We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing end to my trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Arco di S. Calisto

Ristorante Arco di S. Calisto
Via Arco di San Calisto | 45-47 - 00153 Roma, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,651 of 8,753 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Description: Located around the corner from the Piazza Santa Maria, Trastevere. Several tables outside, large restaurant inside. We had wonderful food here, and would love to be able to review it to recommend to others.Telephone for restaurant is 06 58 18323 Codice Fiscale - 06969190583 - Partitia IVA - 01657781009
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An amazing end to my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

After reading everyone else's reviews, i'm a bit surprised that mine is glowing! We had one of the best meals here. After wandering through Tratsavere endlessly, we settled on it because of the outdoor seating under vines. The scampi and saffron risotto with scampi cream was subtly flavoured and tasted incredible. We hadn't had risotto yet, but it was worth the wait.

My grilled veal t bone steak was grilled to perfection - I was initially hesitant about ordering such a large chunk of veal, but my doubts were dispelled with the first bite. Moist, soft and juicy, this is definitely something i will order again.

The saltimbocca would have been amazing had we not ordered the veal. It was lovely, but we found it slightly tough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    65
    41
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRAZIL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“average to low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place is almost similar than others in Trastevere, but despite it has some waiters to serve the tables, just one older man has the task to serve food. We waited the longuest time the whole vaction to have the meals! The taste was just regular. I don´t recommend as a good tip. Average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warning, dont eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Warning, dont go here.
This place is really, really bad.
They just cant make good food. Gnochi was overcooked, no taste at all.
Again avoid


Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had dinner there on a very busy Saturday night at the beginning of September and we had absolutely no problem with the service: moreover, the staff managed to be very efficient and polite even though the restaurant was packed and there was a long line waiting to be seated outside. So if you don't want to stand in line, just come earlier than most of the people: around 7 or 7.30. The food was very very good and I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.
Trastevere is a charming district and you will defnitely feel the diffierence from typical touristy restaurants in the centre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Supper with family, best described as average. Should rather have kept to the vibier areas of Trastevere, for a much better value for money experience.

Spaghetti Vongole had more shells than clam meat by a significant ratio, pasta with beef ragu had very little actual ragu, and i may be wrong but i suspect the quattro formaggio pizza may have had only 3 cheeses...

Waiters were good enough, but we felt short changed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Arco di S. Calisto also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Arco di S. Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Arco di S. Calisto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.