We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a top-end 3-STAR hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added iQ Hotel Roma to your Saves list
iQ Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More a top-end 3-STAR hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Initially we were given a very small room at this hotel. The receptionist assured me that this was a standard double, however what was provided appeared to be a 'small double' looking at descriptions on various websites....the receptionist did eventually upgrade us to what appeared to be an even larger room than expected which resulted in an enjoyable stay.

The reason why this is not a 4STAR hotel is that all the 4/5 STAR hotels I have stayed at, I have never been provided with plastic cups for the bathroom! There were also no tea or coffee making facilities. The breakfast was varied, however let down by limited hot items available and no fresh juice - just sugary juice drinks.

Overall it is a reasonably good hotel with clean rooms and good service but I have stayed in nicer 4STAR hotels.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have smaller double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our property.
From what we can perceive from your review there seems to have been some misunderstandings that we would like to take the opportunity to clarify.
Here at iQ Hotel we offer our guests different room types from which to choose from, and these range from Small Double Rooms to Family Rooms. Being clear and give as much information as possible, so that our guests can make an informed decision, is very important to us. Therefore, we do our best to make sure that all sizes (in actual sq/m) and features are correctly depicted on our website and all sales channels we work with directly.
As far as we can understand from what you wrote on the section “Room tip”, you have booked what we call a Ground Floor Double Room. It is exactly the same size as the Classic Double Room (15 m²), but is located on the Groud Floor.
According to our policy, upgrades are only permitted for technical issues in the room assigned or if the guest, having booked a room type with which he is not satisfied with, is willing to pay the difference and be upgraded to a different category. Unfortunately, we couldn’t get into much detail as to what exactly happened in this case, but we assume you paid the difference to be upgraded to a larger room, probably on an upper floor.
iQ was created in 2010, from the desire to bring something new to the Roman hospitality scene. It is undeniable that, by every right and under the Italian classification, we are a 4 star hotel. Our facilities and services guarantee to that. However, we are different from all other 4 star hotels in Rome, in a way that we empower our guests with the ability to “design” their stay with us. We provide our guests with a clean, comfortable and central place to rest after a long day sightseeing, equipped with a wi-fi connection to stay in touch with their world, a modern gym and sauna and lovely common areas, such as the roof top terrace. We have vending machines with all necessary amenities and a laundry room at our guests’ disposal. We have not included perks and extras that guests normally regard as unnecessary, such as the free mini-bar or the tea and coffee facilities. These way, our guests can choose whichever services they consider important or essential for they stay, and add them as they go.
Finally we would just like to leave a quick note about our breakfast buffet. It features a vast assortment of bread, pastries and biscuits, as well as breakfast cereals, bacon and eggs, mushrooms and beans, fresh milk, yogurt and cheeses, cold cuts and hot meats. We serve hot drinks, such as tea, cappuccino or coffee, and cold drinks, such as juice from concentrate of 100% natural fruit. However, all our products are specifically chosen for their high quality and freshness.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    711
    80
    14
    8
See reviews for
565
1,304
80
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at IQ hotel and at the end of our 6 week holiday in Italy. The hotel is located next to the Opera House and about a 10 minute walk to the station. It's fairly new and the rooms are large for European standards and very clean. Breakfast was ample and good. If you want a nice hotel in Rome, reasonably priced and close to the station, then choose IQ. You can easily get to all the sights by using the local transport, or 20-30 minute by foot depending on which sites you visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When we got there, we were upgraded free of charge as the room we requested was not available. Also, the front desk staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay. We had not made travel arrangements to the airport, and they were able to recommend and book a private car for us. Also, they gave us recommendations for local restaurants and even made reservations for us. The hotel also had vending machines on the 5th floor which was great whenever we needed a small snack or some wine :). Overall, we had a really great experience, and the hotel was centrally located and close to the metro. It made it easy to visit numerous attractions during our visit. Also, the opera is next door to the hotel. Thought I would mention in case there are opera lovers out there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. Hotel was very nice and modern. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Bathrooms were very nice as well. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly (especially Baltasar). Location worked out well for us. Easy to walk within Rome, and close to train station. We did take the subway to the Vatican, but walked back with no problem. Overall, a great hotel that we'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-willows
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel, clean, good value and very well located for everything. And the best vending machines in the world. The roof terrace is brilliant. Very good night;s sleep andf if you want breakfast it's fine. Loved it'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is difficult to fault this clean modern hotel. Within walking distance of lots of the main attractions and close to the Termini for buses and metro. We stayed in a quad room which was large and comfortable if a little dark. As a family we made a lot of use of the roof terrace. Particularly pleasant late evening after getting back from a meal as the TV had no English channels. Useful that we could pay for breakfast for those who wanted it – saved a lot of wasted money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything people have said about the hotel is true. Very modern, clean, extremely helpful staff. But come on guys, no in room coffee facilities and a vending machine selling coffee with powdered milk is not my idea of 4 star. Sort that out and you can't fault this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iQ Hotel Roma is a brand-new hotel in Rome downtown originating from an absolutely revolutionary concept. A fully customizable service, designed for modern travelers, who want the opportunity to choose all the conveniences offered by a modern four-star hotel, all options at a low cost.Whatever you require, you will find just outside your door; there are reasonably priced vendor machines throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iQ Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.