We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il DuCa

Il DuCa
Vicolo de Cinque 52, 54, 56, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
06 5817706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #683 of 8,263 restaurants in Rome
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great find.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the district to eat in Rome: lively, good value with some excellent traditional food! We were pointed here rather than the old centre and I'm so glad that we were! In our experience, this area is not a tourist trap rip-off! Busy, yes, but we had 100% great times there.

We ate in the enclosed but open-roofed garden at the rear - don't worry if there are no outside seats at the front, this is far better. The garden was quieter with a lovely ambience and the place soon filled up - with Italians, which is always a good sign.

The service and food were great and excellent value. I think we paid around €85 for a family of 4 (adults not children) including wine, some desserts and coffee. For the quality, excellent value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    269
    388
    63
    28
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very popular restaurant offering great value good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We found this place from the Tripadvisor offline city guide and were very pleased that we did. It has a lovely courtyard/garden but tables there are in great demand - we ate out there once and once indoors. The menu is simple but the food and service is excellent. The place has a real buzz and we enjoyed both occasions. Prices are very reasonable

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

For such a touristy street it was a welcome surprise. Simple food, cheap prices, great buzz. Packed to the gunnels with locals. Don't go before 10pm but put your name down for a table with one of the waiters (if you can) and go for a drink in the neighbourhood.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Two excellent evening meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ate here twice. Both evening meals were excellent. First night three courses wine and coffee 60EU. Second night two courses with a meat second course, wine and coffee 70 EU. Really excellent food and friendly service. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great & friendly place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent our last night in Rome in this restaurant and we had great time there!
The food was very tasty, the prices were absolutely normal and the staff was very friendly and funny!
I would suggest it to anyone who wants to avoid the super-touristic restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il DuCa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il DuCa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.