We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Elisa B&B

Domus Elisa B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domus Elisa B&B to your Saves list
Domus Elisa B&B
Via Cavour 124, 000185 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,534 of 3,199 Rome B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Domus Elisa for 6 nights in April 2013. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view up and down the Via Cavour. There was a nice complimentary breakfast set out in the early hours of the morning of coffee, tea, yoghurt, cereal, and pastries (perfect since we got up super early for the papal audience on the Wednesday). There was a communal bathroom that was always clean. The location is brilliant: less than 10mins from the main train station/airport bus stop and a mere 5min walk from St Mary Major. The only downside is that it an be a wee bit noisy due to the traffic below (well, it's Rome after all, get used to it!). Overall, it's great value for money and I will definitely be back for my next trip to the Eternal City.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Conveniently located near the train station and within easy walking distance of all the major hot spots in Rome. Owner of the place was helpful and gave us a map on arrival; be aware that she doesn't speak much English (which is fine, we're in Rome, folks -- it just presents a challenge if you have particular questions). Wireless internet was handy. Bedroom and common area was clean. Our room was in the back so it was fairly quiet, just normal neighbourhood noises throughout the evening. Breakfast consists of a plastic-wrapped croissant, a cup of yogurt, jam, nutella, bread, corn or bran flakes, instant coffee or tea. The owner will make you espresso if you ask -- if you can find her. Everything is fairly old and well-used -- after pouring just-boiled water out of the electric kettle for tea, my teacup was treated to some extra chunks of scaly stuff from inside the kettle… rather unpleasant. Knowing what we know now, we'd probably just pay less to go somewhere without breakfast included -- we weren't all that pleased with the offerings here. Be aware also that if you're not in an ensuite room you'll be sharing the personal bathroom of the owner -- feels a little strange to be showering in a tub surrounded by a stranger's personal soaps and such. You'll really like staying here if you enjoy sleeping on a bed whose mattress tilts at such an angle that you're worried about rolling off at night; if you think that using a bathroom which lacks toilet paper pleasant (lacking toilet paper for over 24 hours, rather annoying); and if you find it exciting when you try to get into the building at 9 o'clock PM and your key breaks in the lock and you stand in the rain waiting for someone to leave so that you can get in the door because no one is answering the buzzer/telephone. Yeah. Not so fun.

We get it, the key wasn't the B&B's fault, but that plus a few other things left a bad taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are in the back! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have stayed in Domus Elisa for a week. The hostel is located really close to everything worth seeing in the city. Our "double" room had a little fridge - it was really convenient. But a fan was broken. If you need a hairdrier, you should ask hostess and she will give it to you. Bedsheets were clean, they were changed every two days or so. The room was noisy. Breakfasts were rather typical and became smaller and smaller each day. Forks and spoons were plastic. Bathroom was quite big, we had no problem with hot water or cleanliness there. In general we had a nice stay. Rome is beautiful and hostel was bearable :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in room 4 with the ensuite bathroom. Unlike rooms 1 - 3 which had ceiling fans, we had a little stand-alone fan which broke down on our arrival and was not fixed the four nights we were there. So it was really hot and sticky at night. However everything else including the breakfast was fine. I would certainly recommend Domus Elisa.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the back and is very quiet at night, but make sure the fan works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a great hostel for couples or adults okay with sharing a bed. The rooms are cleaned each day and the washroom facilities are great. The free breakfast is typical and a nice inclusion to the cost. We found the room very noisy as it faces a busy street but it's safe and secure. The walls are thin so I recommend earplugs but we had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate the other reviews on how to find this place but we had no trouble thanks to everyone who commented on this entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location - 5 minute walk to train station and just down the road is the colosseum and forum! We stayed in the room with ensuite with a little balcony. Didn't have any problems with noise. Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice - croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice.

They have a little kitchen but nothing seemed to work in it! So no cooking in.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and loved the cosy b&b! We walked everywhere which is very do-able if you're up early and have comfy shoes. The rooms aren't over the top but reasonable value for money. We were told we had a private bathroom and a tv but had neither - we didn't mind, as the lady who looked after us was so kind! Can't remember her name but she was lovely!

I found the mattress on the bed painful - sticking out springs and it got rather hot in the room.
If you're just exploring the city; saving pennies on the accommodation and spending more on sight-seeing and shopping, domus elisa is an excellent option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Saturnia
Hotel Saturnia
#467 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#362 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Monti
Bavaria Hostel B&B
Bavaria Hostel B&B
#1,339 of 3,199 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Next Door Guesthouse
#35 of 3,199 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Monti
B&B I Capocci
B&B I Capocci
#127 of 3,199 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Monti
Ares Rooms
Ares Rooms
#1,691 of 3,199 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Elisa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Elisa B&B

Address: Via Cavour 124, 000185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,534 of 3,199 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Domus Elisa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Elisa Bed And Breakfast
Domus Elisa Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Elisa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.