We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour operator with professional and knowledgeable guides!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RomeInLimo - Private Tours

RomeInLimo - Private Tours
00148 Rome, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 888 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialize in luxury car hire and tailor made personalized tours in Rome, and throughout Italy. We employ only professionals, which allows us to provide the utmost quality of experience for our clientele.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tour operator with professional and knowledgeable guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We are 2 families from Canada (8 people) used RomeInLimo in July 2011 for our shore excursions in Naples (Sorrento, Positano and Pompei), Rome (Rome highlights) and Livorno (Florence/Pisa). We had an 8 passenger van that picked us up in the port and took us around and then brought us back. We had Vito in Naples, Salvatore in Rome and Gian in Florence. All three of them were wonderful people, very knowledgeable and professional! Would definitely recommend RomeInLimo company for your tours in Italy. And will be happy to use them again during our next visit to Italy!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,721
    40
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Your man Maurizo was great . He was waiting at the pier with a clean car. As he drove he gave us information and history of the points that we were to see.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a tricky itinerary to satisfy all our party of 4 adults and 5 teens: some had been to Rome before, some hadn't and it was my husband's birthday so we wanted to do something special to celebrate that too, and all in a short time from our cruise ship. RomeinLimo provided a faultless service enabling us to see everything we wanted to in Rome and deliver us to a excellent restaurant for lunch before returning to the ship. Our two drivers Vinny and Marco were informative, helpful and good company. We all agreed we couldn't have asked for better.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top notch tours with Rome In Limo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just got back from a 7-day Western Mediterranean cruise with ports in Civitivecchia (Rome), Livorno (Florence and Pisa) and Naples (Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi Coast) and used Rome In Limo's services for the cruise tours. After reading many of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, it was a no-brainer to book with them and it was money well spent! Our drivers, Sabrina (Livorno), Rolando (Rome) and Nico (Naples) were outstanding, friendly and very accomodating.

In Florence and Pisa, Sabrina had suggested we visit the Leaning Tower first as to avoid the many bus tours invading the area and true to her word, we were able to take our time to take photos and check out the sites without the crowds. Sabrina suggested we visit the wine areas before heading to Florence for some photo ops and breathtaking views of the vineyards and olive groves. Before going into the city, our guide took us to a monestary on top of a hill which had the best panoramic view of Florence. We then went into Florence, missing the rush hour, and visited the piazzas, cathedrals and Ponte Vecchio without feeling crowded. Take up her offer on visiting a panini place on a side street for an authentic quick and cheap bite to eat...you won't regret it! She also suggested a gelateria to visit before heading back to the port which was awesome.

Our guide in Rome was Rolando, who was an absolute gentleman and was very knowledgeable about the ins and outs of New and Ancient Rome. He had a book of photos of all the sites in Rome on how they looked before while looking at the present day sites which was a nice touch. Again, we were able to see some of the main sites such as Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon, Circus Maximus, The Spanish Steps and the many piazzas before the mass of bus tours arrived, giving us enough time to absorb, appreciate and take as many photos as possible before visiting the busier sites such as the Colosseum and Vatican City. Before visiting the Vatican, Rolando had set up a lunch reservation for us at a nearby family restaurant for some amazing homemade Italian food. A nice surprise was actually meeting the owner of Rome In Limo (Duman K) before heading to the Vatican, whom we expressed our gratitude and apprecitation to for such great service. Finally, Rolando took us to a high viewpoint overlooking the city of Rome for some memorable views before taking us back to the port.

Our last tour with Rome In Limo was with Nico in Naples who took us to the Herculanneum, Sorrento, Positano and the Amalfi Coast. Prior to taking this tour, Rolando suggested we visit the Amalfi Coast first because of the many locals vacationing (many Italians take their vacays in August) and causing traffic in the area, which Nico obliged to do without hesitation. One of the many advantages with taking the tours with Rome In Limo is that they drive vans or sedans where many of the large tour buses may have problems getting into certain areas. Nico was also very knowledgeable about the Amafli Coast area and Naples as he carefully drove up and down the coast and in and around the very busy city. Nico had suggested a place in Sorrento for lunch for some authentic Napolitan pizza and seafood. Because we finished the coastline and Herculanneum ruins tours early, we had an extra hour of tour time to use up so Nico took us for a nice drive around Naples to see some of the highlights and as Sabrina and Rolando did, took us to an amazing viewpoint above the city for some beautiful photos.

Although Sabrina, Rolando and Nico are only 3 of Rome In Limo's tour guides, I can assure you that the rest of their staff are just as outstanding and will leave you with a lifetime of memories and a great experience.

A couple of things to take into consideration if booking with Rome In Limo:
1)They are great for small groups or families (max 8 people) and will take you into places/sites where large bus tours cannot.

2)All of the guides' suggestions for places to visit/eat are just that...suggestions. You shouldn't feel obligated to do what they suggest, although what was suggested to us worked out perfect. You can also arrange for the guides to stay longer/shorter at certain sites to suit your schedule.

I could go on and on about how amazing Rome In Limo's service and attention to detail was, but you can also read the many positive reviews from Trip Advisor or just book with them for a tour...you will NOT be disappointed! Grazie again to Dumar K, Sabrina, Rolando and Nico for the memories!!



The Fortino and Corpuz families.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently cruised the Mediterrean and stopped in Livorno, Rome, and Naples.we had never been to Italy and wanted to see the highlights. We didn't want to do a ship tour (1) because of the cost for the fouur of us and (2) we wanted a more personalized tour. I did a lot of research and Romeinlimo kept coming up. I sent an e-mail and Jany responded within a few hours. You always hear horror stories about missing the ship when you book a private tour but I decided to do so in all three ports. We couldn't have been more pleased! In Livorno we were met by Giovanni. He knew the schedules for the ship tours and took us to Pisa first--before the crowds gathered. He gave us as much time as we needed and met us at our destination. We sort of wanted to go on a wine tour and Giovanni called to make the arrangements but we decided against it. We went to Florence and went to Accademia. Jany had suggested we purchase our tickets ahead of time. When we got to the museum Giovanni parked right in front and walked us to the ticketed line. We saved so much time. After Accademia we went to a fantastic local restaurant and had pasta and pizza. Top notch! We were interested in leather so Giovanni suggested a local shop. My daughters got a jacket and a purse. Gorgeous and very reasonable! We returned to the ship in plenty of time and were dropped off at the door!

The following day we went to Rome. We were met by our driver, Vincenzo. Jany suggested we prebook tickets to the colliseum and the Vatican. Vinny drove us through the old parts of old Rome and we saw Galileo's residence. We were dropped off right at the entrance to the Colliseum. After we toured Vinny picked us up and showed us the Forum, Circus Maximus, and a lot of other sights. Vinny suggested a wonderful place for lunch and then we went to the Vatican. We decided to get a guide for the Vatican through Romeinlimo. Aurora was our guide and she was fabulous. She told us so much and took us to exactly thw right places. What a spectacular experience! Vinny met us as the exit and took us back to the ship.

On Thursday we were in Naples. My husband really wanted to see Pompeii but I didn't realize that when I Booked our tour. Gianluca was very happy to alter the tour so we could see Pompeii. We drove the Amalfi coast and saw Ravella, Amalfi, and Posentino. Breath taking! Again Gianluca found a spectacular place for us to have lunch. The food and the views were out of this world. We ended the day with a trip to Pompeii. When we got ba k to the ship, Gianluca gave us a bottle of lemoncello!

I can't say enough good things about our days in Italy. We saw and did so much! My husband has mobility issues and it was so nice to have the sedans or the minivan. All of our drivers/guides exceeded our expectations! We were picked up and dropped off close to the destinations so the walking was minimized. Our guides were all so pleasant and very knowledgable! I can't recommed Romeinlimo with anything but accolades! From start to finish our rxperience was outstanding! Our tours also cost less than if we would have booked the ship's excursions!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RomeInLimo - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RomeInLimo - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.