We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added iQ Hotel Roma to your Saves list
iQ Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good choice for Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a modern hotel with some interesting features. Very new and modern, extremely clean and comfortable. All staff were helpful and polite, the location is good, walking distance from Termini, as central as you'd want to be.
As previous reviews the vending machine aspect is excellent, a reasonable bottle of wine for €5 can't be bad.
Breakfast was ok, probably as good you get in Rome as breakfast isn't a big thing and for €10 good value
A couple of reasons for not giving an excellent rating ..... Only plastic cups - horrible, and you had to pay if you wanted more than the two in the room! Breakfast items ran out well before the closing time, no bread rolls on our last day!! The hot food although plentiful wasn't really hot.
All in all it was. Good place to stay.
Would recommend getting the bus to and from the airport ... fine from the airport, easy to buy a ticket and get on the bus, however, when travelling back allow plenty of time as its all a bit hectic and there is no queue it's a bit of scramble.
Airport is also chaotic, allow plenty of time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    711
    80
    14
    8
See reviews for
565
1,304
80
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is located in a small lane next to the Opera House and 15 mins by taxi to the Spanish Steps. However, it is close to the main train station and if you are coming into Rome via train, this is definitely the choice.

Check in was a breeze and the staff at the counter was helpful and friendly. He even gave us a good tip on where to have a meal which is very good that we went back on several nights. As we have booked on the ground floor room, it is very convenient after check in. As in most hotels in Europe, the room was small but everything else is just as perfect.

One observation I have seen for most queen size bed in Europe that it is mainly 2 single beds combined. As mentioned in most of the reviews here, the breakfast is value for money but one of the set back is that it starts at 7 am and for those who goes on day tour that departs early, not likely will you get to enjoy the breakfast.

The hotel is very modern and the rooms while simply furnished is clean and comfortable. The bathroom in my opinion is spacious by any standard and it provides good toiletries. The hotel is also equipped with several vending machines and also self hell washing machine, however please note the procedure for for the washing which is to load everything in first before putting in the coin.

The hotel though is at the end of a side road, it is a short walk from the main street and that there are several shops around the vicinity. Overall, we are very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel was a great choice for us! We wanted an inexpensive option for our 4 days in Rome (we upgraded on other hotels during the 2 week trip) But as there is SO much to see & do in Rome, we hardly spent any time in the room so I was glad we didnt splurge on an expensive hotel. IQ had everything we needed in a good location! Each morning we left for a day of sightseeing & got home late & just fell into bed. Got a standard room that was a little small but very clean & with all the amentities we needed. The customer service was very good! IQ hotel also offered self service wash/dryer & as we'd been traveling awhile it was nice to do a load of laundry. The hotel is fairly new & has vending machines with all sorts of food/drink choices. It is located close (but not too close) to the train station. I was apprehensive about the location at first but it worked out great! And you can still walk to just about everything you want to see. We like to walk & experience the scenery so the 30 minute walks to visit some of the places didnt bother us.. plenty to see along the way. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Rome.

Note: We didnt have the rental car while in Rome & very happy we didn't. If you're traveling throughout Italy, consider getting the car after you leave Rome as its heavily congested & its not necessary as public transportaion will get you anywhere you need.. if you dont want to walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I would like to appreciate our stay at the hotel (my wife and I).
The clean room, the receptionists's courtesy that will help with any questions and the good breakfest made our trip in Roma beyond what we expected.
in the future I will recommend the hotel to the rest of my friends that will come to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were a family of 5 staying in a Quad room. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the temini, about 30 minutes to the Coliseum, 30 minutes to Spanish steps.
cable in the rooms was pretty much only Italian but the cleanliness and space in the room pretty much made up for it.
All the front desk staff were very nice and helpful.
In short, a good value for your money.

.

Room Tip: We were a family of 5 staying in a Quad room. It was very clean and we all had enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the iQ Hotel for the last 6 nights of our Europe trip and had a wonderful experience here! The hotel was conveniently situated less than 5 mins walk between two train stations- Termini Station and Repubblica Station. The staff provided us with exceptional service which we were very pleased. The room was very clean and very spacious which was a relief from our previous stay at other hotels around Europe. The only fault I could bring up and was mentioned by a previous tripadvisor traveller was that the bed was not that comfortable; it was two single beds placed together to make the "double bed" which was a shame. Other than that, we enjoyed the experience at this hotel and would recommend it to other travellers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a good hotel in a very convenient area for accessing the major sites. Hotel is spotlessly clean and modern and the only downside for us was that the mattress is too firm and 4 rather than 3 pillows would have been good nevertheless had we requested an extra pillow I am sure the hotel would have obliged.

Be wary of the positive reviews of some of the restaurants in the immediate area as they are no more than average and over-priced by UK standards. If on a budget eat lunch and make yourself a tapas meal by buying food in some of the wonderful delis.. The wine from the vending machines in the hotel is very good value.

Be wary of bus no. 40 to Termini Station which is very crowded. It was so crowded i couldn't get to the ticket stamping machine until the bus emptied one stop away. We were then accused of fare dodging by an inspector who had boarded the bus and tried to charge us 50€ fine each. We held out for the police who revoked the fine. An unpleasant experience and no allowance is made for lack of local knowledge - good way of hitting on tourists!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are adapted for visitors with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iQ Hotel Roma is a brand-new hotel in Rome downtown originating from an absolutely revolutionary concept. A fully customizable service, designed for modern travelers, who want the opportunity to choose all the conveniences offered by a modern four-star hotel, all options at a low cost.Whatever you require, you will find just outside your door; there are reasonably priced vendor machines throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iQ Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.