We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, good food-gets the job done!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Art Cafe

Royal Art Cafe
Piazza del Colosseo n.1 | Hotel Royal House, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)
0677590270
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Royal Art Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,552 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $34 - $136
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
Description: Royal Art Cafe, situated in a marvelous setting right in front of the Coliseum, represents the perfect place for lunches and dinners, business meetings, corporate events, or just for a fun night out with your friends. The cuisine proposes meat or fish menus (a la carte or fixed-price menu), paying particular attention to the traditional Roman dishes. A long list of great desserts and Italian wines is available. The venue, situated in an historic building in the hearth of Rome, features a large roof terrace overlooking the Anfiteatro Flavio. The roof garden represents, during the summer months, the best place to enjoy a unique view of the Eternal city. Royal Art Cafe is a modern multipurpose facility that offers great entertainment. The aim is to create great guest experiences, combing a great atmosphere and traditional Italian food. During the weekends there is always something going on at Royal Art Cafe: piano bar, cabaret, DJ set etc..Open every day for lunch and dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, good food-gets the job done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I ate in this restaurant today and I always like to leave an informative review of my experience. A good standard restaurant, very clean. Food was quite nice. We were given bread before our main but it was a shame that no butter was given. We ate the bread and realised we could have eaten it with out main-oh well. I had the lasagne. Very nice quality and good flavour. Staff were polite but I felt like I was being watched at times. Not very comfortable with that. Complimentary alcohol was given-nice touch. Service charge added to the bill without us being told. We paid or because we found the service to be okay. Overall z nice place I would probably go here again. I'm disappointed that the desert seems so expensive too. 8 euros for a desert if just doesn't seem justified to me. Would recommend for lunch and the views are lovely.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are very pleased to receive positive feedback from foreign clients.

The Italian cuisine is characterized by a great variety of genuine products and our dishes are prepared in full compliance with the Mediterranean tradition. We are glad you enjoyed our Italian Lasagna (here in Italy, bread usually accompanies meals without butter) and we are really happy to hear that you had a good time!

We are sorry to hear that you felt like you were being watched, but it’s a way to taking care of our customers.

Thank you for your review… We hope to see you again in Rome soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    210
    116
    75
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Was a birthday treat..loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

great location with a great view of the colosseum, friendly staff who speak english very well.. the food was fantastic snd not too pricey ... the evening was perfect!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch near Coliseum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are visiting the Coliseum and want a convenient place for lunch, this is a good spot. It looks a bit like a tourist trap from the outside, with the typical aggressive staff trying to persuade you to come in, but once inside it is a pleasant restaurant. The food is basic Italian but fresh and good quality and good value. The main attraction is the upstairs (terraza) seating with a nice view of the Coliseum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarle-Nassau
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Prizy but excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We drunk a couple of wines here. It was very expensive but the waiter knew what the was talking about when recommending the wines. Also a great view over the colosseum. The music was a bit loud but the mood was really good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“amazing view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The view of this place is amazing,you see the colosseo front of you and especially by night is better.The food is just ok,italian,the home wine is good,the service is ok.What i didnt like is the control they do at the main door like you are going to a big club.So i recomend before you go make a resarvation for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Art Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.