We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Gallery Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy (Trieste)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Can not speak highly enough about this hotel. The staff was impeccable. Some of the rooms are small but extremely comfortable. Its in a wonderful location. The staff was extremely friendly and service was great! All at a very reasonable price - it doesn't get much better. Ciao bella.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    99
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
161
314
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Palm in November for three nights. I would echo every favorable review of this property. Yes, it's off the beaten path (AKA, not in the very center of the city where all the tourists are). But, I like to walk, and never took public transportation once while I was there--but saw all the sites, including many I would have missed if we stayed in the center.

We took advantage of the Mercedes pick-up service from the airport (Palm will organize for you), and it was well worth the 60 Euro charge. Total luxury. Be prepared to pay upon arrival at the Palm as it's a private service separate from the hotel. Highly recommended.

Resident cats Romeo and Penny steal the show. If you don't like cats, no worries, they won't bother you. However, if you do like felines, these two are quite lovely.

We had a room off the main breakfast area, which I was a little worried about potential noise, but actually we weren't bothered by any noise whatsoever. There are basically two sets of doors that keep the noise out. The neighboring room's guests even had an infant in their room and we didn't hear a peep (they apologized for the phantom noise each morning). The soundproofing is very good.

There was a nice private terrace off the room in which we stayed where you step up from the couch and through the window to access it (you can also access it through the breakfast room, but it's not nearly as adventuresome).

We had an early train the morning of departure and one of the staff got up at some ungodly hour to make us our last cup of amazing cappuccino before hitting the road. The customer service is incredible.

Since I like to check out new hotels, I rarely feel like staying at the same place twice. However, from now on every time I'm in Rome I'll stay at the Palm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We echo all the other reviews in which they speak very highly of the Palm Gallery! A nice, quiet respite in busy Rome. The staff is truly second to none in making you feel at home. Any question, any request - everything is met with prompt service and a smile. They can call you cab, recommend places to eat and sights to see.

We ate at Emilio's one night. Do not miss! Menus are in English and staff (Father and son wait staff) spoke great English and made us feel so welcome. We were the only Americans there! Bring your phrase book though (like another reviewer mentioned) because the hotel is in a residential, non-tourist area and English menus aren't guaranteed. Prices were good though and food was great. Emilio's had the best Caprese salad I've ever had!

Rooms were quiet when windows closed. There was an irritating dog barking down the street but no fault of hotel obviously. Just close the windows and use AC!

I won't say these two items are "cons" but just for you to be aware of. If you are wanting to walk to the main tourist sights in Rome, then you might want to stay elsewhere. We took cabs for the most part and it was at least a 15 - 20 minute ride to get to the main tourist places. Cabs cost less than 20€ for anywhere we wanted to go which wasn't bad, but we couldn't walk with our kids. Vatican most expensive since it's farther away. I think the Spanish Steps are the closest attraction and they were about a mile away.

Beware of the cancellation policy. This goes for most hotels in Rome or any big European city. It's not like an American Chain hotel where you can cancel up until 6 p.m. the night of your reservation. Some hotels, including this one, have stiff cancellation policies and you will have to pay regardless of your reason for cancelling - including family deaths. I understand why these smaller hotels have these policies - otherwise they aren't guaranteed income. Just something to be aware of. Any cancellation or change up until 30 days before the reservation will result in a cancellation fee. It gets more stiff as the time gets closer.

They had cute little treats for our kids; candy in the room, special towels and a gift upon check out. I would stay here again and would tell others to do the same!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This review is long over-due…
We stayed at the Palm Gallery in mid-September for 3 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the hotel. From the minute (literally) we arrived, we felt SO welcome and in great hands…

Our host Daniel (We “heart” Daniel!) forbade us to carry our luggage a step further and ushered us to the charming terrace (under the shade of the palm tree) for an enormous welcome drink and some tasty treats! We were immediately in holiday mode!

The hotel is utterly delightful with well-appointed and spotlessly clean rooms – all tastefully decorated. The location is tranquil, safe and truly roman – you really feel like you are living & breathing the city along with the locals!

The hotel garden offers plenty space to sit and relax or to enjoy a cappuccino or vino rosso! And you can also have a cuddle with Peggy and Romeo (the resident cats!)

Breakfast at the hotel is delizioso!! You have a choice of fresh breads & pastries, great coffee, fruit, juices, cereals, yoghurts and eggs made to order.

We ate at a different restaurant (with recommendations from Daniel) each night and all were in the neighbourhood of the hotel and just a 5-10 minute stroll away. The experience/food was impeccable and you really got the true Italian dining experience (just be sure to bring your phrase book ;))

The nearest metro stop is an easy 15 minute walk away and from there, just 3 stops or so and you are at the Coliseum! Taxis are also very reasonable to get to/from the city centre…
We would also recommend the airport taxi transfer offered by the Palm Gallery - when you arrive, it’s such a treat to have a reliable taxi firm waiting for you to take you directly to the hotel door (instead of negotiating trains/buses etc.)

So in short, if we return to Rome (and I’m pretty sure we will), we will 100% be returning to the Palm Gallery Hotel. It ticks all the boxes. Stay here! Simple. You won’t be disappointed.

Grazie mille, Daniel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small boutique hotel with 11 rooms in quiet residential area. Close to several good restaurants. Not easy to find, small sign but worth the effort. Buses are nearby but Metro is +20 minutes away. Cabs do not cruise area so one must be called. Staff is extremely prompt and helpful--particularly Vincenzo & Daniel. Breakfast outstanding. Best for experienced travelers looking for excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the day we left, we had great service. Luisa, Daniel, and Lorenzo we so kind and helpful. The day we got there, we received a map of Rome and a list of great restaurant recommendations, which helped a lot. The hotel was very clean and in a quiet area. All recommendations by the staff proved to be spot on. We stayed in 3 different rooms in our 6 days in Rome and all three rooms were fantastic! Beautiful architecture and decor. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was not in December 2011, it was in June 2011 (yes, dear TripAdvisor, it took me that long to find time to write this review) my daughter spent 5 days in Rome and stayed at the Palm Gallery. I read about it here, at TripAdvisor, and cannnot agree more with everyone - it is a perfect place to stay at when in Rome. It is wonderfully peacefully located and still you get everywhere very fast. There is public transport around the corner, a lovely garden with many seating places, if you want to spend a quiet evening "at home", the owners are very nice friendly people, the rooms are lovely, big and individually decorated. We booked an airport transfer too, and that worked wonderfully, too. We would go to Palm Gallery again any time!

Room Tip: all rooms must be very quiet, the hotel is in a residential area, in a small side street, with plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.