and we chose to stay in Alma de Roma as we had read so much positive feedback about it.We stayed for 4 nights and it was 'perfect'!.Excellent location,beside all transport eg metro,citysightseeing tour buses,termini.The room was immaculate and cleaned everyday by Noelle.Airconditioning in the room,fresh towels and toiletries and full use of a kitchen area for complimentary cappucino,fruit,croissants,juice anytime of the day.It is a lovely private B&B with a sanctuary of a roof terrace in the evening after a day of walking and sightseeing.Breakfast is served on the terrace each morning coffee/tea/toast/croissants/fruit/fruit juice/cereal.Andrea,the owner,was so helpful with any advice/information about the area, and his english was excellent!
Clair and Raph-Ireland

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Nice and helpful staffs, beautiful place, excellent location, but no internet / wifi available!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

A family friendly accomodation with very clean and comfortable rooms. A stone throw's away from the central Termini station or Repubblica metro station. Buses pass just round the corner.
The owners are extremely friendly. They even left a large Easter egg for our little one in our room.
If you're staying in Rome, choose this place.
Breakfast is OK and there a good restaurant (independent of the hotel) just outside the main door which is always packed with locals.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I went to Rome with my girlfriend to visit the most important tourist spots. Alma de Roma is perfect for that as it is located just by the Termini Station, where Metro Lines A & B cross and lots of Bus (both city bus and bus from Ryanair destination Ciampinos' airport) and train depart / arrive
The staff is really friendly and the rooms are very well decorated and comfortable! Alma de Roma doesn't have tv in the bedroom nor gym facilities, however we didn't care about it at all. The weather was a bit too cold, so we didn't use the terrace to have the breakfast.
It is contiguous to Ristorante Famiglia, which I also recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alma de Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma de Roma

Address: Via Gaeta, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Alma de Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma De Roma Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma de Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.