We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, a clean room, but no more than that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Elisa B&B

Save Saved
You added Domus Elisa B&B to your Saves list
Domus Elisa B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domus Elisa B&B
Via Cavour 124, 000185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,391 of 2,797 Rome B&B and Inns
Kyiv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, a clean room, but no more than that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have stayed in Domus Elisa for a week. The hostel is located really close to everything worth seeing in the city. Our "double" room had a little fridge - it was really convenient. But a fan was broken. If you need a hairdrier, you should ask hostess and she will give it to you. Bedsheets were clean, they were changed every two days or so. The room was noisy. Breakfasts were rather typical and became smaller and smaller each day. Forks and spoons were plastic. Bathroom was quite big, we had no problem with hot water or cleanliness there. In general we had a nice stay. Rome is beautiful and hostel was bearable :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in room 4 with the ensuite bathroom. Unlike rooms 1 - 3 which had ceiling fans, we had a little stand-alone fan which broke down on our arrival and was not fixed the four nights we were there. So it was really hot and sticky at night. However everything else including the breakfast was fine. I would certainly recommend Domus Elisa.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the back and is very quiet at night, but make sure the fan works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a great hostel for couples or adults okay with sharing a bed. The rooms are cleaned each day and the washroom facilities are great. The free breakfast is typical and a nice inclusion to the cost. We found the room very noisy as it faces a busy street but it's safe and secure. The walls are thin so I recommend earplugs but we had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate the other reviews on how to find this place but we had no trouble thanks to everyone who commented on this entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location - 5 minute walk to train station and just down the road is the colosseum and forum! We stayed in the room with ensuite with a little balcony. Didn't have any problems with noise. Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice - croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice.

They have a little kitchen but nothing seemed to work in it! So no cooking in.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and loved the cosy b&b! We walked everywhere which is very do-able if you're up early and have comfy shoes. The rooms aren't over the top but reasonable value for money. We were told we had a private bathroom and a tv but had neither - we didn't mind, as the lady who looked after us was so kind! Can't remember her name but she was lovely!

I found the mattress on the bed painful - sticking out springs and it got rather hot in the room.
If you're just exploring the city; saving pennies on the accommodation and spending more on sight-seeing and shopping, domus elisa is an excellent option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Domus Elisa is situated on a busy road which is near the train station ,metro station and is in walking distance of the Colosseum.It is a good budget option when visiting Rome. Our room was clean and Sylvia was very friendly and did all she could to make our visit comfortable.There is no air conditioning but Silvia provided us with fans and gave us tips to keep our room cool.We had a private bathroom with hairdryer and our room was equipped with a small fridge.
Our room size was similar to other European budget hotels we have stayed in that is to say it was not big but we only slept in our room as we were out all day sightseeing.Our room was not on the main road so was not noisy but we cannot say if any of the ones on the main road were.
A continental breakfast was served in a large communal area and There was coffee making facilities in the small kitchen off this room.
As stated in previous reviews it is easy to walk past the entrance as it is a small bed and breakfast on the fifth floor of a residential block. The entrance way has marble steps and there is a tiny lift. We felt we were living like real Romans (modern day)
The neighborhood felt safe and there were lots of great places to eat nearby (Our favourite was Aquila Nera ) and the geletaria across the street was always busy as the ice cream was delicious.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the main road as this will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Domus Elisa was really an unexpected find in the heart of Rome. We arrived in Rome on the 27 December, 4 hours earlier than our stated arrival time but was still able to check in promptly with the help of the owner. However, we actually walked right past the entrance to the B&B due to the lack of signage and had to turn back later. Do remember to look out for the unit numbers (number 124) on the doors as Domus Elisa is situated behind a small wooden door.

The Location: Domus Elisa was perfect in its location. Situated right on the main road, it is only a 10 minute walk from Roma Termini Station. Dragging your luggage down the straight road (via Cavour) should not be a problem. Situated in between two metro stations (Termini station and Cavour station), Domus Elisa is also only a 5 minutes walk from the Colloseum. A direct train from Termini station is available to St. Peters Sq and the journey is only about 15-20 minutes. It is also right next to two Chinese restaurants, across the road from a Pizzeria amongst other cheap restaurants, there is plenty of choices for food within 5 minute of walking distance.

The B&B: Domus Elisa was very small, but cozy. The owner was very very friendly and helpful and even provided us with a free map of Rome along with her suggestions of good places to visit. However, the lift up to the fifth floor (where Domus Elisa is) is extremely small and can only take up to 2 people + 1 luggage at each time, so be prepared to be making multiple trips up the elevator if you are traveling heavy.

The Room: Clean, comfortable and no-frills, the room really exceed our expectations for such a cheap stay. (we paid 108euros for 3 nights). The small balcony also offers a great view of Rome. Only thing was that there although we paid for a private double room, our room did not come with an ensuite toilet as all the rooms with adjorning toilets were occupied already. Instead we had to use the toilet outside of the room which was slightly inconvenient.Also, walls were extremely thin, might need some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Other comments: Free Internet was provided 24/7 in the apartment and a simple but good breakfast was also provided every morning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Elisa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Elisa B&B

Address: Via Cavour 124, 000185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,391 of 2,797 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Domus Elisa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Elisa Hotel Rome
Domus Elisa Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Elisa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.