We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, brilliant location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Babuino 181 to your Saves list
Babuino 181
2.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #15 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, brilliant location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed in a classic suite for 4 nights at the end of September / beginning October.

The room is beautifully decorated and the bathroom has to be one of the best in Rome (we have stayed in dozens of Rome hotels). The bedding is fabulous, seating area comfortable and the room size is larger than usual for Rome hotels. We stayed on the 1st floor and overlooked a German bar in the street, it was very noisy at night to about 1-2.00am except for 1 night. Next time we may try a different suite type on a higher floor if possible.

Location wise this hotel is fantastic - 1 minutes from Piazza del Popolo and just a few minutes to Piazza di Spagna. It is well situated to walk to St Peters, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, etc.

The staff at the hotel were all iincredibly pleasant and friendly, willing to help out with inquiries whenever needed. Thank you to all the staff!

We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return when next in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    103
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
106
335
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is a small, personal inn with contemporary decor and modern features in a great location. Wanted to love it and almost did. Fabulous room and immaculate bath (soaking tub and separate shower) with many amenities; great location; friendly staff. However, significant evening street noise and a typically hard European mattress made sleeping difficult. Our rate included a nice continental breakfast delivered upon request each morning. They asked what we wanted, but it would have been helpfulif we had been provided with a list of what was available. Still the breakfast was very nice and, most times, promptly delivered.

Unfortunately upon arrival found the only outlet in the bathroom broken. Reported it on several occasions over several days to no avail. Finally went down to the desk with wet hair one morning in frustration and got the attention of the manager who was appalled it hadn't been taken care of. Returned that afternoon to a complementary bottle of champagne (nice touch) and a working outlet, but found it odd that when we asked 2 days later the inn didn't have ice available to replenish our champagne bucket . Also washcloths weren't supplied in the bath on the first day (not unusual in Europe), but appeared on Day 2. However, we didn't get them again for the next several days. On our last evening I ran into the housekeeper and requested some, but was told there weren't any available. It was a little thing, but an inconsistency in service I found frustrating for a "luxury" inn. Despite the minor imperfections, would consider returning if another room with less street noise was available or trying one of their other properties where traffic might be less of an issue.

P.S. Babuino, consider adding a wall-mounted makeup/shaving mirror to that great bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I had been staying at the Hotel de Russie up the road whilst I was working in Rome but couldn't afford their rates when my wife joined me for the weekend. The hotel is only 50m down the road and the staff where really helpful. We were able to check our bags in at about 11am and they had no problem with us checking out at 1pm on the Monday. Free Wi-Fi (20€ a day up the road).

The reception is small but the staff are very, very helpful with everything from restaurant bookings to directions to the local sights. The room itself was a really good size, lovely modern feel, and it easily passed my personal hotel test as the sheets were lovely and the orange juice fresh. Breakfast was very good, nice choice. The first day we ate in our room before we realised that we could just use the little reception area on the first floor right outside our room.

We walked to the Coliseum which took about 45mins at a slowish stroll, the Spanish steps are just down the road and it's easy to get to the Vatican.

My only issue was that we were on the 1st floor at the front and there was a fair amount of noise. It's a busy shopping street in the day, less so at night when the shops are shut. But being inner city there was an enthusiastic driver tooting his horn at 1am and street cleaning at 4am. The second night (Sunday) was quieter. A bottle or two of water at night would be a nice touch.

The hotel were great in organising a car, which knew all the shortcuts and saved us a long wait on the motorway. The cost of this was only 5€ more than a normal taxi.

Highly recommended, close to the major tourist locations and shopping areas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We loved this hotel. Quiet but right in the heart of the Via del Babuino shopping area in Rome. Close to everything. Wonderful restaurants nearby. Very new hotel with modern, large high-tech rooms. Friendly staff that is really helpful for reservations & recommendations. Best hotel we've ever stayed in in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The location, property, staff, room...Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Babuino 181 from October 13-17th of this year. We really like boutique hotels and found this hotel online, read reviews on trip advisor and took a chance. Well, did we find gold! Babuino is incredible! Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge and so was the shower stall. The customer service is excellent! Andrea and her staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. We thought that breakfast would be a self serve buffet but there is an attendant to make your coffee, toast and whatever else you want from the selection. He even squeezes fesh orange juice in front of you! We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We travel to Italy every year and have been looking for a new hotel in Rome. We like to stay in the Piazza del Popolo area and were thrilled to read about Babuino 181 in a review in the NY Times. In fact we had a reservation at another hotel but cancelled it after reading about Babuino 181. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The service was excellent - particularly Andrea, the Front Office Manager. The room was spacious by Rome standards and was so beautifully designed. The location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything but removed enough from the crowds that gather near the Spanish Steps. The only thing we did not like was leaving. Fortunately we have already made our reservation for next year's trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#50 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Babuino 181 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babuino 181, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.