We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convenient services!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added iQ Hotel Roma to your Saves list
iQ Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Happy Valley, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient services!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent almost a week at this comfortable, clean hotel. We loved the contemporary accommodations, various vending machines, free wi-fi, laundry services and roof top terrace with comfortable seating and a great view! The daily breakfast buffet was good, but got a little boring with not much variety offered in the menu daily. It pays to venture out to have breakfast and try something different. Staff were friendly and helpful when needed, and the tiny lobby bar was very nice also. The location is great, right off the Via Nazionale and within walking distance to everything you want to see in Rome. The rooms are very clean, and maid service efficient. Rooms in Rome are very small and these are no exception for those of us used to American hotels. The AC was a bit paltry, but that is also something to expect in Europe. We kept our balcony open during the night for fresh air, but ended up hearing street noise in the early morning from delivery trucks. Rooms facing the inner courtyard don't provide a good view but are likely quieter than those facing the street. Our room didn't have much of a view. Our King sized bed was very comfortable and the room had a small mini-fridge we used for bottled waters. The bathroom was a pleasant size, although the shower is very small and strangely designed so the water flow from the shower head points directly at the opening of the shower door. All-in-all a nice place to stay and we considered it a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    748
    83
    14
    8
See reviews for
593
1,375
85
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from Rome where we stayed in two rooms at the IQ Hotel Roma. Staff very friendly and accommodating as we arrived early and were scheduled for a trip to the Vatican in the afternoon. Rooms were neat, clean, modern and quite nice. They do have an energy saving feature key pad to turn on power in rooms. We had to ask to figure this feature out. But all was ok with a telephone call. I found the rooms a good value. The extra 3 euros per person per night should have just been included in the room rate. It was OK, just glad I had 9 enros to spare! Will stay there again! Carol Horton, Valerie Hart and Michele Carderas

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 28th with my wife and we really loved this hotel. The location is excellent, It was right in front of the Opera House and a short walk from Termini, so we were at walking distance from many of the main city attractions. Good restaurants and gelaterias around. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast (not included in my case) was worth the extra 10 Euros. My room was perfectly clean and very comfortable. The only issue was the tumble dryer wasn't working properly when we needed to use it, but that was definitely a minor issue. Overall, it met and exceeded all our expectations. If my coin at the Trevi Fountain works and I return to Rome, this will definitely be my 1st option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from Rome, where we stayed at the iQ Hotel Roma. Hotel was very clean, good location, and a good value for the price. Breakfast was not included, but cost an additional 10 euros per person. Vending machines were great!!! Bottles of wine, beer, snacks, etc at very reasonable prices. Roof top area was absolutely great for having a little wine and cheese. Only complaint was that it was very warm in our rooms, as they had switched from air conditioning to heating. Not sure why they could not turn it back on, we heard many guests complain about the rooms being very, very warm. We would probably use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, which had nice balconies, and only needed to go one flight up for the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is really good, in the center near the Fontana de Trevi and Pantheon which you can go walking in 15 mins. The rooms are clean, somewhat small but I believe it is hard to find something bigger and better for that price in Rome. The restaurant is on the top floor for a good breakfast, you can do your own laundry for 3 euros in the second floor, free wifi internet and really good vending machines. Overall and for the price it was an excellent choice. We stayed for three days and were completely satisfied. The hotel employees are really friendly. You have a subway station about three blocks from the hotel. Basically all you need for a nice stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the iQ Hotel in January 2012.It's very close to all the main transportation,like Termini and Repubblica stations.Also very close to major bus stops.There are also some nice restaurants(although they might be a tourisy).I've heard people say the area around Termini station is very run-down and unsafe.This wasn't our experience.We felt safe walking at night and never had any bad experience.Maybe in the past,but certainly not when we were there.
Check-in and check-out:went very smooth.The staff at reception was very professional and really helpful.They always greeted us politely.Always a big bonus.
Rooms:Like most European and Asian hotels,the rooms tend to be on the small size an this was no exception,but we are use to it,so no major issue.We had twin beds.A little uncomfortable,not the best I've slept on.
Bathroom:The bathroom was nice,new and spotlessly clean.We missed having a bathtub though.
Vending machines:We loved the vending machines.It was a huge plus for the hotel.Always well stocked and maintained.We also liked the laundry room,although we never made use of it.

Pros:great location,polite staff and vending machines.
Cons:the beds can be a little bit better.The option of a bathtub.

A very nice,modern,clean and well-run establishment.We loved it and will return!

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel iQ at the end of September. There were three adults. It was modern, clean, and roomy. The front desk was very helpful if we needed anything. The room was large by European Standards. In our room, there was a king and single bed. They were a bit hard though. The designer maximized storage areas to include shelves under the bed and a bench like piece of furniture that held two large suitcases. It was nice to have a refrigerator to store bottles of water etc. The bathroom had a double sink, separate bath tub with a shower and another separate shower stall. Over the bath tub, there was a pull out laundry line to hang clothes on if needed. As others have stated, there is a laundry area with one washer and one dryer. It also has an iron and ironing board. I never thought I would wash clothes while in Rome, but it came in handy since the temperatures were quite hot during our stay. We ended up washing two loads of clothes. There was a bank right next door to the hotel which we used the ATM. Much cheaper than using an exchange. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk a block or two, you come upon one of Rome’s fruit stands. It was convenient to grab a piece of fruit for breakfast. There are also restaurants, shops and even a McDonalds near the fruit stand. If you turn right out of the hotel and a left at the corner, you walk a few blocks and are at the Termini Station. Very convenient if you are taking the train to other cities. Beware, there are “twenty something” age people in the train station who offer to “help” you but want money. You can see there are well dressed and place themselves strategically in the station. All in all, the hotel was in a nice location, clean, modern, and helpful staff. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iQ Hotel Roma is a brand-new hotel in Rome downtown originating from an absolutely revolutionary concept. A fully customizable service, designed for modern travelers, who want the opportunity to choose all the conveniences offered by a modern four-star hotel, all options at a low cost.Whatever you require, you will find just outside your door; there are reasonably priced vendor machines throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iQ Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.