We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant base for Rome trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Save Saved
You added iQ Hotel Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for Rome trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel proved the perfect base for our Rome holiday. It was well-priced and in a perfect location to allow us to explore the city by foot. The room and en-suite were spotless and all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful - their restaurant tips were spot on. The large 24 hour roof terrace was a perfect place to chill out after a long day of sightseeing and the vending machines were really useful and affordable!
Our room was ground-floor and we did suffer from noise from rubbish carts in the street outside in the early hours of the morning, but you can hardly blame the hotel for that.
Useful to know - the room has an empty mini-fridge for you to fill yourself should you wish and there's a handy Spar a very short walk away on Via National where you can stock up on snacks etc. There was also a great Irish bar just a couple of streets away.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor may suffer from outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    663
    76
    14
    7
See reviews for
531
1213
75
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very good hotel in perfect location! Loved stopping here and the staff were really friendly. Breakfast was a very good selection of everything. Did lots of walking to all the sites but good location. Vending machines are very good and cheap for rome.

Room Tip: view of the opera house very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent almost a week at this comfortable, clean hotel. We loved the contemporary accommodations, various vending machines, free wi-fi, laundry services and roof top terrace with comfortable seating and a great view! The daily breakfast buffet was good, but got a little boring with not much variety offered in the menu daily. It pays to venture out to have breakfast and try something different. Staff were friendly and helpful when needed, and the tiny lobby bar was very nice also. The location is great, right off the Via Nazionale and within walking distance to everything you want to see in Rome. The rooms are very clean, and maid service efficient. Rooms in Rome are very small and these are no exception for those of us used to American hotels. The AC was a bit paltry, but that is also something to expect in Europe. We kept our balcony open during the night for fresh air, but ended up hearing street noise in the early morning from delivery trucks. Rooms facing the inner courtyard don't provide a good view but are likely quieter than those facing the street. Our room didn't have much of a view. Our King sized bed was very comfortable and the room had a small mini-fridge we used for bottled waters. The bathroom was a pleasant size, although the shower is very small and strangely designed so the water flow from the shower head points directly at the opening of the shower door. All-in-all a nice place to stay and we considered it a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from Rome where we stayed in two rooms at the IQ Hotel Roma. Staff very friendly and accommodating as we arrived early and were scheduled for a trip to the Vatican in the afternoon. Rooms were neat, clean, modern and quite nice. They do have an energy saving feature key pad to turn on power in rooms. We had to ask to figure this feature out. But all was ok with a telephone call. I found the rooms a good value. The extra 3 euros per person per night should have just been included in the room rate. It was OK, just glad I had 9 enros to spare! Will stay there again! Carol Horton, Valerie Hart and Michele Carderas

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 28th with my wife and we really loved this hotel. The location is excellent, It was right in front of the Opera House and a short walk from Termini, so we were at walking distance from many of the main city attractions. Good restaurants and gelaterias around. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast (not included in my case) was worth the extra 10 Euros. My room was perfectly clean and very comfortable. The only issue was the tumble dryer wasn't working properly when we needed to use it, but that was definitely a minor issue. Overall, it met and exceeded all our expectations. If my coin at the Trevi Fountain works and I return to Rome, this will definitely be my 1st option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from Rome, where we stayed at the iQ Hotel Roma. Hotel was very clean, good location, and a good value for the price. Breakfast was not included, but cost an additional 10 euros per person. Vending machines were great!!! Bottles of wine, beer, snacks, etc at very reasonable prices. Roof top area was absolutely great for having a little wine and cheese. Only complaint was that it was very warm in our rooms, as they had switched from air conditioning to heating. Not sure why they could not turn it back on, we heard many guests complain about the rooms being very, very warm. We would probably use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, which had nice balconies, and only needed to go one flight up for the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is really good, in the center near the Fontana de Trevi and Pantheon which you can go walking in 15 mins. The rooms are clean, somewhat small but I believe it is hard to find something bigger and better for that price in Rome. The restaurant is on the top floor for a good breakfast, you can do your own laundry for 3 euros in the second floor, free wifi internet and really good vending machines. Overall and for the price it was an excellent choice. We stayed for three days and were completely satisfied. The hotel employees are really friendly. You have a subway station about three blocks from the hotel. Basically all you need for a nice stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iQ Hotel Roma is a brand-new hotel in Rome downtown originating from an absolutely revolutionary concept. A fully customizable service, designed for modern travelers, who want the opportunity to choose all the conveniences offered by a modern four-star hotel, all options at a low cost.Whatever you require, you will find just outside your door; there are reasonably priced vendor machines throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iQ Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;