We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canova

Canova
Piazza Del Popolo, 16-17, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
+39 06 3612231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,768 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Description: Canova - The salon of Piazza del Popolo - Restaurant, cafe, bar, happy hour - everything in the square, sitting at the tables of a comfortable and exclusive 'salon'. Here every occasion for refreshment during the day is a unique occasion, because you are surrounded by some of the most impressive works of art in Rome, and because you are immersed in a truly magical atmosphere. Coming to Canova means experiencing the 'piazza' as if it belonged to you.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are on tour and this was one of the many restaurants we have visited over the last two weeks.
We had a ball, the waiters were very engaging, the food excellent, the organ player was very good.
I can't comment on the price range, as we never received a bill, the meal was included in the tour, we had great fun and it was a truly wonderful meal, would recommend to anyone coming to Rome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    81
    57
    32
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our favorite place to eat in Rome. At least one meal a day here. Breakfast served delicious omelettes. Lunch/dinner had a good variety and very tasty. When ordering alcohol, you're given a tray of chips and the most delicious olives I've ever eaten. The seafood risotto is the best we had through our Italy vacation. The vanilla gelato is delicious with fresh strawberries

Some meals can get pricey. Overall great place to eat

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgusting!! Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Rome three times with my partner and have always enjoyed everything about it, especially the food.

This restaurant, however, was a severe disappointment!! The service was terrible. The waiters were abrupt and did not smile. The food was disgusting. The toppings on the bruschetta is bulk bought in big jars. This was nothing compared to the burned lasagne (clearly microwaved) and the disgusting oily risotto that I was served with. This is the first time in my life that I have returned good in a restaurant. The risotto had a terrible consistency and the taste was just awful. When I returned it to the waiter he did not seemed surprised and said "yes, the risotto is oily"- no apology but I was offered an alternative. I took the carbonara which was plain and again not fresh. By the time it arrived my partner had finished his food (well-he had left most of it!!)

The food and drinks are about the same price as the others in the area but it is a complete rip off because you are paying for food which is microwaved and terrible service.

The view of the piazza is nice but the meal and miserable waiting staff ruin it.

This restaurant is perfect for Gordon Ramsay's kitchen nightmares!!! Avoid it at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You pay for the location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Bad overpriced food. For tourists only. You won't find a local people in there. That's an "avoid at all cost" sign!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant is in a beautiful location, with great service and lovely food.

I had the lemon chicken dish which was delicious.

Very good value for money (around 55 Euros for the two of us - no alcohol) and worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canova also viewed

 

Been to Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.