We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thaddeus L” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campanella 3

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Campanella 3 to your Saves list
Campanella 3
Via Tommaso Campanella 3, Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 2,884 Rome B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Thaddeus L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very comfortable rooms with a well stocked kitchen area. The apartment is in a nice area with easy access to a grocery stores, restaurants, and the metro. The staff is very helpful. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for several nights and it was basically like having our own apartment in Rome. We were the only couple there for the majority of our stay, so we enjoyed having the place to ourselves. The bedroom was spacious and air conditioned, which was a welcome relief during the month of July! There was wi-fi, as well as a computer in the kitchen in case you didn't have one with you!

The apartment was located close to the Vatican, and it was easy to catch the subway to the Colosseum. Good location a little outside the crowd.

We didn't get to meet Antonella, however Ivan was helpful. He was waiting for us at the apartment when we got there (after a slight miscommunication about being picked up from the airport). He gave us a map and pointed out different sights and restaurants around the city. He also let us know that there was a train/bus strike the next day, which was good to know. He let us store our luggage in the apartment after checkout since we had several hours until our train. Overall, a great way to start our trip in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here 3 nights at the end of June and was truly impressed by the apartment and the service and hospitality of Ivan (we did not get to meet the beautiful Antonella as she is blessed with a baby and resting at home) - which far exceeded our expectations!

The apartment is about 5-10mins walk from the metro station "Ottaviono-San Pietro" which is on Line A and just a few stations from the main train station (Roma Termini) which most people will arrive Rome by. It is located on a quiet and peaceful street and there is no security or safety issues. It is also just about 10mins walk away from the Vatican, and 5 mins walk to the bus stops at Via Leone IV or Via Doria (take Linea Urbana bus 492 - which I discovered only on the last day of my stay in Rome, after walking many days till my legs nearly broke) which will take you to Via del Corso where the main tourist sights such as Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain are located around.

Around the corner a street away (I think on Via Doria), there is a supermarket and a sheltered Roman market where there is an abundance of fruits and fish and vegetables on sale. Do take a look at the market which to me is more authentic than visiting a supermarket (which is just opposite the market and where you will find more nationalities compared to purely Roman visitors in the market). You can also get whatever you need to cook here if you wish to use the apartment's kitchen. There are also several restaurants around the area.

When we first arrived, we were greeted by a list of tenants in the apartment, and we have to choose Campanella 3 to ring the bell so that Ivan can unlock the apartment building. Interestingly, the door bell of Campanella 3 is located below someone who identified himself / herself as "The Artist" (see pictures attached to this review). Ivan came down to get us and the apartment is just on the first floor, so we conveniently climbed up while Ivan took care of our luggages through the elevator (there is a small elevator available in the apartment building - so no worries if you have heavy luggages).

Upon reaching the apartment, we were impressed with the warmth and cosiness of the place - it feels as though you entered a home and immediately feel at home. Ivan showed us our room (room 4) which was cosily carpeted and furnished with a wardrobe, 2 single beds, a TV, and a chic and nice bathroom. He then sat us down in the kitchen and produced a really useful map of Rome (which we made use of fully the next few days we were in Rome) where he informed us of where we are on the map, suggested places we should see, and recommended restaurants we should try.

What impressed us most however, was how organized, efficient, and informative he was when it comes to using and living in the apartment! He showed us our breakfast for the next few days - from the neatly labelled (with our room number) and stocked packets of peach juice, bottles of milk, and chocolate, etc in the refrigerator, to the baskets of bread / biscuits in the kitchen cabinet. If I could say this, the kitchen was a truly impressive place which I love. There is a cereal dispenser, a coffee maker, neatly packed packets of sugar, boxes of tea bags, pots and pans for you to cook if you wish to make use of the kitchen (which tenants of the other room do every night), neatly kept utensils and cutlery in the kitchen drawers, olive oil, cooking oil, serviette for you to use, and the list goes on and on. There is also a corner with a computer for you to serve internet on, and if you have your own laptop or mobile phone, there is free Wifi which you can connect to within the house. The kitchen is small but they have given the whole place a spacious and airy feel with the use of a long mirror, which was surrounded and nicely decorated with lovely hand-written notes from guests whom had enjoyed their stay here.

The apartment is also cleaned everyday by a helper who will come in the morning.

Ivan and Antonella themselves live in the area about 10 mins away, and Ivan also left his number in case we need any help or are lost. He also arranged for us a cab to pick us up at a reasonable price to the airport cos we had to leave rather early in the morning, and so we managed to stay here worry-free with every tiny detail taken care of by Ivan. If you have the stamina, you could also walk everywhere around Rome by staying here - we did but our legs got really tired because we walked for nearly 11 hours to several key tourist attractions from early morning till midnight. It was only on the last day that I discovered bus 492 which went to the major tourists places and which was so close to the apartment! :(

Rome was unbelievably beautiful pretty and nice (especially at night walking along the Tiber River), and our stay at Campanella 3 topped the whole experience because it gave us a sense of authentic Roman / Italian living. If we return to Rome again, staying at this apartment again will certainly be our top choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Throw open your bedroom shutters onto a bustling, lively Rome Street. This is the true surburban Rome yet only 5 minutes walk from the Valican. Lovely old apartment. Ivan rescued my daughter and myself trying to find our way without a map. He sat us down in his Roma kitchen, produced a map and showed us where to eat in the neighbourhood, which walking route to take in the major sights and hightlighted things that we shouldnt miss. Explained the well stocked breakfast/kitchen arrangements, made sure we had his phone number then left us to enjoy his well decorated, spotlessly clean, air conditioned apartment. Book this accommodation with confidence for a wonderful Rome experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Campanella3! Rooms were clean, well-maintained, and Ivan & Antonella are so kind and helpful. Located near the Vatican, but far enough that we could enjoy a more local, rather than touristy, experience. Great market nearby and some small bars where you can get amazing espresso for only 80 cents! Wonderful !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Thank you very much for letting us stay at your apartment. Awesome location and just so friendly made our trip to Rome. The quick fire tour guide helped us out so well. Thanks again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Campanella3 was, hands down, the best place I stayed in while in Europe. It is more like a small bed and breakfast, but instead of stumbling down to a common room to eat in the morning, all of your food is placed neatly in the fridge and cupboards and you can eat at your leisure. The owners, Antonella and Ivan, are very welcoming people and the rooms themselves are superb. There is excellent wifi and a computer in the kitchen to use and there are no security issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanella 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanella 3

Address: Via Tommaso Campanella 3, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 2,884 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Special DISCOUNTS and MORE ROOMS available with a customized offer through the "E-mail hotel" button***>>> ANTONELLA & IVAN welcome you in their lovely property in the heart of Rome, at walking distance (3 minutes) from the Metro (Subway "A" - "Ottaviano/San Pietro/MuseiVaticani" stop), and at a few steps from the Vatican Museums, the Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel, Saint Peter's Basilica and Saint Angelo Castle. By subway it is very easy to reach the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps and all the other touristic sights of the town!>>> THE SERVICE INCLUDES: self service breakfast (without time limits), kitchen use (and 24 hours free coffee and tea), free Internet WiFi with a computer available, air conditioning-heating, hairdryer, bed sheets, towels, cleanings, city map of Rome.... and all our kindness and hospitality! :) ;) See you, CIAO! ANTONELLA & IVAN ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Campanella 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanella 3 Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanella 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.