We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundant hotel, still a bit faraway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Roma Aeterna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Roma Aeterna to your Saves list
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casilina 125, 00176 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Abundant hotel, still a bit faraway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Roma Aeterna as a hotel is really good. It has a gym, a fair restaurant, newly furbished rooms with flatscreen TV's and pretty much everything else you need for a place where you relax after a long day in museums etc. Price level is quite correct and paying a bit extra you can enjoy a good breakfast buffet in the mornings. On one side of the hotel there is a railway track, so ask for a quiet room. On the opposite side there is a lovely little side street with a lot of local activities: a market every morning, small shops and in the evening many nice restaurants.

The downside of the hotel is the location: it takes you about 30-40 minutes by bus to reach the Roman main sights. The bus stop is just next to the hotel, but buses are usually a bit overcrowded. There is a possibility to take a tram to Termini and from there a metro as well. The city of Rome is right now building up the third metro line, which comes to a few hundred meters away from the hotel, but it will still take years to complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if you have sleeping difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    295
    96
    46
    26
See reviews for
104
390
21
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and a good size. The hotel is located a small bit out from the center of Rome but is still within easy walk (via the Colosseum). It is also ten minutes from the metro and there is a bus stop outside the hotel. One downside would be the restaurant which did not have the greatest of food. There are much better offerings in Rome for a better price when it comes to food. That said the staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel in Tripadvisor, i was feeling quite apprehensive on what to expect........fear not! This hotel is SUPERB.
Let's deal with the location issue reviewed. Even though there is no Metro station on the doorstep, there doesnt need to be! There's a bus stop within 10 secs away from the hotel serviced by various buses. Bus 105 is about 10 mins away from the main central train station (Roma Termini) and Bus 81 takes you around all the main tourist hot spots. These buses run until midnight so they were easy to take even at night.
So, the area does look a bit shabby but no less than what you'll find in Rome elsewhere. In fact, we thought the area was lovely. There's a really friendly cafe and a few shops across the street. At the back of the hotel, during the day its a street market while in the evening it turns into cheap trendy bars and places to eat.
As for the hotel, it clearly is a well deserved 4* hotel. Our room cannot be described as no less than excellent. We had a lovely balcony with a sun lounger to sunbathe, we also had a whirlpool bath (believe me after walking round Rome, you'll need it!), flat screen TV and free WiFi. My only criticism is that we expected a king size bed and what we had was 2 single beds pushed together. I know most hotels do this but it is a pet hate of mine! We also didnt have tea/coffee making facilities which would have been nice to have but not essential.
All in all, this is a great place worth its money in Rome!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Really good hotel with fantastic facilities. The location was reasonably close to San Giovanni metro station (15 min walk) or you could catch the number 81 bus right outside the hotel which would take you straight to the station. The reason for giving 4 stars is the distance from the centre and the fact that you can feel the vibration when a train goes past, but this does stop at night. Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel. The breakfast buffet had a good variety, and the evening meal (if you go half board) was a fantastic 3 course meal with a different menu every day.

Room Tip: A double room is a decent size and the bath has a Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but too far from main places. Close to bus station but public transport in Rome leaves a lot to be desired. Breakfast was every day the same (boring...). Cakes and a bottle of water the check-in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Unknowingly we had booked and paid for a hovel in Chinatown! Upon arrival we decided we couldn't stay there so having previously stayed at the eurostars roma aeterna, we rang and asked if they could accommodate us for three nights in a triple room. They came up trumps and we spent a brilliant three days with them. The staff are very helpful, the food and service excellent, rooms clean and spacious. We really enjoyed the street behind the hotel where we ate dinner and generally had an excellent time. Keep your wits about you as you should in any city and you will be fine. I'm completely charmed by the place. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A few negative reviews were read about the location of this hotel. Whilst this hotel is a good 20 minutes from the nearest metro station, for the price it was central enough and well connected by bus to the main attractions. Visitors to Rome looking for something more central- be prepared to pay the price, and often for sub-standard accommodation.

Rome is generally far too busy and overpriced for the standard of service.
I thought this hotel was good value for money, and a pleasant stay for the little time we spent at the hotel itself.

The staff were helpful and offer maps and travel advice for getting to and from main sites etc.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Roma Aeterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Roma Aeterna

Address: Via Casilina 125, 00176 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#143 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#252 Family Hotel in Rome
#272 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Roma Aeterna 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Roma Aeterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Roma Aeterna Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Roma Aeterna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.