We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk is a JERK!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Ginevra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Ginevra to your Saves list
Park Hotel Ginevra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 via San Giovanni della Croce, 00166 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #750 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Front Desk is a JERK!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel is very nice. Location is difficult to find by professional taxis. Breakfast is good. Booked on Priceline and when we went to check out the Jerk at the frontdesk insisted we DID NOT pay yet. He started raising his voice and arguing with us in front of our 2 little kids. He made us find our receipt from Priceline and credit card used before he gave in. Wow - what a JERK!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would never stay here. $60 US taxi trip to Vatican/Colloseum. Better to pay more for a better located hotel and pay less for taxis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    56
    27
    15
See reviews for
26
100
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lazise, Italy
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rooms are fine. Location a bit difficult to find. Be careful doing your prenotation at Park Hotel Ginevra. Hotel policy is to charge customers for any extra service provided. Profit comes before service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in Park Hotel Ginevra in August 2012 while touring Italy by motorcycle. We were very pleased! Very good hotel, with kind and helpful staff. The location is definitely not a problem if you have your own mean of transport but even if you don't it is close to the bus station. Our room was very nice and clean with a very cute bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The first thing to make sure of is that you arrive at the right hotel, there are two Hotel Ginevra in Rome so make sure you include "Park" in your description.

The hotel rooms were comfortable and the hotel runs a free shuttle bus to the nearest Metro station each morning and evening, this will save a 15-20 mins walk. The nearest Metro is at the end of line A but the trains are frequent and it doesn't take long to reach the city. Most of the main places of interest can be reached by Metro. We bought 3 day tickets which allowed us to hop on and off as many times as we wished.

Breakfast at the hotel is excellent. It is a buffet breakfast in the restaurant with a wide range to choose from including cereals, fruit, cold meats etc.

The hotel reception staff were excellent, always very polite and helpful. As we were taken to the wrong hotel initially the receptionists contacted the airport transfer company to ensure we were collected from the correct Hotel Ginevra at the end of our stay.

My only concerns about the hotel are as follows:

1. A notice on the reception desk says the restaurant is open until 23.30 but on our arrival at 22.45 we went to the restaurant but the waiter said it was closed, I pointed out it was supposed to stay open until 23.30 and was offered luke warm lasagne that was left over and charged 10 euros.

2. Rooms only have one point for charging batteries. The European adapter only fits one socket. This was a problem as we had 2 mobile phones, a camera and a camcorder to charge each evening.

Room Tip: Our room was fine and we didn't visit any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I think that what really saves the hotel's reputation is the service. People who worked at the hotel were extremely kind. Getting from the center to the hotel takes, for example to Termini, 15 mins walk + 25 mins subway. It's OK if you intend to leave in the morning and come back at the end of the day only. There's also a shuttle bus from 9.15 to 10.15 am and another one in the evening-night until 10.45 pm, which is fine if your plans coincide with the timeline. But if you decide to go back later at night, walking through the industrial area around the hotel may be a bit scary, since it's a dark empty road with no houses around.

Room was very clean, but we were put in the disabled adapted room with no shower plate, so the whole bathroom would be flooded whenever we showered and had to lay towels on the floor to be able to enter again without wetting our feet.

We were also next to the cafeteria, so at 7am it was very noisy with all the people having breakfast. We could also hear everything from the room next to ours.

Breakfast was VERY limited. All sweets, sweets, sweets. Only 1 type of bread, very chewy and hard to eat, only toasts available were industrial ones on package and only one type of coffee (filter/American coffee) with no option of expresso. Excluding drinks, I guess the only non sweets that were available was the cheese, ham, bread, toast, butter, corn flakes, muesli and natural yoghurt.

We'd think twice about being hosted at that hotel again. But it ain't the worst hotel, though. Environment is good, service is good, rooms are nice and clean, free Internet available. Location and breakfast were the most negative aspects. And also ain't a bad idea of getting hungry at night, since there's no kitchen available at the hotel (at least at 9.30pm there wasn't) and there's no one near enough to go get something to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I accompanied by 2 other couples arranged a stay at the Park Hotel Ginevra. We arrived in Rome after a really long night and our first clue was that the shuttle from the hotel didn’t show up. we went by cab and upon our arrival were told that although we had a reservation made several weeks before, it had been cancelled and no rooms where available. Upon viewing our confirmation we were provided with rooms but the rate was 20 Euro per night more than originally quoted. Aside from that The hotel and the staff were very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa,ontario,canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we three couples stayed at hotel park ginerva from october 7th to 10th for three nights.
we booked hotel atleast six weeks before going to rome and we had confirmation of reservation.
when we got to hotel on 7th from canada after long flight.they told us our reservation was cancelled by us.we are seniors and we didnot cancel our reservation.why we would do that and still go to hotel and pay 90 euros for taxi.we met some other people at hotel who had the same experience.Elso the desk clerk at hotel and walter the manager at hotel told us they were having problem with their website.they were smerking and rude and told us there are norooms for us.can you imagine three senior couples stranded in rome.after little bit of argument and begging they said perhaps i repeat perhaps they can find us some rooms in hotel if we paid 20 euros more per night.we said ok we will pay 20 euros per night more.guess what suddenly three rooms appeared empty and they gave us those rooms and charged us more money.all the time they were smirking and laughing how they conned us for more money.
If the hotel owners had any class at all they should fire elso and walter.and returh our money.
But there were good things at hotel.
Rooms were good and modern.bathroom were nice.breakfast was quite nice.
there were some nice staff at hotel who were nice to us and they helped us.stafano was very good and helped us and sympathised with us.salvatore was very good.marika and other young lady serving breakfast were also very good.
they had shuttle to metro station battistini but it never worked as shuttle had flat tire and they will not get it fixed.you asked for second key to room and elso said its not possible.
elso and walter need more training and change of attitude.
hotel was good just some staff issues.

Room Tip: make sure they dont trick you for more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Ginevra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Ginevra

Address: 35 via San Giovanni della Croce, 00166 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #750 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Ginevra 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Ginevra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Ginevra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.